We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful spot, friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Waters Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Laughing Waters Guest House to your Saves list
Laughing Waters Guest House
Farm s29 Linvale Estates | R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Delightful spot, friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

So glad we prefaced our trip to Kruger with a restful stay at Laughing Waters. Our accommodations were excellent--beautiful, spacious room for our family of 3, fabulous swim in the pool at dawn, delicious food, and such warm and welcoming people. Thank you Carol, Gavin, and Emma! We roughed it in Kruger, but you pampered us in advance!! Would definitely recommend Laughing Waters to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Public Relations Manager at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Frankie,

Thank you for the kind words, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting your stay at Laughing Waters Guest House, we hope we can welcome you back to Laughing Waters Guest house in the future!

Kind regards,

Emma Kendrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
61
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bremen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

not far from the Kruger, but nearby the Bryde River Canyon, a real castle in the bush! Large Rooms, nice garden, very frendly owners und a excellent dinner! The best lodge we used on our travel through South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Guest Relations Manager at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Laughing Waters Guest House.
We hope to welcome you back to sunny Hazyview soon!

Warm regards

Emma Kendrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very warm welcome from Carol and Gavin. They were very helpful in preparing our day trips. Gavin's "south african cuisine" is fantastic.
The hotel is surrounded by beautiful lemon tree fields and if you are lucky you will even see a hippo. The room was big, clean, bright and nicely furbished. Krüger Park Phabeni gate is just 15 minutes drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol v, Guest Relations Manager at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Christian,

Thank you for the kind words!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Gavin's cooking. The dogs are missing the attention from your children and have been bothering us in the office instead!
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and your family and hope to see you at Laughing Waters Guest House again soon!

Warmest regards,

Emma Kendrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

One of my best accommodation what I had in SA. When I was looking for a place to stay and didn't want to be inside of Kruger Park, Laughing Waters was a very good choice. Carol, Gavin and their staff provided us with excellent hospitality and surroundings were also brilliant. Also they can arrange you unforgettable safari experience.

Thank you so much Carol & Gavin !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol v, Front Office Manager at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review, we love hearing your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you back to Laughing Waters Guest House in the near future. Our warm regards from sunny hazyview, Emma Kendrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our stay was excellent. Very relaxing and laid back atmosphere, warm and friendly hosts, Carol and Gavin made us feel we were visiting old friends. Our kids enjoyed the garden, the pool and company, and of course didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Gugu
Thanks for the lovely review. Next time you visit we may just really keep Khaya & Zoe. They were such a pleasure to have around and I am so glad you all managed to relax and unwind a bit.
Until next time hopefully :-)
Kind regards
CAROL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montigny le bretonneux
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a great stay at Laughing Waters Guest house, our hosts were very friendly, we had a warm welcome.
The house is fantastic, nestled in a beautiful garden and had the opportunity to cross the lemon tree plantation .The rooms was big and clean and the meals and wine delicious.
Many thanks to Carol and Gavin from France.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed the dinner and our fine South African wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was our first stop in Southafrica and it was great! Great service, really nice people and a wonderfull location! There is also a recommendable tour to the Krugerpark. Starting just at the lodge. Excellent.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Alexander
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting your group and we hope to be able to host you again some day.
Kind regards
CAROL & Laughing Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laughing Waters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Waters Guest House

Address: Farm s29 Linvale Estates | R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Waters Guest House in Hazyview is tucked away in the heart of the picturesque Sabie Valley on the banks of the Sabie River. Journey through the lemon trees to arrive in a beautiful sub-tropical garden, surrounded by tall trees and populated with an abundance of birds, Laughing Waters Guest House is a quiet haven, with a familiarity and comfort that makes you feel quite at home.On checking into Laughing Waters Guest House Hazyview, one will be settling into a retreat that boasts high archways, and a Tuscan ambience, a building that evokes an antiquated awe. Through the landscaped courtyard one will find their room with views of the beautiful surroundings.The location of Laughing Waters Guest House, close to the river ensures slightly cooler temperatures within the valley; this comfortable micro climate makes Laughing Waters Guest House especially welcoming for a Lowveld destination in the hot summer months.The riverine forest and indigenous bush surrounding the farm, the proximity to Hazyview and the Kruger National Park and the occasional sighting of hippos makes Laughing Waters Guest House feel slightly "wild", but still very civilised! We have an in-house tour operator to assist with any tours / transfers you need planned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Laughing Waters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laughing Waters Guest House Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Waters Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.