We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Mokopane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel, Mokopane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Hotel, Mokopane to your Saves list
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Thabo Mbeki & Beitel Streets | PO Box 1551, Mokopane 0600, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel The Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mokopane
Seattle, USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in Mokopane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a hotel to stay midway between Jo'burg Airport and our final destination at the Limpopo-Lipadi Game and Wilderness Reserve. Our plane landed in Jo'burg at 5 pm and after we picked up our rental car we were on our way via very nice freeway to Mokopane, about 3 hours away. To have found such a nice hotel in Mokopane was a delight. Our check in was smooth, the front desk very helpful and the room more like a 1970's motel room with parking lot access. We were at first somewhat concerned about that arrangement but upon entering the large room those fears vanished. The room was very large, with a small kitchenette. What impressed us was how clean and well maintained the room and entire property was. SPOTLESS. We walked to the dining room for a superb steak and veggie dinner, all for $10 a person. The internet worked well and the front desk staff volunteered to help us with some complicated travel issues that required phone calls and e-mail. All done with smile and for free. I wholeheartedly recommend this property and will put it on our return list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre S, General Manager at The Park Hotel, Mokopane, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mountainmann

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel after your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that my team looked after you and that you enjoyed our location, the food and great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Park Hotel!

Your in Hospitality

Pierre Schalkwyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mokopane, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is situated in the quite small town called MOKOPANE. It is well maintained hotel with friendly support staff. There is no free wifi on the premise. The room size is moderate with no particular outstanding window view. It has a restatuarant which serves a wide
variety of foods. The bar is open until 23Hr00 daily except on Sundays. The swimming pool is small and shallow. There is a well manicured garden and game breeding centre is just across the road. Security is moderate since the town is well policed with surveillance cameras mounted at strategic areas.

Room Tip: The East wing is better because it is away from the boardrooms areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is my favorite type of African hotel - beautiful gardens, huge rooms, friendly staff and the sprinklers click-cicking in the background. The rooms are large and quiet and the whole place has a spacious air to it, although the color choice (brown and bone) is a little muted.

The staff were friendly, everything worked (WiFi, cable TV, etc.) and they even packed us a hamper lunch to take to work. Don't let the fact that it's ageing a bit put you off. It's well maintained and the restaurant and service are good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, SA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We used this asa stop over heading to Botswana. It is a convenient location to get to Martinsdrift border post.
Arrangement of rooms is a little odd but they are spacious and clean. If you have any mobility issues, it is a short walk to the restaurant from the rooms, through a garden area.
Good food offerings for dinner, and breakfast was nice.
A decent hotel with good/ friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Protea Hotel The Park restored my faith in The Protea Hotel Group.
The room was spacious, clean and welcoming. The bathroom a pleasure to use

I will rate the staff as excellent. The Fire & Ice CT staff can really get some pointers of true excellent service from The Park's staff

I do not go much to Limpopo but after this stay I will make a special effort to visit them again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hradec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed just 1 night, but we enjoyed it a lot. The rooms are a bit worn out compared with the beautiful reception, but they are clean and very spacious. We enjoyed the swimming pool with the lovely garden.
The night was a bit trouble first because our neighbours were very noisy family, but after 2 calls the staff moved the people into another room.
The hotel was nearly empty and we got perfect price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel, Mokopane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel, Mokopane

Address: Corner Thabo Mbeki & Beitel Streets | PO Box 1551, Mokopane 0600, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel The Park)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Mokopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mokopane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel, Mokopane 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel - Modern comfort in the heart of the Limpopo Province. The Park Hotel is situated within the magnificent Waterberg Mountains in the Limpopo Province. Only a 2 hour and 30 minute drive north of Johannesburg along the N1. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Makopane and is an ideal getaway or overnight stay, for travellers en route from Johannesburg to Botswana, Zimbabwe or the Kruger National Park. Guests can relax and revel in the great natural beauty of the Limpopo province, with its rich wildlife and heritage that Mokopane has to offer. 3 Star accommodation offering spacious and comfortable en suite rooms, with every modern convenience that can be expected; satellite TV, airconditioning and tea/coffee making facilities. In addition The Park has 74 self-catering units with kitchenettes, making them ideal for long stay guests. Guests and residents of the hotel and in Mokopane can enjoy dining at the Terrace restaurant. The restaurant caters for inside and outside dining, it also includes a fully equipped bar and buffet style and service area. Set in a comfortable, modern and relaxed atmosphere; the Terrace also offers an a la Carte menu should visitors wish for an alternative dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Park Hotel, Mokopane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel, Mokopane South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel, Mokopane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.