We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature's luxurious treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R536, Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nature's luxurious treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent two nights at this idyllic lodge near Hazyview. The luxury tents were fabulous - we loved the bath overlooking the river, and also enjoyed the open-air shower. What a pleasure! Our tent was very private and we truly felt that we were on our own in these beautiful surroundings. We took advantage of the tasty meals prepared in the restaurant which also had a wonderful view of the river. To our delight the hippos passed by on both evenings - a real treat! The spa treatments were well worth it, and left us feeling quite relaxed. We look forward to our next visit to Summerfields!

Room Tip: Request a tent on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    31
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
110
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There's something about a luxury tent, in the bush, on the edge of a beautiful river, that just hit the right spot with us. The open air shower, facing the river, is a highlight. If you take Monday off work and stay Sunday night you will save over 30% off the weekend rate and of course it's lovely and quiet. Took a walk through the macadamia orchard before dinner. We had a hippo splashing around the river during our lovely dinner at the River Cafe! Had a wonderful pedicure and massage Monday morning, took a tour through the rose house and went home entirely relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights; and although it is quite a distance to drive from Johannesburg; it truly was worth it. The service was outstanding; food was gourment and every meal was delicious. The wine list was not extensive but catered for all tastes; and prices were very fair. The tents are spacious and well appointed; with the scent of roses always in the air. The spa treatments were top notch. All in all a 5 star weekend; a real spoil! Thanks to everyone who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Summerfields and enjoyed the Eden Romantica spa treatment during our first afternoon.

The lodge itself, positioned on the Sabi river, is so wonderfully romantic and remote and we really loved our stay.

The therapists in the spa are fabulous and the treatments we had were some of the best - having a full body massage on the river bank is so incredibly relaxing.

We loved our "tented" room - very luxurious and well appointed and the bird life around the rooms is spectacular.

The food is excellent and you can't help but be filled with a sense of calm and peace.

We really had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 and were lucky to enjoy the beautiful roses everywhere. Although the setting is idyllic, our tent was very close to the river and the sounds of the water crashing on the rocks made it difficult to get to sleep. There are no telephones in the tents, so if you need something or have an enquiry, you will have to walk quite a distance or drive down to the main building. The food was good value and included organic produce from their farm. On our last morning we were very excited to visit the green house and buy some organic vegetables and macadamia oil.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to break journey enroute to Sabi sands game reserve.

Extensive orchards of litchi and macademia trees lead the way into the grounds. There were supposed to be roses as well but we didn't see any at this time of year.

What's unique are the tented suites - but with nice furniture , heater etc within !
The bathrooms opened out into nature but yet strategically placed to ensure privacy ! Comfort in the midst of nature with the lake right at your right door.

Beautiful - but freezing in winter especially with the wind chill factor .

The " rooms" are decently insulated and hot water bottles are provided to ensure a comfy sleep.
Each suite had its own name.

You Pass the Outdoor fireplace , bar, spa area, viewing deck to get to the dining area.
Dinner was ok but breakfast was divine !

The residential cat was most lOving and made it feel a home away from home :)

Absolute retreat

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Excellent! Tranquility and serenity are just some of the words to describe Summerfields. We stayed there for 2 nights over our anniversary and it was definitely a great choice and I was glad to return to this little piece of heaven.

Their rooms a stylishly appointed - and the Roses, everywhere there are roses! The staff go the extra mile to ensure that you enjoy your stay. In the evenings they ensure that the room is nice and warm upon your return.

The food at the River Cafe is excellent as well as the service. I would really recommend doing one of their bath rituals and also visit their spa.

I wish that we could of stayed longer, but will definitely go back again. Ilse can really be proud of her roses, they are absolutely beautiful and at Summerfields you constantly feel that you are dreaming.

Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Address: R536, Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.