We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with the most wonderful hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Jay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   645-647 Blue Jay Steeg/Lane/Alley | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Londonderry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with the most wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed two nights while on honeymoon after getting married in SA. Firstly Phil and Margi are the best, it was like meeting old friends even though we had only met for the first time, they made you feel so welcome and part of the place. It was great having a chat over a few ciders. The rooms are excellent with every need catered for. Breakfast was fantastic, with everything you would want, and Phil's omelette is a credit to him. We certainly didn't start the day hungry.

Phil and Margi will give you all the information you need on the area, the Panorama drive and sights to see, even down to where to get the best steak in South Africa, (Pioneer butcher's and grill), and I eat quite a few while we were there.

We had a lovely time with Phil and Margi and we wish we had spent another couple of nights, but it's a good reason for us to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
155
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Fabulous guest house and it is a shame that we only stayed for one night as it would have been great for a relaxing break. Phil and Margi are so welcoming and the lodge itself is lovely. Beautiful big bedrooms and the location amoungst the trees gives it a special touch. There is no restaurant at the hotel, although Phil provided some excellent suggestions - breakfast in the morning was superb! After a very long drive it was perfect for unwinding....we would without a doubt stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Phil and Margi are friendly and charming hosts in this beautiful accommodation set amongst lovely gardens. There is so much to do in the area - Phil will share plenty of ideas with you and listen to your tales over a beer or at the braai in the evening. The road to Blue Jay the first time you travel there leaves you wondering where you are heading...but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

What can we say? Blue Jay Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way. Thank you Phil and Margi for making us feel so welcome. From the welcome drinks on arrival and the delicious breakfast outside to the making of the braai fire for us in the evenings your hospitality was awesome. The beautiful, tranquil setting and gorgeous comfortable room made us want to stay longer than the 4 days that we were there. We had the self catering accommodation and everything that was necessary for a comfortable stay was provided, just bring your clothes and food! Blue Jay is situated on the outskirts of Hazyview and convenient for easy access to the Kruger Park through either Kruger or Phabeni gates and also for the Panorama Route. We have stayed at many other lodges in the area over the years, never returning to any one of them but we sure will return to Blue Jay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeestpoort 0216
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife, mother inlaw and I stayed at the Blue Jay Lodge for 2 fabulous nights. After reading some negative reviews about several other 4 star lodges in the Hazyview area on Tripadvisor, I knew I hit the jackpot when booking at BlueJay.I can only confirm the 5 star reviews by al other reviews on Tripadvisor. a very warm thanks to Phil and Margi.
Like MacArthur said " we will be back"
George, Yola and Ouma.
Hartbeestpoort, RSA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Beautiful and quite location, very spacious, nicely decorated rooms and Margi and Philip are very friendly and helpful hosts. It's the perfect spot for a stop over in Hazyview (as we did on our way to the Sabi Sand Game Reserve) or as a location for tours to Kruger Park or Panorama Route. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed a week with Philip and Margi - we could not have been made more welcome. The lodge itself is delightful and really well located for the southern part of Kruger and the Blyde River Canyon. The room was lovely and well-appointed, though we didn't make much use of the TV - there's too much else to do and see!

Thanks again to Philip and Margi for a truly great and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 645-647 Blue Jay Steeg/Lane/Alley | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.