We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the way from Australia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“All the way from Australia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A month ago I came all the way from Australia to attend the wedding of Mariska and Nathan and all I can say is that EVERYTHING was amazing!!!!!! Everything From the special decor, surrounding, food, room, service and everything else was done and presented with so much care and excellent service. A visit to shangri-la is definitely on my to do list for my next visit to South Africa! Thank you for making such an effort in making this very special weekend even more special!!!!

Room Tip: All is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Shangri-La. We are always thrilled to have visitors from overseas stay at our property, and we are glad to hear that your next visit to SA includes another escape to our piece of paradise. Your lovely review will be shared with the team, who, I am sure, will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    44
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
67
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Management and staff at Shangri-La exceeded our expectations from the moment we planned our booking to the minute we said our goodbyes.

Staff at Shangri-La make one feel like old friends and family from the word go. The staff were on the ball and the fact that they had a sense of humour made for an interesting time.

The breakfast was scrumptious.

I don't know how to thank all the staff at Shangri-La for making my weekend an experience to remember.

Try Shangri-La, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: The executive room is great for the taller person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at our little haven in the Waterberg. We have put a lot of effort into our facilities, service and venue, but in the end it all comes down to your experience - and to read such lovely compliments is a true feather in our hat. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I attended the wedding of Mariska & Nathan over the weekend and WOW!!!! Not only was the wedding beautiful but the facilities and surroundings added to a suprise gettaway that I will treasure forever. It was definately worth the trip from JHB. The fantastic food together with the friendly staff attitude contributed to the spectacular site of gorgeous gardens and stunning rooms. What a lovely place. I would definately like to visit again just for the experience of luxury, food and friendly service. I will most certainly reccommend it to friends and family. If I ever get lucky enough to marry, this will be my venue!!

Room Tip: Rondawels are nice and close to the main building & pool. If you expect to be a bit noisy, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Shangri-La. We are thrilled to read of your experience, and are delighted that you recommend us to all your friends and family. Your compliments will be shared with our team. (PS: We look forward to hosting your wedding when the big day comes!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at Shangri-La hotel for 3 days and I just had a positive feedback to the staff of the hotel.The service was excellent, you feel like you are at home.The accommodation is very luxurious and the interior decoration is very great. I can recommend anybody to your hotel with peace of mind.This hotel can be visited and still be enjoyed by family. Accommodation is very affordable for the rating of the hotel. The hotel is a business mans dream, you can have peace of mind to do strategic planing of your busisness in the comfort of private room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the right hand of the hotel entrance is reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you kindly for reviewing our property. We pride ourselves on being a leisure, conference, corporate and wedding destination, with superb service, delectable cuisine and an unforgettable setting. Your compliments confirms that your experience was indeed what we have set out to achieve, and your review will be shared with our staff, who will certainly be thrilled. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Shangri-La with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good Surprises
1.the general condition of the establishment.
2.the surprise easter egg hunt for the kids
3.the beautiful ducks
4.the friendly staff members
5.the delicious breakfast buffet menu
6.the deco - restuarant
7.the friendly monkeys and cows
8.the peaceful and beautiful garden

Bad Surprises
1.incorrect billing/quotation
2.room service - my linine was not changed after my baby pucked on it at night. no dustbin in the room
3.unclear TV screens/channels

Conclusion
Its an average hotel, not suitable for kids but a great place for couples to bond in private in the country side

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value your feedback. We have called our technicians out to inspect as to why certain channels are snowing, and it is being rectified. We will investigate the matters regarding housekeeping and your bill. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that this has caused during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again real soon to our little paradise in the Waterberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have never been treated with such warmth and sincerity anywhere else. The staff were most accommodating to our every need. I phoned last minute for a weekend booking for 10 members of my family and in-laws to be. Reception helped us very efficiently. We requested the boma/lapa for the evening for us to braai. Reception transferred me to the chef who then assist by offering to provide pap, sjeba, salad and a chocolate mouse. They built and lit the fire. We brought our own meat. They also offered to braai our meat in their kitchen, should it rain. Joey, the Manageress, phoned her friend to specially come and decorate our dining table with a rustic chic theme, when she heard that my son and his fiance is getting married in September and their theme would be similar to such a style. The rooms are neat and clean and the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review about our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on service. Your compliments will be passed on to the team, who I am sure will be delighted. We hope to welcome you back soon, and that you would consider Shangri-La as your son's wedding venue in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Expecting nothing more than your average hotel, as we drove down the gravel road from the main road (D599), i was getting a bit irritated with the bumpy road (was a bit dark when we arrived), but mood quickly changed as we drove in to this almost unbelievable scenery of beautiful green curtain of trees. The staff is pleasant and very accommodating (thank you Nicholas, Andrew, Dudu, Johanna, Magogo...), will definitely be back. It is really a wonderful place and hope it stays that way...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely compliments about your stay and for pointing out the staff that made your stay that extra bit more special. We are constantly scraping the gravel road to ensure a smooth drive through to Shangri-La. We are also in the process of creating a shorter path to Shangri-La, but this process is till underway and once this has been completed, we are positive that the shorter drive will be yet another draw card for coming for regularly. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.