We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible servicefrom the restaurant & no wi-fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni to your Saves list
Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mphephu Street, Thohoyandou 2745, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thohoyandou
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible servicefrom the restaurant & no wi-fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel only existst to claw as much money asit can from the punters who frequent the casino & slots. Every thing else is secondary. The food in the restaurant is quite good, if you can find something that is on the menu, as a large part of the menu is permanently off.

Prices much higher than UK prices. I ordered coffe & chicken mayonnasie sandwich at 21:30. The coffee arrived after half an hour & then I had to wait another 15 mins for milk, The sandwiches arrived after 1 1/4 hrs. Another ten minute wait for a knife & fork( the locals use their fingers)
No sooner had I finished eating than they rushed me to pay, as they wanted to cash up. This made me smile as usually there is another ten to twenty minute wait for the bill.
Most people pay by card but when they bring the bill, they don't bring the card machine, so that is normally another wait to bring it.
Be warned, if there are more diners than waiters, you will have a long wait for your food.

When I asked if their wifi is working they said they do not have wifi in the public area. Obviously the casino is so poor they cant afford £100 amonth for the connection.

THey have a lovely swimming pool which is off limits to everyone except people staying in the hotel. No body has used the pool for about 10 years,because people don't drive 500 kms just for a swim. and locals who sepnd money on the overpiced food & drink are banned from the pool.
When the hotel was first opened the pool was the center of a big social scene with locals going there to eat drink swim & listen to live music, but the management has got lazier & stupider with each change of ownership ( 3 - 4 changes at least)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
1
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for a two night business trip and was shocked at how unfriendly, unhelpful and quite rude the reception staff were. The room was sufficient, large and fairly clean, though you have to be really agile to be able to get in and out of the bath/shower. The emphasis is on the casino with the result being that the hotel guests are treated as a bit of an after thought. Best thing about the stay was the breakfast which was well prepared, had plenty of variety and the friendliest staff in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

service do not match the facilities. treated as a township hotel and emphasis on gambling and bar. standards left when hotel was bought from sun international not maintained.

Doctor advertised in directory of services but hotel has no referal doctors list.

Position fantastic to explore Venda and its mystic lakes and history.

Room Tip: rooms 23 upwards are away from the casino and bar that can be noisy until early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip for only one night. I found it to be a pleasant stay for the night. Dinner was a wee bit pricey but I thought it was delicious. The chicken and the beef options offered in the buffet were tender and juicy. I found the casino to be a welcome time killer. I lost about R300~$40 but it was fun. The drinks were reasonably priced too. They don't have electrical adapters to lend out but I was told that you can get them at the shop nearby. Other than that, this suited my needs for 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Was at Thohoyandou for a wedding and i stayed at Khoroni Hotel for the weekend. It is situated in a very convenient place, there's a shopping center opposite the hotel. We were given a very warm welcome at arrival and the check-in process was quick. The rooms are large and comfortable, neat and clean. The hotel restaurant provided good breakfast and the dinner was great.

Would recommend the hotel for a short visit of a group of friends or so. Especially if you will be away during the day and only come back to sleep. Not an ideal place for families. The place is a bit busy due to the Casino.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Finding it difficult to find accommodation in Thohoyandou online, Khoroni turned out to be our only real option when booking and paying online.

It turns out that virtually everyone who's been to this part of the world has stayed here and nobody has liked it. This consensus is largely attributed to the casino that makes this hotel a drawcard for gamblers and the like.

There is no soap in the rooms (I've stayed in simple self-catering accommodation elsewhere that at least provided a simple bar of soap if nothing else). This was a frustrating discovery on our late arrival upon needing to wash off the dust and grime of a long drive that day.

Juice at breakfast was past its sell-by date and when I brought this to the waiters' attention, he merely took the glass away from me. I raised the matter again and eventually I actually had to tell the waiter that he needed to get rid of the juice and not just clear my dishes.

Buffet options are lacking both for supper and breakfast and my tough-as-a-rock portion of lamb was doused in gravy to make it 'tender' and more palatable. The piece of lamb served back to me drowning in gravy simply looked terrible. I sent it away to be discarded after two attempts to rectify the problem - it seemed that overcooked (?stale) food was supposed to be ok to eat.

The pool was dirty and I wouldn't ever be tempted to take a dip in it regardless of the ambient temperature: thanks to the unfortunate position where it sits overlooked by an outdoors sports bar, smoking area as well as casino entrance. Hardly private or, even at the least, restricted for resident use only.

On check-out, reception staff could not figure out how to use my card and made it out to seem like there was something wrong with me and my card - instead of figuring out how it (one of the newer generation chipped cards) worked.

All in all, it was simply a place to sleep in. nothing more - and don't expect more. Truly 3 star if not less, and unless more places in the immediate area upgrade and/or go online in the area, you'll be hard pressed to have better options when travelling to the area from afar.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2005

I stayed here in August of 2004, when visiting the University of Venda. I travelled with five other women and we safely stayed in this lovely hotel / casino. The rooms were large with a television, giant king sized bed, ample dresser space and a huge closet that stored three women's luggage (we stayed for 10 days so there was quite a bit of stuff). The bathroom was a private room in the suite with a large tub / shower, toilet and sink. There was a beautiful pool but it was too chilly to swim while we visited. The restaurant was delicious - we had a complementary buffet for breakfast every morning. The buffet was filled with a hot full english breakfast, fish, omelets, local delicacies, and of course cereals, yogurt, etc. The tea service was quite lovely with several choices, including the local Rooibois tea. We ate lunch on our own and usually visited the market next door for dinner (you can pick up some porridge and chicken for like 5-10 rand.) The market also has a very handy bank / atm, grocery store, and restaurants. Several evenings we ate in the hotel's restaurant, but the prices were steep (50-85 rand). The food was wonderful but a little over priced. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful to us during our stay. They even gave us a cot so they third person in the room didn't have to sleep in the king bed (see picture!). The Venda Sun is very well secure and protected with a gate and 24-hour security. The surrounding town is NOT secure at night, we were advised to stay within the confines of the hotel after dark.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni

Address: Mphephu Street, Thohoyandou 2745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Thohoyandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thohoyandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary comfort at affordable rates...the 3-star Metcourt hotel at Khoroni offers 82 comfortable rooms and suites - uniquely decorated in a contemporary afro-chic style with an en-suite bathroom, satellite TV, air-conditioning and direct-dial telephones. Its close proximity to the Kruger National Park makes it the perfect destination to discover the beauty of Africa. Enjoy a splendid breakfast, lunch or dinner buffet at Malingani restaurant - an a la carte menu is also available - or grab a cocktail at the pool terrace bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining, convention and entertainment facilities. The hotel features (82 rooms) with 77 Classic rooms, 1 Junior Suite and 4 Executive suites. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.