We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a Sunday evening at Hippo Hollow before entering the Park. Arrived at lunchtime & while the reception & check in where good, to get a refreshment after the long drive posed a problem. Once someone actually appeared to serve us, it was a long wait to get a drink & a sandwich. The river chalets are nicely appointed & comfortable but seem to be in the middle of a facelift. Shower has been redone while the rest of the bathroom still has tiling from 20 years ago?
Al la carte dinner served on the verandah overlooking the river was good but over priced for the quality of food being served. Seems as if they are relying on the busloads of foreigners who overnight at the hotel. Breakfast the next morning was disasterous! The busloads of tourists had been served & had left & the rest of us seemed to be a nuisance to staff. The tables weren't reset, there were no plates at the buffet, the chef seemed to have had an awful morning & it was simply too much trouble for the waitress to bring us a warm cup of coffee. We had visited Hippo Hollow many years ago & after a bad experience decided to go back & see if things had changed. They have changed & things are looking up but there is a long way to go! With the choice of venues in Hazyview, we will give it awhile before a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    167
    72
    34
    15
See reviews for
95
224
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights for Kruger safari visit. Very convenient for safari gates, good food and comfortable rooms. Seeing hippos and croc. on opposite side of river bank and visit from monkeys to patio area makes for an unusual environment.
Would not recommend the Shangaan 'cultural' dance and dinner organised from here - typical tourist affair. More interesting to watch for hippos from patio near restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent one night here after driving through the Panorama Route, staying in one of the river chalets. After reading the positive reviews on Hippo Hollow, I'm thinking our negative experience may be isolated, but I wanted to share. First, the chalet had not central A/C and the windows needed to be kept shut to keep mosquitos out. This resulted in an uncomfortable, musty sleeping environment. In addition, there was a strong smell of raw sewage so sitting on the back porch wasn't pleasant . . . .even though we would have enjoyed watching the hippos from there. The next day as we were waiting for our transport, we opened the windows to let in some fresh air, but with the fresh air also came monkeys into our chalet. :)

There were the remains of bugs in our bed, the linens were scratchy and the mattresses uncomfortable. The food in the restaurant was ok, but not really good. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and allowed us a late checkout as we waited for our transfer (much appreciated). Of all the places we stayed in South Africa and Zimbabwe, this was the only miss.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Hippo Hollow this last weekend. The property is really nice for a short stay; room was adequate although the pillows could be improved on (1 very hard one and 1 very soft one, found it difficult to get comfortable). The bar and restaurant service lacked completely though – the bar attendant took over 15min's to go and find a bottle of gin so I could have a G&T at sunset (most popular sunset drink). At dinner we were seated in the restaurant for 15min's with no staff attending and eventually I got up to go and look for a waiter. Our drinks order took another 10min's even though there were only 2 tables to tend to at that time. Our dinner was set-menu...we ordered the minestrone soup and our waiter promptly brought us tomato soup...the chef came out after we queried it and said they didn't make minestrone soup so it's tomato instead. There was a general lack in on-site management with a trainee staff member left in charge to manage everything from A-Z – not his fault but he didn’t have the experience needed. A bit of a disappointment as the property has a lot going for it but I'd rather avoid the service issue next time and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a wonderful place!! We travelled as a couple with 2 friends and we had river chalets No. 11/12 for 13 nights (a bit unheard of a most people only stay for a few days) but we found lots to do Panorama Route/Endangered Species and 3 full day and 1 half day safari plus an eve.ning safari to Sabi Sands all booked through the brilliant Ann & John Evans at Regent Safaris they really went the extra mile to make sure all out trips went smoothly we would recommend them most highly. We booked through Virgin Holidays and the rep Michelle was very very helpful, altogether a fabulous trip. We did also see the resident Hippo quite a few times as well as crocodiles, monitor lizards, fish eagles, monkeys and many other species of birds.

Room Tip: Go for the river chalets they are fabulous....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We have recently returned from a 2week stay at Hippo Hollow and I can honestly say it was high on my list of favourite places to stay. Because we stayed for two weeks, we were treated like we were really special, nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff and management. My sister is disabled and the rep even went that extra mile to find us a wheelchair for her to use during our stay. Within a few hours of being in our prime positioned river chalet we had seen crocodile, fish eagles, elephant, and hippo all from the comfort of our verahnda. The chalets are very in keeping with the surrounding area but are a little chilly on a winters night, although plenty of very snuggly blankets were provided. Because people rarely stay for longer than a few days, the menu in the restaurant is the same every day, this didn't worry us though because the chef was very accommodating and would cook anything we asked for within reason. The thing that made our stay even more exciting was the fact that, in my opinion, we chose the best providers of game drives in the area, Regent Safaris, which is run by ex pats John and Ann, they make you feel very special and their guide Gavin must be one of the best in the area. When we left we felt as if we were leaving family behind. Thank you to everyone for making our holiday a once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Though I didn't actually see one. I'd gone to bed. They tend to visit after dark.

There are also crocodiles - and I did see one of those. Luckily it was a) small and b) asleep.

Lovely, big rooms - a bit chilly in August, but there are very warm extra blankets provided for wimps like me. And if you are a smoker, you can smoke in the rooms. Well, you could in mine.

As others have said, the service is excellent. Warm and friendly. The food is good and is fresh and tasty. The buffet dinner is very good value at just over £10 for 3 courses.

I wouldn't recommend the Shangaan Cultural Evening one bit, though. Money I wish I hadn't spent, but that is my only reservation and it's completely optional.

Some brave souls used the pool. Though the days were hot, the pool definitely wasn't!

Those who visited The Elephant Sanctuary thoroughly enjoyed the experience, but it seemed a bit 'circus' to me, so I didn't go.

Kruger may well have been the best day of my (longish) life to date. Be warned - if you start when the park opens and it isn't summer, wrap up well. At least 3 layers more than you think you'll need but also make sure the final layer is a vest top. And malaria pills are not necessary in winter. Don't waste your money on them.

Room Tip: The chalets look lovely, but I had a standard room which was huge. All the upper rooms have balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.