We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephants up close and personal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Sanctuary

Elephant Sanctuary
Hazyview, South Africa
+27 13 737 6609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 things to do in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elephants up close and personal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely amazing experience! Handlers were fantastic and you really do get up close to the elephants and interact with them. Very informative team - Elephants in a great loving environment.
Highly recommend a visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    43
    9
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Start to our Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our first activity during our recent stay in South Africa. We took a family of 6 and had a great experience. The guide and handlers were excellent and gave us quite an education about elephants, the reserves and other animals. The information was really valuable during our safari later in the week, so we were really glad to have it. Walking, trunk in had, touching a toungue and riding the elephant are all experiences that will stay with us for a lifetime.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

what an incredible experience to be so close with the elephants. it was educational & well controlled.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“W~O~W!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is my daughter's own review:

Okay, this is an 11 year old talking...... It was the second time in my life that I saw an elephant and I just could'nt believe that I came SO close to one in real life! It was indescribable!!!! It was soooooo cute when I got to hold his trunk on our walk and to feed them! They are so obedient! The ride was V~E~R~Y COOL!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

You will really enjoy a place where the giant animals are almost together with us all the time.
An amazing experience !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Sanctuary also viewed

Hazyview, Mpumalanga
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Elephant Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.