We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk with Lions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Ranch Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranch Resort, Farm Hollandsdrift | 25km South of Polokwane on R101/ N1, Polokwane 0699, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Polokwane
Vivo, Limpopo, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great walk with Lions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

simple accommodation, but comfortable.
walking with Lions was the best part of our stay. especially watching the lions climb the large tree.
the breakfast had a lot of pork dishes, not ideal for those who don't eat pork.
Dinner was lovely and the bar/cigar lounge was accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
24
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Yes the Protea Hotel - The Ranch is in beautiful grounds, the rooms are comfortable, the staff friendly and the food in the restaurants for breakfast and dinner a high standard. However, what really makes this is the lions. We had two experiences with lions, firstly a late afternoon game drive finishing with visiting the ranch with four lion cubs that we all had an opportunity to handle. Secondly the walking with lions which happened at 7:00 in the morning. This was very well managed by the rangers and I felt totally safe at all times. You get very close to the lions and walk right next to them for a significant distance indeed holding onto them as you walk. I have traveled extensively in Africa over the years and visited many of the most impressive game parks in South Africa, Kenya and Tanzania. However, I will remember this experience for a very long time. It was just totally utterly amazingly fantastic. I have to take my wife next time I go to South Africa just so she can experience this for herself. Do try and fit a day or two here into your South African experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This has been my hotel of choice in the Polokwane region for several years.
Rooms are comfortable. The grounds are very attractive. The restaurant is first class, yet reasonably priced. Service is always friendly and efficient. There is good , free WiFi, but only in the business area.
Above all, there are just so many things to do, including the early morning walk with lions.
Go there. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited this Easter for a couple of hours at the above ranch. A highly entertaining two and half hours,perfect sunday afternoon entertainment.

The wildlife on offer was awesome as we had a birds eye view from within the jeep . The children were bowled over by the sights and sounds including giraffe,blesbok,hyena ,lions and the highlight being the 3 month old baby lion cubs. The Ranch even boasts a celebrity 30 year old lion featured in many films .

We were enthralled non - stop and even saw a lioness perform her version of pilates!
A definite must do if visiting Polokwane.
We would definitely consider staying over at the hotel as well as the acommodation on offer looks very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to this hotel for a weekend break with our toddler, the service from the beginning was friendly, professional, very pleasant. The room was spacious, not your typical hotel which was refreshing, they have 2 restaurants, we had lunch at the one as that seems to be the general restaurant and is family orientated, we arranged a baby sitter for the evening and had our diner at the fine dining restaurant and that was fantastic, great food, typical fine dining, service was excellent, a lovely evening out, the baby sitter was excellent, no issues with that.
We will definitely go back, and intact will also go to this hotel when traveling the area for business.

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury room which we got on a specious rate, was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The resort was beautiful with spacious rooms (albeit with outdated furnishings bearing in mind this is a 4* hotel). Reception on our arrival (Friday, 29 March) was rude, and answered a call during our checking in as we were in conversation with her, even while the other receptionist was filing and could well have taken the call. Further, we were spoken to particularly rudely when we were given our swimming bands for access to the pool due to the receptionist losing count of how many bands to hand out to our group of 10 – accusing us of having too many people in too few rooms in a rude and belligerent manner, when actually we have taken out 3 double rooms and a family room (6 adults, a 3 year old and a 1 year old). Horrific start to our holiday!

We went to lunch at Buttery (one of the two restaurants), only to be told that 3 dishes we had ordered were not available – a bit disconcerting given that it was the Easter holidays, which for most hotels is treated as a peak time when stocks should be kept high. After slow service and repetitive ordering until our waiter got the order right, we were brought our food in dribs and drabs with drinks that were ordered first, arriving after we had finished our meals.

Service at the pool side was just as slow, with waitrons not bothering to come to us – we had to go to them to place orders.

Food in general was overpriced and small in variety. At breakfast, we had to wait for 10 minutes at least to get hot eggs, and the selection was small for a 4 star rated spot. Breakfast is only available at Buttery unless you wish to drive out 25 kms to Polokwane.

The lion walk was by far the highlight of the stay, and Phuti and his team were the shining stars of our stay. Reception on the second day of our stay was wonderful, as was the service at Basil, proof that it is possible to get decent service at the Ranch.

This resort would be one of our best holidays in the world if it could just improve the service levels and improve on Buttery in terms of variety and quality of food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed and visited at the Ranch for the last 16 years on and off and love how at home you feel. The staff have been there for years and always go out of their way to exceed your expectations. The family room recently was clean, spacious and comfortable. The wild animals are brilliant and I love how at the Weddings you feel like you are in the middle of the beautiful African Bush (MAKES ME WANT TO GET MARRIED). Yesterday we played with the cubs they are so cuddly and I even face timed my friends overseas at the same time to share my experience.
P.S: If The Ranch is good enough for the President its good enough for you!

BOOK!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Ranch Resort

Address: Ranch Resort, Farm Hollandsdrift | 25km South of Polokwane on R101/ N1, Polokwane 0699, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Polokwane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Polokwane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Protea Hotel Ranch Resort established in 1960, is the leading conference, leisure and sports resort in Limpopo. The hotel is situated within a 1000ha nature conservancy and offers 150 hotel bedrooms and self-catering chalets which boasts all modern conveniences. Our Preseidential and Executive suites feature their own private courtyard and spa pool. The 20 luxury two bedroom self-catering golf chalets can accommodate upto 4 adults and two children. Our superior culinary TEAM ooffers unequelled quality, creativity in local and international cuisines. Take the pleasure of experiencing the ambience of Basil's fine dining restaurant, or enjoy all meals in the Buttery family restaurant or at our day time clubhouse restaurant. Awaken to the sound of roaring lions and experience these majestic animals on a game drive and lions tour. Our "Walking with Lions tour" is reserved for th brave at heart and is an experience of a life time. Make sure that you meet Nala and Bolt the two cheetah hand raised cheetah and get your camera ready to spot over 200 bird species and 25 antelope sepcies, including Sable antelope and Golden wildebeest. Our Facilities and services include, horseback safaris, 4 sparkling pools (2 heated), landing strip, tennis court, fitness centre, steam room, games room, the NEW Kolobe tented camp and TEAM building activities. Our state of the art sports academy offers a magnificent 12-hole par 3 golf course and has launched 2 multi purpose sports pitches which is ideal for professional sports teams to carry out their training camps. 12-well appointed and air-conditioned conference venues seat upto 1200 delegates, with adequate WIFI access through out the property as wel as a back-up generator to ensure the hotel is self reliant. We are the ideal wedding destination venue - featuring bush weddings, contemporary weddings, intimate weddings and garden weddings. "COME EXPERIENCE OUR PRIDE, WHERE HOSPITALITY IS A LONG TRADITION" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Ranch Resort Polokwane, Limpopo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.