We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tlopi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tlopi Tented Camp
Save
You added Tlopi Tented Camp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Marakele National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A relaxing weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent place to chill out. The tented camp is luxurious for a reasonable price. All is there to have a relaxing weekend having your BBQ (braai) diner while hearing the roar of a lion.
Not so many game though in the park and, in rainy season, very difficult to spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hankk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very cute 'tents,' which are really semi-permanent canvas-and-wood structures perched around a lake. They are attractive, spacious, and well-designed. Sleeping 2 adults and 3 kids was not a problem. The tent has a shower, bathroom, and bedroom, and then a large patio connects to a second smaller room where the kitchen / dining room is. Beds and linens are new and plenty comfortable -- not dated in any way. It works out great. The setting is on a small but scenic lake. We didn't see much wildlife but apparently there were lions and a hyena on the access road a few km from the lake that evening (at least according to the game driver). Note that it's at least a 30 minute drive from the park entrance to the tented camp. If you want a shorter drive -- and want to be close to the bulk of the animals -- you might be better off at the main campground (bring your own tent), just inside the entrance.

Warning: when you make your reservation, you will be given the option to choose either a 'tent' or the 'Motswere Guest Cottage' at Tlopi. The guest cottage was bigger so I chose it (sleeps 8, and we had 5). Bad choice. The 'cottage' is a dated cinder block structure off by itself, a good 7 km beyond the main Tlopi tented camp area. It is not scenic or near anything. It would be good if you have a large group and want to braai and party. Or, if you are into bugs, this is the place to go! The building has a lot of light, and as a result attracted tons of large moths, huge praying mantises (6" long!), big spiders, massive weird grey grasshoppers, and their friends. It was mind-blowingly awesome. If you are into big bugs, then I highly recommend it. Otherwise, you will likely get more of what you expect if you stay at the main Tlopi Tented Camp area... we ended up moving to the main tented camp area for our second night and it was much more my style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Fully equipped tented camp next to a beautiful dam.
We had a great time at Tlopi tented camp, we've spent the last 3 night of our trip at Tlopi.
We had a lovely relaxing time there, and it's only 250 k form Joburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

From each tent you have a terrific view. It´s self catering, a simple and clean room with bath/shower, the kitchen is closed with some glass walls and nets now at least your food is safe from the monkeys, they are really quick.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

In the Marakele National Park, this tented camp is a definite must if you enjoy beautiful mountain landscapes, and peace and quiet. When we were driving to camp, we came across a family of white rhinos crossing the dirt road. The park hosts is one of the largest breeding colonies of Cape vultures. The camp is self catering so don't forget to buy food in Thabazimbi before you enter the park. While preparing your barbecue, you will enjoy a wonderful sunset by the lake with beautiful mountain views. The units are simple but comfortable, exactly what you would expect in the African bush. We arrived in the afternoon and left the following morning but would have loved to stay another day to explore the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you enjoy the wilderness then this is for you. The sounds of nature, not man, surround you, except when fellow residents leave or return to their tents. Plus the floor boards in the tents make a lot of creaking noises when people walk about. That said most of the time there is tranquility.

The tents are basic but comfortable, large and very clean. I was staying in one as a single occupant which was a little scary at first, but I soon realised I was safe. The tents were very secure and I saw very little in the way of nasty insects or snakes, which had been my particular worry. The other two people in my party were put in the next door tent which was very convenient for us.

Each tent is positioned with a good view of the lake to the front, which is visited by a variety of animals. While we were there nothing large or dangerous visited, but we had plenty of the antelope to see and many beautiful birds. I have no idea what the fish in the lake were, but they were very large and somewhat interesting to watch.

The kitchens and dining area on the patio are mostly enclosed by netting and glass. Which helps against the local fauna. The small gaps which are not netted or glassed allow in some uninvited guests called monkeys. The kitchens were well equipped for our needs, and we enjoyed our evening braai sitting on the terrace.

Beware the vervet monkeys, these delightful and amusing little creatures, seem to be particular meddlesome and cheeky in this camp. You only had to leave foods stuffs for a moment and it had gone.To the extent that one night I put some sweetcorn on the stove to boil, I only turned round to pick up the lid and a monkey was in a stole one of the cobs out of the pan. Naturally, when I told the others, we all had a fit of uncontrollable laughter.

If you have done camping before and are used to being self reliant I think this is a wonderful opportunity to enjoy nature and to get away from it all. You may see the elephants or lions if you are lucky, which we weren't, but we do know that the lions killed one night about a quarter of a mile from the camp so they are about.

Room Tip: Ask for the tents at either end of the line, particularly number ten as no other vehicles can pass b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Marakele is a superb game park in the Waterberg region of northern South Africa. The park is divided in two by a fence and gate. The first area has a camping ground but non of the big five. The second region abounds with elephants, various antelope species and also boasts cheetah and leopard amongst others.
Tlopi Tented camp is in this second region and is situated next to a waterhole where elephants often come to drink. The camp is as monkey proof as possible however on our stay most of our neighbours lost some food to these cheeky critters! It is advisable to turn your refrigerator to the wall and keep as much food as possible in your car.
Firewood is available at the entrance to the park but all provisions need to be bought beforehand. Tlopi has electricity and private braai areas.
The park has a four wheel drive track and a completely remote feel to it. Definitely a great place to stay if you want to escape the rat race and get back to nature. Night drives are offered and worth taking. The guides know their tracks and we spotted white rhino, elephants and learned all about the lives of impalas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tlopi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tlopi Tented Camp

Address: Marakele National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Waterberg
Hotel Class:2 star — Tlopi Tented Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tlopi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.