We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria
1 review
“Renewal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

One would expect the serene environment to be the highlight of the stay, but the levels of service and friendliness will remain in memory for ever. It was like being part of the Shangri-La family, an experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Shangri-La. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcome you back soon. All our guests are our family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    47
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
71
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay as the family; needed a break and it was worth it. Staff friendliness and always there to offer assistance. The location is well out of the hectic city life and a drive away from the restaurants. Really loved the place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on being far yet near enough from Gauteng for guests to know that despite being in paradise, the journey home will not take forever. Shangri-La is also proud to offer guests a superb dining experience with an array of meal choices - from delectable high tea to unforgettable breakfasts, freshly baked pizzas in our very own pizza oven and a fine dining alternative in our Heritage Restaurant. Not to mention our award winning Diners Club Wine List. And yes, we have room service too! We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had the priviledge to spend a week at Shangri-La as part of workshop. First of all: the place is not perfect. Heck, I would have felt very out-of-place if it was. Someone once said: 'Love isn't about finding the perfect person (place), it's about seeing an imperfect person (place) perfectly.' The care taken by the staff to make things work just right and be the best possible, makes it athe perfect place to be if you want to relax, have lots of privacy and beauty. Great food and smiles all around. And... importantly: an acknowledgement that we are all part of the same community of living beings, imperfect and beautiful. Thank you for your humble, kind and precious caring love and service.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what your preferences are and they are sure to provide you with the perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are thrilled that you have discovered the healing powers of Shangri-La! Thank you for reviewing our hotel and taking the time to share your story with us. Your delightful comments are accepted with grace and humility and we hope to cross your path again in the nearby future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My feet touched the ground at Shangri-La and it felt like i have arrived in heaven. The land is so beautifully kept and the ambiance is peacefull.
The first person who greeted me with a huge smile was Alfred... who I later called 'Liefie", because he bent over backwards to do anything for us. We were a huge group and every single person had the most amazing time at this hotel. It almost feels wrong to call it Hotel, as it feels like it is now "home". Thank you for all the little things and gestures and smiles and unbelieveable food and service. thank you for doing my laundry without asking and for always smiling and doing everything with pleasure. All the staff work together like a big family and we definitely felt like you have accepted all of us as part of that family.

i have travelled the world, and without a doubt, i can say, this was my most memorable visit ever. And this is not only because the actual hotel and grounds are beautiful but because of your people, service, food excellence and humility!

I am humbled by my experience and so thankful for the experience.

To Alfred, my "Liefie", thank you so much for being such an incredible host and for servicing us with love.

i will certainly be back soon !

Kindest Regards
mpwah

Cassandra Beckett

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dearest Cassandra,
Reading your magnificent letter certainly brings tears of joy to our eyes. We wish to thank you for your beautiful review. It has been an honour to host you as our guest, and we will make sure that "Liefie" receives further recognition for his brilliant service. Thank you again!
We look forward to welcoming you back home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wonderful mid week break for my ladies birthday. Service and attitude of the staff was first class, big thankyou to Ken for arranging a complimentary birthday cake. Special mention for Alfred,Thulani and Jackson for making the stay more memorable with their smiling faces. Gardens are looking good with plenty of activity to improve the ambience of the lush surroundings.
Thank you.
Ken B
Sonnedal Randburg

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for writing and posting your review of your recent mid week stay at Shangri-La. Our guests' experiences at Shangri-La is very important to us and to hear that your time spent at Shangri-La was a memorable occasion is a feather in our caps. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed over for a recent Glenelly wine tasting (yummy). Room: spacious, clean and beautifully set up. Bathroom a bit if a squeeze. No hair dryer in room (girls will be girls) but was supplied on request. However, without a 2 PI adaptor...such an animal for cellphone charging should be a no brainer and provided without question. Also fridge in minibar was not stocked (ice??, water???). The room was beautiful, comfy and private. The service everywhere outstanding, friendly: nothing too much, down to an unsolicited car wash! The gardens are extraordinary; lush beauty, lovingly put together Labyrinth and zen gardens with star gazing exclamations in between. All together: we are definitely glowing and going back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Shangri-La. We are thrilled that you have made your acquaintance with our brand new Labyrinth. It is a work of art and we are sure that future guests will share in your enthusiasm.
Thank you for raising the matters regarding the minibar, hair dryer and 2 point plug. We will investigate these important points and ensure our guests' every need is adhered to where possible.
We thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Thank you to the helpful, informative and attentive staff at Shangri La this weekend for making our stay enjoyable and comfortable.

We were lucky enough to be invited to the Wine Tasting of Glenelly wines on Saturday night and can safely say that the food was divine, a superb 5-course dinner was served that complimented the wines available for tasting.

Our rooms were neat, clean and beautifully appointed with restored antique furniture. The ambiance in the common areas such as the pool and deck areas was friendly and comfortable, with staff checking in frequently to see if we needed anything.

Our family will be definite repeat clients!

Room Tip: We used rooms 23 and 24. I preferred room 24 as it's bigger and more suited to a couple than ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at Shangri-La. We are thrilled that you joined our Wine Tasting event with Glenelly Estate and are delighted that you enjoyed the evening. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Shangri-La on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.