We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nwanakalile Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nwanakalile Lodge to your Saves list
Nwanakalile Lodge
R536 Hazyview-Sabie Rd, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed a pleasant stay at your lodge which was a home from home experience. Andrew and Auriol were the perfect hosts from the initial welcome to the final departure, The apartments were neat and very comfortable and thanks for the natural spring water we enjoyed every day. The peaceful surroundings and relative closeness to the park and other places of interest has convinced us to want to return as soon as possible.
Regards
Norman, Helen Frank and Doris from KZN

Room Tip: All rooms /suites are equal in choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We, a family from Holland, had a very nice stay at nwanakalile lodge. The appartments are nice, clean en spacieus. Auriol and Andrew are very helpfull by finding your way. The sabey coffee valley on the other site of the road is absolutely wonderful for lunch or coffee. We enjoyed very much our stay before driving into the Kruger. Thanks very much Auriol and Andrew for 3 days at your place at the beginning of our holiday.

Fam Galema, Bussum, The Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auri0l, Owner at Nwanakalile Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Many thanks for your review. Andrew and I are so happy you had a great time.

Auriol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this establishment in a couples apartment (No 3) and found the accommodation to be spotless and very comfortable and with everything one would need for self catering and at a very affordable price. It is close to all tourist attractions including the Kruger Park. The forest walk at the lodge with resident dog Mac leading the way was great and a great way to work up an appetite for a sundowner on your private verandah overlooking the peace and tranquility of the bush in the area. Unfortunately we did not meet the owners Andrew and Auriol as they were away but the couple they had managing their lodge in their absence were very friendly and helpful. We also liked the fact that Nwanakalile Lodge is a small establishment and highly recommend it as an accommodation choice.
Andrew and Deirdre Denny

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Never been to such a peaceful establishment. It is well located close to all amenities. Should you feel like adventure sports eg. river rafting, hot-air balloon, hiking etc. All this is just outside your gate! The scenery-amazing, the people- real people! Jackie and I Loved it! Coming with the whole family + friends soon! Thank you Andrew and Auriol! From John

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The place, just 10 minutes drive from Hazyview, has an "outdoors feel" to it. It is close to the main attractions like the Kruger Park, Blyde River Canyon, etc. Apartment number 1 is very spacious and has huge bedroom. The owners are especially lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely be staying there again,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed at Nwanakalile for 9 nights in March and had an absolutely lovely time. The lodge was very private, it has its own dipping pool and a dining area with spectacular views of the forest, we did stay in the premium lodge but it was still very reasonably priced, the other 5 lodges have the use of the shared bigger pool which looked fabulous. The lodge was very well equipped with really good quality kitchen utensils, crisp, clean bedding and bathing and also has his and hers showers!!! with fantastic water pressure!

It is so close to Kruger Park. We went in for 2 days in the middle of our stay and stayed over night which was fantastic, the game viewing was amazing.

Was surprised to find I felt like I was going home when we got back to Nwanakalile (although it is much bigger than our apartment in Europe). Auriol and Andrew where very welcoming and helpful.

My favorite thing to do was chill in the evening with a glass of wine and watch the moon come up while listening to the sounds of the bush, we even heard the cry's of a bush-baby (aka Nwanakalile) one evening.

I could have easily stayed another 9 nights and can't wait to go back. Highly recommended if you enjoy tranquility and wildlife with all the luxuries!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just enjoyed our Honeymoon at Nwanakalile, What a lovely Holiday, we stayed in their honeymoon suite which even has its own private pool and bbq area. I was surprised at how spacious the suite was and how well equipped the kitchen was, the lodge is just a 30 minute drive to the Kruger and we spent two days in the park and Auriol the lovely and very friendly manageress showed us the best routes to take in Kruger and we even saw leopards and lions in a single day trip.There are also some good places to eat around Hazeyview, we loved having breakfast at the Sabie Coffee shop which I highly recommend they even make their own coffee! I would also recommend to try the steak at pioneers in the town center. But our favorite thing to do was just relaxing in the evening, having a bbq and enjoying our view and the peace and quiet, cant wait to get back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nwanakalile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nwanakalile Lodge

Address: R536 Hazyview-Sabie Rd, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nwanakalile Lodge: luxurious, spacious, self-catering 22 kms from the Kruger National Park near Hazyview. The units are comfortable with king-size extra length beds, percale cotton linen, flat screen TVs and DSTV, well-equipped kitchens and stunning living spaces with views over the Sabana valley. Nwanakalile is in the heart of the Sabie Valley Adventure playground and the Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nwanakalile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nwanakalile Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nwanakalile Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.