We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel of HaMakuya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tshulu Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louis Trichardt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tshulu Camp
Save
You added Tshulu Camp to your Saves list
HaMakuya, Louis Trichardt 0973, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Jewel of HaMakuya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The background on my desktop shows a serene river flowing between red sandstone hills, a lush haven amidst the dusty savanna. This was the view from my tent at Tshulu Camp, where I was staying for a volunteer project. Every morning, I would wake up excited—despite the winter chill—to zip open my tent and admire the surroundings. HaMakuya is an amazing place, with stunning landscapes and kindhearted people, and it is best experienced through Tshulu Camp. Visitors can take nature walks or birding trips to enjoy the scenery, or they can participate in the fantastic homestay programme to learn about the Venda culture and lifestyle. A trip to Tshulu is an unforgettable way to experience rural South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here for 3 weeks as part of a volunteer group, UCDVO.

Conditions at the camp are great - safety, cleanliness, service, food and the views are sweet.

Don't even shop around for another camp / B&B because you'll miss out on a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed here for 4 weeks as part of a volunteer programme this summer. The staff make you feel at home, the views are beautiful (be sure to be in camp for sunset as much as possible) and the safari tents on stilts are very comfortable. The homestay organised by Tshulu is another highlight. A place you will never forget visiting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We went up to Tshulu in April for the Easter Weekend. Driving from Johannesburg it took about 8 hours, but it was well worth it. We managed to escape the rest of the hordes of people to find ourselves in a great part of the world and it was lovley and warm still!!!!. The camp itself isclean and tidy and well maintained by the very friendly and knowledgeable staff. There are some good walks in the area as well as game drives. Ive been told that the area is great for bird watching..but i never saw a thing as I was too busy relaxing. The kitchen was well stocked but take all your own food and wood/charcoal. The closet shop is a short distance away but it takes awhile to get there as the roads are slow.

Id recommend going with a group of 4 - 8 people so you can have the camp to yourselves and enjoy the bush with your friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I stayed at Tshulu Camp for a couple of nights in September 2009 after
my visit to northern Kruger National Park and I thought it deserves a
real good recommendation on TripAdvisor.

The location of Tshulu Camp is exquisite with all the rooms/tents
overlooking the Mutale River. Each room has its own en suite bathroom,
very comfortable beds and spacious deck from where one can enjoy the
view.

The camp is run on solar energy and an onsite borehole provides fresh
water. All staff are from the local Venda community and it shows that
they are excited to be working with Tshulu Camp and the various
community development projects of the Tshulu Trust.

I would recommend Tshulu Camp for anyone interested in a genuine
cultural experience as the camp staff organize visits to local Venda
communities. Overnight homestays can also be arranged upon request
where one spends the night with a local Venda family in their
traditional rondavels and learns about their daily activities. Such
visits give real insight into rural life in South Africa and add a
personal touch that is normally lost in many contrived cultural
tourist attractions elsewhere.

Tshulu Camp is also an excellent destination for academic groups,
nature enthusiasts, and bird-watchers in particular. I think it would
be ideal for yoga and meditation retreats, or sports and adventure
clubs. In any case, I am looking for any excuse to return to Hamakuya!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I just spent a week at Tshulu camp in rural Venda and enjoyed it immensely. The diversity of trees and birdlife is truly astonishing. Set along the edge of a magnificent gorge with great views of the Mutale river, this is a nature lovers paradise. The TshiVenda people are very hospitable and friendly and the camp is well run. I believe that this is among one of the best ecotourism destinations in Southern Africa

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This camp is one of the most relaxing, beautiful and soothing locations I have ever had the fortune to stay at. I was with a large group of students and staff, and we were all accomodated far beyond our expectations. The staff are heartwarmingly friendly and down to earth, and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is trouble free - but without being intrusive. The location is just beyond words. With luxurious safari tent houses on steep stilts overlooking a meandering river valley, with natural tree's, plants and animals inhabiting the valley. The linen and condition of the rooms is on par with world class facilities - but still remain rustic enough that you don't feel overly pampered. To try and describe the sense of calm and peace that descends on your soul when you wake up to the gentle sounds of the local cattle bells and walk out onto your wooden deck overlooking a scene of morning beauty that is so intense you feel completely at ease would be futile. I cannot recommend this destination more, go, experience it, and leave feeling like you've found the soul that you'd forgotten you had!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tshulu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshulu Camp

Address: HaMakuya, Louis Trichardt 0973, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Louis Trichardt
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Louis Trichardt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remote, peaceful tented camp on the banks of the Mutale River, deep in rural Venda. Accommodation consists of spacious tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and plenty of hot running water. A well-equipped, gas-powered kitchen opens out onto a central area for eating and relaxing. Full catering is available on request. Solar power provides light and to charge small appliances. Great views, lovely walks and excellent birding. One hour from Kruger National Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tshulu Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.