We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay with a surprise guest!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay with a surprise guest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Initially I was disappointed as I had been allocated a dull dark room on the ground floor, with the back window overlooking the parking area for buses and some dark bushes. It also had a rather damp smelling bathroom. However, I was easily accommodated when I asked to change and can happily recommend the rooms upstairs,... mine had a little balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the garden, which was really comfortable and very clean. It also had been recently refurbished. No shower, only a bath, but this was not a problem for me. They had English wall plugs as well as SA, which were handy if you had not brought enough adaptors.
The dining room was very pleasant with an outside area leading down to the river. One night a Happy Hippo turned up on the opposite bank to provide the floor show!
Food is excellent, and the breakfast buffet very adequate for all tastes. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. overall this was a very good experience.
Downs: Wifi is temperamental, if that is important to you. Only available in the lounge and dining area.
Beware: don't send delicate or fine fabric clothes to the laundry..... they all get washed and ironed at the same temperature!! (like HOT)

Room Tip: Ask for room upstairs, or a chalet by the river. . If you want a shower and not a bath, be sure and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    167
    72
    34
    15
See reviews for
95
224
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Hippo Hollow in 2010 & loved it!
November 1st this year we decided to marry there, by the river. It was beautiful. We stayed for a week & yet again the hotels staff from cleaners to management are wonderful. We stayed in a clean & comfy chalet by the river. The meals were delicious. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Its so close to Kruger national park too!
Well done Hippo Hollow, keep up the good work!
:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently spent 5 days here with my sister. The accommodation is amazing, we had a river side chalet, and every morning we had an amazing view of the elephants wandering around. The staff inside the hotel are amazing, so friendly and very pleasant. I can't recommend the meals enough as they are totally outstanding and prepared to the highest standard. Seeing the hippos on the lawn is an amazing sight and the crocodile is fascinating. I will hope to visit here again sometime in the future as it has been an outstanding experience

Room Tip: Be prepared to hear lots of animal noises from the river side chalet, and there may be some creature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hippo hollow country estate is amazing! The outside is absolutely beautiful, it offers a great pool and the rooms are big, cosy and clean. The bathroom was huge and the shower a dream. The service personnel was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, dinner was very good.
There were some parties or performances outside my room. I managed to sleep anyway, but if you're a light sleeper, you should specifically ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights here and couldn't help but notice the poor attitude of the staff. Be careful of the very slippery bathroom floor tiles after using the shower. There may not be any ventilation because I heard others mention the same thing. I suggest you take a hairdryer and also get an old fashioned adaptor plug with 3 round pins. We bought one at the Kruger Park gift shop but I think Maplin in the UK stock them too. Reception have a few that they can lend you but not enough for everyone. The buffet area is badly laid out and you have to reach across hot containers to get to the ones at the back. There was often a bottleneck of people all approaching the buffet from a different direction! We ate from the a la carte menu one night and although the food was well-presented, the venison was inedible because it was mostly gristle. Such a disappointment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of an escourted tour found the grounds were wonderful but the rooms were very dark not enough lamps, staff were unhelpful took 2days to get someone to access the safe, the table service was poor ,and the staff very unfriendly.It was a good job I kept a check on my bill charged to my room, they wanted to charge me R200 (£14) for an adapter I had returned plus a bar bill which was designated to my room. Would avoid this hotel on another visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteringham
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst touring the National Parks, upon arrival the signs warn of Crocodiles and Hippo's around the grounds and we weren't disappointed seeing both. The accommodation we stayed in was in a thatched quadrant surrounding the pool that were spacious and clean. Friendly staff and good value food served in the restaurant / sun terrrace that overlooks the Sabi River, you can arrange a variety of excursions from the hotel to include Kruger (10 mins away), hot air ballooning, microlights and night time safaris, also local for the Elephant Whispers sanctuary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.