We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, on site trails need work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Sol to your Saves list
Casa do Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabie Road (R536), Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place, on site trails need work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved the village feel of the place. Pool and grounds were beautiful. Food was ok and for the most part the staff was ok with the exception of the bar tender who was more interested in watching wrestling on tv than serving customers.
The advertised hiking trails are badly over gown and are lacking in markers making it very easy to get lost.

Stayed February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
20
71
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Looking at the reviews below I can say that the service must have improved (or perhaps they are better with groups). We were party of 12, upon arrival got promptly attended to and located in wonderfun and spacious rooms. All rooms we were accommodated in had king size beds, air conditioning, fridge and all conveniences you need.
On the bad side - there was an issue with my door, the card key did not work and took 2 days to repair. 2 lights did not work (but globes were changed immediately. There was a small blockage in the bathroom I only managed to notice this on last day (water from the basin was leaking slowly onto the floor) - hopefully it's fixed by now.
There was no internet in the rooms and even not in the conference area allocated to us (there is another one, so check before you book if you want to be on line all the time).
Lastly - the safari agency they use was terrible, we had an afternoon safari booked, unfortunately it rained heavily that day. We were told that due to late cancellation there is no refund at all!!! This was absolutely unacceptable and turned into unnecessary argument that was eventually resolved to our satisfaction.
Summarising - wonderful place to stay on leisure, but make sure you communicate clearly your expectations if you go there on business.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Casa was available on a last-minute trip and as it had been recommended by other TripAdvisors I took a leap of faith and was excited that there was availability on such short notice.

The good:
You get a very casual, small village feel when walking down the beautiful pathways between the greenery. Between dodging the cute little frogs along the pathways at dusk to strolling amongst the towering trees, we couldn't believe what luck we'd had to find such a fantastic, tropical, warm escape.

This is truly a place you can forget about the world with the main buildings being set far back from the main road and with restricted, gated access to its grounds one would not be faulted for feeling totally safe here. On arrival a troop of Vervet monkeys (babies in tow) emerged from between the bushes and trees to cautiously watch us from the safety of the low walls of the driveway. A breath away from the covered parking bays buck calmly grazed on the lush, green lawns. A breathtaking welcome after a long, hot drive.

The bad and ugly parts of it:
1. On arrival, the receptionist treated us to a second-hand argument and firmly ignored us for a good two minutes while she carried on on the phone (what would it have cost her to ask the caller - her colleague by the sounds of it - to call back in five minutes or so?)

This indifference was, unfortunately to be echoed by most of the staff at the hotel as evidenced by (fast forward to...) our dinner that evening in the in-house restaurant. The waiting staff had us sit with empty main course plates for the better part of an hour before bothering to clear up. Throughout the meal, as the only lady at the table, I was rarely directly addressed by our waitress and even when it came to something as simple as getting a menu to decide on dessert, it seems like she didn't feel I needed one. Her behavior in a word: insulting.

*Better* still was her colleagues' response when asked why I had not recieved a menu by one of the men at the table: (a defensive) "That's not my problem!" and still no menu arrived after that...

2. Slow service. For our first night's dinner, we arrived before most of the guests who were seated next to us and those tables had finished their dessert and left long before our plates were cleared after our main course. Unacceptable behaviour and service. When questioned why service was so slow, staff replied that they were short-staffed. Why does that have to become *my* problem as the guest?

3. Meals are overpriced and nowhere near as enticing as their descriptions. Portions are measly and the taste nothing to write home about. After the first night's fiasco (long waits between courses and poor service) we didn't find it hard to decide to skip dinner at the hotel and drive out for an enjoyable supper for better value elsewhere. We would have done the same for breakfast (nothing special there again, limited variety) except that we had already paid for it in advance.

4. The rooms, although identical in fee,were not identical in size/facilities. My husband and I were given twin beds which we eventually had to shove together in our relatively small bathtub-less room, while a few doors down my sibling (traveling solo) had a fantastic king size bed, a lovely mini-lounge and nicely appointed bathroom with bathtub. Nothing like the cramped quarters we'd been allocated.

5. The safe in our room did not work and was neither repaired during the course of our stay nor the matter followed up with us even after our complaint to the reception staff immediately upon checking into the room on arrival. The receptionist promised someone would be over in 5 minutes to see to it. We gave up waiting eventually.

6. The rates online and at central reservations differed by as much as +/-R400 - so please check what you get charged.

7. Another issue: I had paid in full for all of our stay on booking but on checking out I was requested to pay 50% of the amount I'd already paid and been receipted for. When questioned why I needed to do this, the reception staff provided an identical receipt to that which I had received but this one had a scribbled note to the effect that we had only paid half of what was in black and white on the receipt.

When asked to call central reservations to follow the matter up, the person who had apparently scribbled the note was not supposedly available. The matter was eventually resolved (their error and not mine) but not without a fair bit of steam being blown off first.

What a mess of a hotel. It seemed like one where the rot stretched from their reservations offices all the way down to the day-to-day staff.

That argument was a horrible way to start the day on our check-out and bad memory to leave what had seemed such an amazing place.

I would absolutely recommend that you try any number of hotels/lodges down the road and avoid Casa Do Sol. The service here will leave you with a bad taste in your mouth - literally.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed with small children. We were somewhat hesitant after reading some of the reviews so were pleasantly surprised to find the large Spanish style countryside property with villas. We checked into a reasonably nice suite with separate step-down living area where we got a sofa-bed.
Had trouble with the hot water which stopped working late in the evening and took about 3-4 hours to restart. In the meantime, we explored changing rooms but it was not possible late at night with sleepy/tired children
When we were packing our luggage to leave, we could not find our Swiss Army knife - when we complained to the reception and housekeeping, they said they looked again but could not find it. We assumed that this is going to turn up somewhere in our luggage but it hasn't. I noticed that other reviewers have had issues with missing items as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Lovely hotel. Great food and service from all staff. The manager is very attentive to guests.
Villas seem to be authentic spanish-moorish.
All decorated with tate and quality. Unbelievable,lush gardens.
Daily walks all within the hotel grounds-free and signposted.

Only suggestions-
1/. Improve chimney in lounge as some smoke came into the room.

2/. The signposts for walks need new coat of paint. The red walk looks similar to the ?
orange one.


The Casa Do Sol is great and I would love to revisit in the future.
Hazyview is an area worth visiting-unbelievable scenery
Regards,Helen :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We booked in for three nights but ended up staying only two and took off for a basic bungalow in the Kruger Park instead for the third night.

The property itself is quite lovely and patterned on a Portuguese village, and the rooms were spacious and clean, and the bathrooms were modern and the linens and towels all fine. The pullout sofa mattress, however, was about the thickness of cardboard. They kindly brought a second mattress when we requested it. The pool is beautiful and the spa also quite nice, with friendly and competent masseuses.

The main issue was the service of the hotel staff who seemed to lack any training at all and were either pushy, rigid, or utterly indifferent, except for the duty manager. WHen we arrived after 5+ hours driving, the evening manager tried to sell us a visit to the elephant sanctuary next door within two minutes of registering, in addition to pushing us to book a ranger and safari in advance. At 9:30 pm when we were dragging our under 10 year olds to the room the manager was offended that we didn't drink the welcome fruit juice. We had booked full breakfast but on the second day the restaurant staff (after providing it in the first day) insisted we were not entitled to breakfast after all (they were wrong, we resolved it); bar staff wouldn't accept back two bottles of unopened bottled water five minutes after we ordered ("sorry, the systems cannot accept returns"), and the housekeeping staff refused to give extra towels. We had a few other instances like the above as well.

For a place that is supposed to be four stars the service was really lacking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Unlike us, if you do stay here I hope you get good weather as the hotel's true beauty lies outside. When we did have a glimpse of the sun, we walked around the grounds and they were stunning. As others have said, the hotel has been built like a meditarrean village and it is lovely. We had mostly rain whilst we were there so didn;t enjoy it to its full - we would have loved to use the pool area.

What we did use was great. Our rooms were spacious and when we had an ant problem, they were quick to come and sweep up the ones I had zapped, the same with the extra milks I asked for. If there are not many people staying at the hotel, they cook breakfast to order but even one day when there was a huge party, they still did my eggs benedict. The service and friendliness of the waiting staff at breakfast was the friendliest we experienced in the whole of the country.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Sol

Address: Sabie Road (R536), Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Casa do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Sol Hotel Hazyview
Casa Do Sol Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.