We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent setting. Perfect venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabie River Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sabie River Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sabie River Bush Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1402, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Magnificent setting. Perfect venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked out the whole of Sabie River Bush Lodge for a weekend of birthday celebrations in April '13 with guests travelling from around South Africa and around the world to attend. It ended up being a wonderful few days with our friends and family being blown away by the beauty of the setting - on the banks of the majestic Sabie River - the quality of the accommodation and the level of service provided by the staff. Stuart, the Lodge Manager, could not have been more helpful in the months preceding the function and the team at SRBL continued that level of service when we arrived, ensuring that nothing was left to chance and that all of our guests staying at the lodge had the perfect stay. My thanks go to Stuart and the staff for contributing to such a memorable experience. Whether you're looking for a family getaway to the Kruger area, a couple's weekend or a big party with a few dozen of your nearest and dearest, SRBL is a great choice.

Room Tip: The luxury tents under the shady Jackalberry trees on the river bank have exceptional views and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Chris It was really a pleasure to have all your guests from all over the world staying at the Lodge. The staff and management really enjoyed your stay as much as your guests seemed to have enjoyed their stay at the Lodge.

Thank you for your business and the time taken to review our Lodge, we all at Sabie River Bush Lodge really appreciate the business.

Hope to see you and your guests upon your next visit to the Kruger National Park

Regards
Dale - Owner Sabie River Bush Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
85
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked on the Internet for easy access to the Kruger Park and were pleasantly surprised by high quality of facilities, friendly staff and chef who accommodated our vegetarian requirements, and especially the great river view. The only disappointment was the close proximity of the road and associated noise.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hüllhorst
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We started our stay in Africa with 3 nights at the Sabie River Bush Lodge in a river view luxury safari tent. We had a great stay and could watch the hippos in the river from our terrace every evening. We did a full day game drive organised by the lodge and we really enjoyed our first encounter with African wildife. Our driver Patrick really did a great job and we saw lots of animals.
The accommodation is really good and the tents are very spacy; they have a well-furnished bathroom with an outside shower. The meals were excellent and the prices for drinks very reasonable. We can only recommend this logde with its friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and go for a river view tent it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for just one night to relax and be spoiled while were 'doing' Kruger.The riverside accommodation.. with views to Kruger Park, the helpful staff, peaceful atmosphere, relaxed wildlife viewing and the inclusive meals gave us exactly what we had hoped for! We would have liked to stay longer.....but too much to do.. too little time to do it. .... The dinner was 'different'....but the breakfast was superb...We would recommend a stay here,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here last year for my birthday. It was great! All meals included except lunch and we had an amazing morning game drive with breakfast. The pool setting is great, where you can sit and have cocktails while the elephants and hippos come up to the river.

Overall great family weekend and great location to main gate of park as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived after a long day in the Kruger to be welcomed with an iced coffee and an iced flannel, what a wonderful welcome. My room, number 10, looked out over the lawn to the river and Kruger.

The room was clean, the bed lovely and comfortable, bathroom shower really good. Couldn't fault it.

The restaurant was on a balcony overlooking the river with a bar at the end. Food at dinner was "African", fairly basic but tasty and nourishing. Breakfast was really good with plenty of options both continental and cooked.

Two game drives from the Lodge, took about 15 minutes to get to Kruger gate, the guide was fairly knowledgable, the vehicle was of the high jeep type that allowed a good view of the animals. Loads of really good sightings of the big five and others, no kangaroos though.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

All in all a great place to stay. I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms face the river, just ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Dave
Thank you for taking the time to review Sabie River Bush Lodge.
It is ghreat to hear such positive reviews from out guests, we really appreciate the feedback.
I will definetly pass on the review to the staff and management at the Lodge.
Glad to hear that your trip in our open safari vehicle was good, pity about the Kangaroos though.
Regards
Dale
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

SRBL is a really nice accommodation close to the Paul Kruger gate. We stayed in one of the tents. It was incredible clean and the bedding was extremely comfortable. I have stayed in other camps in game reserves - however this is the first one that possessed A/C. The staff was very nice - although I find it odd that they didn't have change when you were trying to close your bill or wanted to leave a tip. Food wasn't very exciting - but it was enjoyable. Nevertheless - very relaxing and stay and I would stay here again. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Pick a tent - any tent. There is usually a nice show from the hippos or elephants across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabie River Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabie River Bush Lodge

Address: R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1402, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabie River Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sabie River Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabie River Bush Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabie River Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.