We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Jay Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Jay Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   645-647 Blue Jay Steeg/Lane/Alley | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Blue Jay Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at Blue Jay lodge in April 2012 and our stay was an amazing break away from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg. Calm and tranquil gardens greeted us with a beautiful splash pool. The accommodation is in one work exquisite. A beautiful King size bed with quality linen and a spacious beautifully equipped bathroom with separate toilet. Our hosts were friendly and engaging and I would highly recommend Blue Jay Lodge to friends, family and anyone looking for a luxurious get away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
155
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What an awesome up market lodge
The rooms are stunning
The venue is centrally situated to visit all the wonderful site seeing that this area has to offer
The beds offer a great nights sleep
And most importantley - The hosts Phil and Margi, go out of their way to accomodate any request you may have. Their friendliness will leave you wanting to return for another stay
Well recomended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Highly recommend Blue Jay to anyone looking for a clean, nicely designed, new and spacious place to stay close by the Kruger Park. Phil and Marg's hospitality was priceless. They are the friendliest hosts I have ever met..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Margi was so helpful and accommodating, packing us breakfast because we had to leave for the airport prior to the breakfast service time. We had a very good stay, with everything just what you would expect for a B&B in the countryside. The decor and furniture may be more suited to couples than friends, but we made it work quite easily. We were luckily able to use the Wifi from our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Blue Jay Lodge is not what I see as a traditional lodge nor is there any activities or a real bar or restaurant, It is basically just the chalets surrounded by some forest, these however are beautiful and clean, only downside was that the chalets was very closer to each other than I anticipated. Do not even think on driving the road into the lodge if you are worried about your car because the peace of road towards the entrance is awful. On the upside the people and management are really wonderful people and friendly. I think Blue Jay is specific to some people's needs and in accordance with those people's needs it will be 5 star, really quiet and very nice rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our second visit to Blue Jay and we were not disappointed! The rooms are light and airy and of a good size. The balcony area outside provides a lovely spot to enjoy the tranquil gardens and to enjoy the bird population.
Phil was a great host, providing entertaining converstation over a sundowner and an excellent breakfast! Best omelette ever!
It is a great location to either explore Kruger from or as a stop before moving into the park and Phil and Margi are eager to please and help guests during their stay at Blue Jay, which is much appreciated.
We hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

bluew jay lodge and 'a great place. immersed in the peace of nature
the rooms are huge and beautiful
the warm welcome and the breakfast freshly prepared tasty and plentiful.
convenient for visiting the panoramic route and the kruger
the only known
and 'on a dirt road and there are no indications, it can be difficult to find

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 645-647 Blue Jay Steeg/Lane/Alley | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.