We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingfisher cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birdsong Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Birdsong Cottages to your Saves list
Birdsong Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kingfisher cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Three ladies on a ladies-weekend - what a pleasant experience Thanks for the wonderful experience and excellent service Thanks for a lovely stroll and info William and Johannes Well done Sunelle we really enjoyed the weekend so musch so that we booked for the family See you soon Lorrette Oosthuizen Gauteng Benoni

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Lorette, we are thrilled that your "ladies getaway" was such a success. We are delighted that our efforts to ensure a fantastic experience resulted in your wonderful weekend and will continue to strive towards service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Your feedback has been passed on to our friendly staff who were appreciative of your compliments. Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a wonderful relaxing weekend. Stayed in Sunbird cottage. Very cozy. Beautifull views, including the chapel. Nice braai area. Large clean swimming pool. Special thanks to Johannes for welcoming us and tending to our needs, and also William who came to check in at times to see if everything was in order. Money well spent this past weekend. Thank you very much

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Birdsong Cottages. We will also pass your compliments on to both staff members, who I'm sure will be thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We (party of 8) booked to celebrate a 70th birthday. Although the house is supposedly for 8 people there were four chairs in the VERY cramped lounge area, six seats around the dining table and 4 placemats!
There is also no outside seating area for eight people. We dragged the lounge furniture back and forth.
Apart from the cutlery there was only a plastic bowl and a salad bowl. NO casserole type dishes. As with the other unhappy reviewer only once we complained did they bring us stuff.
NO corkscrew and NO braai tongs. Thankfully we brought our own from home.
The piece de resistance though had to be the shower (one shower for eight people!!) - no door or curtain which meant the water was all over the place. Plus the (so called) shower head is like a garden sprayer, and you have to jump around like an idiot to catch three drops. The shower was also built with an anorexic midget in mind as it has no room to move around in.
NO nightlights or even power points in the rooms
I could go on and on. Our complaints were met with a stoic face and a promise of refunding us for one night. Let's see if this happens!
Think very carefully before you go there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. We take your feedback seriously and appreciate your input. We are investigating the matter relating to the space and trust that this will be sorted. We would like to comment on your title of your post - the photos you are referring to are not of the unit in which you have stayed. This was explained to you at the time, and because of this misunderstanding, we offered to refund you one night, which has been processed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I have had the recent pleasure of staying at this most splendid retreat and the staff gave us the privacy and freedom of Birdsong Cottage, excellent value for money and i shall be looking forward to a return stay..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor about your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Booked at Birdsong for the Easter weekend and it was a disappointment. Self-catering place had no lounge area to speak of. The website shows picture of a beautiful bed. Beside the bed there was nothing else beautiful about this place. It is not a place to take small children. The self-catering facilities were dismall. There was a broken bread knife and nothing else to chop and cook. There were no dessert bowls to serve cereals to the kids in the morning. It was unsafe with the balcony not secured. Slept with a gas cylinder on inside the house another safety hazard. All amenities promised were non-existent. When you complain, the crockery starts coming out. I mean this booking was made more than a month ago and they should have prepared since they had spoken to us the day before to confirm our arrival. I couldn't wait to leave. At the price they were charging per night it is not worth it.

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We are investigating the matter relating to the balcony to ensure better safety for our guests and also an alternate to the gas geyser in the unit referred to. We are constantly upgrading our facilities to offer guests a superb experience at Birdsong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Thank you to the management for affording my wife and I a midweek break. The setting was beautiful. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, my wife especially enjoyed the large bathroom. The friendliness of the staff was well received. We managed to have a braai before the wind and rain forced us indoors. We at least could take some memories home. The disappointment of having to rush home spoiled our stay, we will return to finish our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor about your experience at Birdsong. We are looking foward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Thanks to Management for receiving our group with your hospitallity. It was a time we will always remember. The rooms so well equiped and clean. The wonderfull braai we enjoyed to it's fullness. The early morning birding was lovely. For a intimate wedding your Chapel and venue would add to a memorable day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor about your experience at Birdsong. We are looking foward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birdsong Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdsong Cottages

Address: Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birdsong Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy farm-life and warm hospitality in our overnight accommodation or self catering units. Choose from a self catered farm stay or enjoy lodgings in the rondavel or our beautiful guest house. This popular bird watching area is within close proximity of the Nylsvley wetlands. Hiking trails on the farm offer breathtaking views. Birdsong is ideal for small functions, conferences, weddings and parties, with a beautiful chapel with seating for 50-60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Birdsong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdsong Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.