We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Safari ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Other Animals Safaris

The Other Animals Safaris
131 Gompou Street, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
0796970442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Hazyview
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided Tours through the "Kruger National Park", with world famous guide from the Battle at Kruger.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Safari ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our first safari (and my husband's first trip to Africa) - Frank made this experience very special - he was very patient, knowledgable, and answered all of our questions no matter how silly they might have been! he was also a fantastic cook, shared amazing life stories, and I should not even mention that over 2 days we ended up seeing the Big 5 several times, plus very rare animals such as wild dogs. We went to a high end private reserve after our safari with Frank and we all agreed that the safari with Frank was MUCH BETTER and definitely a fantastic value. He really has "soul" and connected with us immediately which made the entire experience wonderful. I would highly recommend his safaris to anyone and I hope we get to come back soon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_Watts, Owner at The Other Animals Safaris, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for the flattering words. I will make sure my partner does not see that you think I can cook otherwise I will have to do more than take her coffee in bed lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atl
1 review
“A wonderful person to work with!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had booked a safari with Frank and had to unfortunately cancel the trip because of my father's ill health. And through this all Frank has been so kind and helpful and cooperative with all of our ever-changing plans. So although I won't make it to Kruger this year, whenever I go next, I will be sure to book with him again. I am sure the safari is as wonderful as he seems to be!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_Watts, Owner at The Other Animals Safaris, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We were sorry you were unable to join us on a safari due to your circumstances. Hopefully your dad has recovered and a new holiday is being planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Knowledgable and Friendly Kruger Bush Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Frank Watts was a wonderful Bush guide. His many years of experience in Kruger National Park gives him a wealth of knowledge of the place and its animals. He has a convivial and out-going personality that makes you feel like you've been friends forever after just an hour or two. We saw something like 15 mammal species in our first 1/2 day tour. We were so impressed that we canceled our plans for the second morning to have another half-day with him.
He has a new vehicle that was the envy of all the other bush guides.
I would recommend him unreservedly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_Watts, Owner at The Other Animals Safaris, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hey folks, glad you enjoyed your trip with me. Thanks for booking the second half day, I can never get enough of the bush.

I hope your trip back home was safe and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I were Frank's only customers for the maiden safari in his new vehicle on 5th April 2013 The day was very special and one we will treasure. I won't list all the animals and other things we saw as they were too numerous and continued throughout the day. Needless to say this far exceeded our expectations. Frank is really enthusiastic and knowledgeable which makes for a great day. He also uses his experience to get close to the animals in a way that is sensitive to them - I have some great pictures and videos of elephants and a leopard with a few feet of us. Truly amazing! Thanks Frank

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_Watts, Owner at The Other Animals Safaris, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and that you left with great memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Safari in Kruger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We contacted Frank of The Other Animals Safaris after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor and he didn't disappoint. Frank helped to arrange our accommodation at Dreamfields, which was excellent, and though he couldn't do our safari himself arranged for Josh Beaton to take us. Thanks to Josh our journeys around Kruger were excellent. His knowledge was both personal and encyclopaedic, he shared that and his experience with us to make it one of the best holidays we have ever had. We cannot recommend him enough, his ability to show us Kruger and it's wilder areas with no other vehicles around and still be able to spot wildlife while describing some of the history made our tours truly remarkable. Josh managed to show us creatures from the very small to the very large. Many thanks to Josh and Frank for a fantastic holiday! Helen & John

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Other Animals Safaris also viewed

 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Been to The Other Animals Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Other Animals Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.