We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven for people & dogs alike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komati Gorge

Komati Gorge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mpumalanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Komati Gorge
Save
You added Komati Gorge to your Saves list
P O Box 262 | Belfast, 1100, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Eshowe, Zululand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A haven for people & dogs alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The comfort & pet friendliness exceeded our expectations. My main objective was to spend a weekend away somewhere where we could take our dogs too. We stayed in leopard suite 5, nice and private, exceptionally comfortable. My only criticism would be the BRIGHT shiny orange cushions & curtains! That besides the chalets are very well equipped, spotlessly clean with a lovely huge bathroom. All the staff are very friendly, not forgetting too the friendly man with a big smile called Bright at the main entrance gate. We had a spa bath which was great, and the geyser can handle the volume of water delivering a nice hot bath. The fire place inside was lovely & warmed the chalet. The setting is beautiful on the river. There were a lot of dogs there but they all belonged to responsible pet owners and were well behaved and socialised. Our dogs had a truly wonderful time. Dogs are understandably not allowed in the restaurant, but they can go everywhere else & truly be a part of the family. We enjoyed walks with the dogs & relaxing in the chalet after a very busy work period. The lodge is exceptionally tranquil & peaceful.
We were going to eat in the restaurant one night, but changed our minds. Amanda was most helpful in supplying us with braai meat of our choice.
It was really a beautiful place and as pet friendly as you can get.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is one of the few lodges in South Africa that accept dogs. And the dogs love it.
The scenery is magnificent. The lodge is right inside the gorge, overlooking a stunning rock face.
We had a self catering unit which I guess was fine in spite of the orange satin cushions on the bed and the fact that the wardrobe was inside the bathroom, on the opposite side of the jacuzzi bathtub. The staff were friendly and the lodge well run. The activities were quite extensive, with canoeing, fishing and horse riding being the most popular. You are charged extra for everything, except canoeing. Considering that the starting price is not cheap (1300 per night for the unit), I was a bit disappointed that I had to pay for the use of a rod (no reel, because I had mine) and for an extra mattress on the floor for my four year old child.
Being a very keen fisherman, the main reason why I would go back would be to fish the river between the lodge and the weir, some 1,5 km upstream. These are potentially excellent pools for yellowfish, although I cannot confirm the presence of any fish, due to a rather annoying wind which blew incessantly throughout the week-end. I eventually turned my attention to the three trout dams. Forget the one at the lodge, as it is crowded with time wasters who do nothing but bash the water and spook the fish. The other two, about one km downstream, are not as well frequented but equally unproductive due to poor maintenance. Weeds and small bream are indeed the real protagonists of these waters. I suspect that the trout stocks are also somewhat depleted.
The food - we had two dinners at the lodge restaurant - was not bad overall and the waitresses courteous and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Going to the Lodge in June, my husband didn't expect good fishing but he used the weekend to recce the river to find ideal spots. And there are many (he says). Fishermen are the most optimistic people I know... even if they don't see a fish, they're sure that fish must be lurking nearby!
Beautiful scenery in winter, so summer must be awesome when the gorge and surrounds are green.
The accommodation, facilities and dining at the Lodge are excellent. Personnel are enthusiastic and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

stylish rooms, great service, loved the dogs! Andre was a great host, giving us a free flysishing lesson, as well as taking us quadbiking. the landscape is beautiful, wildlife abundant, and it was a perfect stop between joburg and kruger.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Komati Gorge Lodge is a hidden treasure. Located in the High veld region of South Africa it is slightly off the beaten track, however it is well worth making a little extra effort to get there.

Lodge management and staff are welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in the hotel style of accommodation - rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are also spacious with a large bath, separate shower, and double basins.

Three course dinner was delicious, well presented, and very reasonably priced - the meal was served in a candlelit dining area, complete with log fire. There is a large, comfortable bar for pre-dinner drinks (and other).

The lodge is located in a beautiful gorge - for those familiar with Australia - reminiscent of areas such as Katherine and the Kimberley.

Sadly, we only had one night at KGL - as our schedule did not allow for a longer stay. According to their literature they have many activities such as canoeing, fly fishing, hiking, horse riding, mountain bike riding.

Wish we had had more time... :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Once you have managed to cope with the long (12 Km?) dirt road the lodge is great,
It sits close to the Komati River and the views are wonderful. Our room was large, clean and well equiped. Breakfasts were excellent, there not a lot of choice for dinner but it was very good. They will provide a fully equiped pincic hamper for R65 p.p.. we could not finish it all! All the staff were very helpful, including the dog who showed us the way to the weir! Fly fishing is available at 3 dams. There is a hiking trail which is steep and rough under foot.. Not a lot more to do, just relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed here in June, partly because they allowed dogs, and we were totally delighted with what we found. It's a worry staying somewhere that is dog friendly as there's a possibility it won't be clean, but that was simply not the case here. Very welcoming to both us and our dog, very clean and we were even upgraded to the Zebra Cottage, so we got loads of space for the 3 of us.

Great walks around there. Lots of people fishing in the trout pools. We made our own supper in the room for the evening, then went through to have Breakfast in the main restaurant on the Sunday morning.

The only quibble I have about the visit was one of the male members of staff, who had rather a lot of jokes that just didn't feel very hospitable. For example on arriving for breakfast we were told that there was no breakfast today, just toast. Oh, and the food for supper is food, why should I tell you what is being served if you're not going to eat it. So much so, we decided if we went back, we'd only do self catering.

Other than that a delightful stay and I would go back should the need arise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komati Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komati Gorge

Address: P O Box 262 | Belfast, 1100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Mpumalanga
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komati Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.