We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff at Hippo Hollow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly Staff at Hippo Hollow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at the Hippo Hollow. We saw a Hippo in the river on arrival and a few nights later again - what a privilege! The rooms in the Hippo Hollow are not the most modern place and I would recommend taking your own pillow as theirs are quite hard. The gardens are beautiful and a there is a lovely restaurant with a big patio overlooking the river - the food are good.

The best of the whole experience was the friendliness of ALL the staff. They are always smiling, always friendly and the service excellent. I must single out Innocent, who also assisted us at Caster Bridge on our first night and then during the rest of our stay at Hippo Hollow. He was very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: The lodge room prices are cheaper than the Garden and River Chalets. Lodge rooms 38 to 47 also over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It brings us great pride to have taken part in making your time in the Lowveld such a memorable one. We are particularly lucky to have Innocent on our team. He is very pleased with his mention and would like to take this oppertunity to thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    193
    77
    35
    16
See reviews for
107
246
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely room overlooking the pool. It was a bit dark but well equipped. The dining room looked onto the river where the hippos can be seen. Breakfast was good but laid out poorly so queues formed. The packed breakfast we were given for early starts to the Kruger was very good. Staff were very helpful . Welcoming cold towels were provided whenever we returned from visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
It is always great to receive feedback from our guests, especially when it could help us improve. We are glad to know you had such a welcoming and relaxing experience at Hippo Hollow. We hope to welcome you back in the not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seamer
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights iat the end of February. It was a nice hotel the managers and staff could not have been more welcoming. The rooms where big with all mod cons, (if a little dated) and very comfortable. A rain storm erupted on our first night and the power was out - also the hotel stand by generator failed!! so we where in the dark for most of the night. the staff tried to help but there was simply not enough of them at that time of day. we had an early start on 2 mornings and tea/coffee whas available and a packed breakfast was supplied.
I also went for a microlite flight, its just up the road, it was good value for money.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be around a central lobby with a bar and a green overlooking the hippos (on occasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Mr. Seamer,

It brings us great pride to know that your experience with the staff was so welcoming. Thank you for sharing your thoughts - we are happy to know that your stay here was so comfortable and valued. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A very welcoming hotel. We saw a hippo at night. Nice enough room, reasonable beds. Slightly dated bathroom. 2 small pool areas, one by conference centre so no ideal when there is a conference! Not really set up for a pool holiday but that's fine as its on the doorstep of Kruger.
I would stay again but wouldn't rush to, I think there would be more interesting or boutique like small hotels.
The African night was a great spectacle but the food was disappointing & so that evening felt over priced.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Your feedback is very valuable to us & we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. It gives us great pleasure to know that you received such warm welcome and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We truly believe that all your expectations will be exceeded upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Stather, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights in February. It was a lovely hotel the managers and staff could not have been more welcoming. The chalets were lovely with all mod cons, very comfortable. A mini tornado on our second night made this visit one never to forget but the hotel staff were brilliant. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

Mr & Mrs Brown

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Mr. & Mrs. Brown

It gives us great pride having to be a part of your unforgettable experience. Thank you for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We actually did see some hippos at dusk! We stayed just one night in one of the "chalets" on the edge of the river and had a great view of the hippos when they came at dusk (about 8 pm). If you are looking for a rustic experience, this is it. The chalet had a great deck over looking the river, but the rest was pretty bare bones. No air conditioning, no screens on the windows and the staff told us to shut the windows before dark because of the bugs. I can definitely live without a TV, clock and modern appliances, furniture, etc...but it was WAY too hot--we were there in early January. The chalets definitely need updating and SCREENS! They do have motel-style room that have air conditioning, but we did no go into any of the...they do not have great views.

The breakfast buffet was good, but the rest of the food (diner options) was pretty marginal and there is nothing else near. The pool area is very nice and the pool was clean and refreshing. The staff was helpful and nice.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay during the heat of the summer, select a room with air conditioning. During cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We do keep things simple in the chalets and are happy that you enjoyed the pool area and the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I agree with recent reviews of the helpful staff. However, if you are planning on staying here during the summer months, you need to know that there is no a/c and the room can be quiet stifling. If you can overlook the dismal lighting, the out-dated appliances, no tv, no clocks, and the bugs, then you might find this property "charming". Our brouchere had stated,"airconditioned rooms, with satelite tv". After 3 days at a 5* safari game lodge, this was a complete disappointment! I would never stay here again or recommend this property!We saw a few hippos as we ate dinner in the restaurant- no crocs. I would compare the quality of the room with a Motel 6 room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingram_13, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. You stayed in one of our chalets which do not have air conditioning but are equipped with fans. We do however have 54 hotel rooms that are equipped with satellite TV and air conditioning and would gladly have moved you to one of those if we were aware of your concerns. We value your comments and thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#5 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.