We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabi River Sun Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sabi River Sun Resort to your Saves list
Sabi River Sun Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I had read some conflicting views on this hotel. I think I understand why. We stayed in a chalet. They are dated. My first impression was that it needed a makeover. But once settled in, they seemed to fit the setting. TV about the size of an ipad. Everything is very well maintained and comfortable. I don't play golf, but very nice surroundings. Restaurant food was well presented, tasty and good quality. Service levels good. I wouldn't absolutely rave, but was quite happy with my choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    118
    42
    18
    10
See reviews for
129
84
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I travelled from Cape Town to the Kruger Park in July and we stayed a few days at the resort. The golf course is memorable and one of the best I've played in the world. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is visiting the Kruger, it is close to the park and also situated on the banks of the Sabi with a huge pod of resident Hippo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piet Retief
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The service in all areas was excellent.The chalet was in a very good condition on arrival,and was kept that way during our stay.The resort's location is excellent.There is more than enough to keep anybody,no matter the age,busy.The activities at the swimming pool for children and adults is what we liked most,aswell as the tranquil surroundings in which the resort is located.What we liked least was to pack up and go..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We recently stayed in the hotel at the start of the school holidays. The hotel is great for families wanting to relax and be close to the Kruger National Park. The grounds are really great with the golf course, tennis and other outdoor activities available to guests. The breakfast and food in the hotel was of a good quality. The hotel is old and is reflected in the rooms - bathrooms need revamping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

we booked a week timeshare here - just a few kms from Hazyview and 20 mins to the nearest Kruger National Park Gate (Phabeni). Spread out but well landscaped golf course wraps around the villas. Ours (unit 56) was a 3 bedroom semi-detached cottage with full kitchen facilities including m'wave and full oven and large fridge. On-site bar and restaurant which were both good. Good security (it is still a problem in SA). You MUST have a car here. Resident hippos and crocs 40m from our patio. Units are a little old-fashioned and dark but no great issue. There is an open fire but you need to buy firewood, toilet rolls, and even washing up liquid (which, of course, their small shop sells!!). Overall we enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

we loved our stay at Sabi River Sun resort, loads of fun activities all the time for the whole family, close to the Kruger, super restaurant - and really great units - and the on site hippos are a treat!!

Room Tip: try be near the hippos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Sabi offers a wonderful bush experience in a very relaxed, comfortable setting. The bungalows are well designed and offer everything needed for a relaxing break. A nice golf course is situated on the resort together with crocodiles and hippos in the river. A good resturaunt is available should you not want to cook yourself. Only a short 15 min drive to the Kruger National Park gate. Great place for a great bush experience!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel
Sabi River Sun Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabi River Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.