We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   R 522 Louis trichardt - Vivo | Plot 17, Louis Trichardt 920, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“business trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The road to the lodge is horrendous and no Vodacom signal at all. So not an ideal place for a business trip. Apart from this the view is beautiful. Rooms are clean. Would be nice to have peaceful sleep in the rooms as mosquitos are everywhere. Breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: The road to the lodge is horrendous and no Vodacom signal at all. So not an ideal place for a busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We originally planned to camp here in a tent, however we arrived in the rain and it rained for the next 2 days. Luckily there was a vacancy for a self-catering cottage. We had an adorable little room, cleverly arranged to give a partitioned bedroom, kitchen and sitting area, with an outside verandah and braai. It was amazingly well equipped, everything you could possible need. Despite the weather we really enjoyed our stay here. Although we mostly self-catered as we had all our camping provisions with us, we had a lovely dinner at the Farmhouse. We fell in love with so much of the locally made craftwork it was difficult to decide what we would buy to bring home. If we go back to this area on another trip we will certainly go back here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

After spending one horrible night at the Mountain View in Louis Trichardt, we called Marcelle and she was very helpful and found us (couple + 8 year old + puppy dog) a nice / clean / colorful room.
When we arrived there it was just beautiful, very quiet and the food made by Percy was just delicious.
We decided to extend our stay to fully enjoy the relaxing lodge surrounded by the mountains. On our second night we moved to the wooden house. Very nice as well is a personal Braai area. No AC but we managed by opening all the windows (just be careful of the mosquitos). There is also a fire place in the house for winter.
We highly recommend this place. We had a great time, bought some of the local arts and will definitely come back.

Thank you Marcelle and Percy for the wonderful stay.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all.

Maud, Gerhard, Duane and Uno.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I enjoy it extremely people and everything was marvelous and I felt very welcomed and relaxed so I would really recommend it to friends, family and colleagues .I really saying thank you and see u next time again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Easy to reach, lovely diners and breakfast @ the lodge. Warm hospitality by the local people and owner. Very big rooms, clean and lots of privacy.
Enjoyed the tour with Mosa very much!!! The support for the local projects is one to be proud off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Yet another adventure en route to Botswana. As always received with warmth and graciousness by Marcelle and her team. Percy, the chef , in great voice and food delicious as well. Very comfortable all round. Our overseas friends loved the arts and crafts. We really will have to plan for a few nights to relax and fully enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked Madi a Thavha as a convenient stop off en route from Joburg to Leshiba, and were overwhelmed by its level of comfort, everything new and to a high standard without being over the top, as well as the great sense of design in the gardens, the buildings and the interiors - especially considering much of it is a rebuilt farm. The setting is charming, down a quiet road, tucked into a cleft in the mountains. The walks are fairly short but with beautiful views and still a real bush feel. What a pleasant contrast to the fairly run down town of Louis Trichardt/Makhado ! The kids enjoyed the well built jungle gym, the pool and the extensive lawns, as well as the rich insect life. The staff are all lovely, the owners really committed to their development and that of the area, promoting and leading cultural and artistic tours of the area's rich heritage. Madi a Thavha is an ideal stop off, or a weekend visit, or a base for a longer stay exploring the region.

Room Tip: Our group was in room 1 (larger house a few minutes from the reception) and room 4, which despite b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge

Address: R 522 Louis trichardt - Vivo | Plot 17, Louis Trichardt 920, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Louis Trichardt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Louis Trichardt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madi a Thavha mountain lodge - get the feel of colourful, vibrant, rural Limpopo! Luxury suites and guest rooms splashed in rural hip and colour. Scrumptious fusion food and the best of local CraftArt in our gallery, shop, textile studio and on our village and rural lifestyle tours in Northern Limpopo. There are also exciting hiking, cycling and birding opportunities around the lodge. Madi a Thavha has a warm homey feel and our well-informed staff really bend over backwards to ensure that guest have a real good time in the North. Madi a Thavha is popular for: • being different with our village tours and focus on culture, art & craft and sustainable development • our unusual and colourful interiors - rural hip fused with luxury, 4-star accommodation • being in the centre of a rich variety of culture, big game, birds and unique experiences in Northern Limpopo, • being a few hours away from the Kruger National Park, world heritage site of Mapungubwe, neighboring Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique • home cooked meals and sporting the Portfolio collections' 'chef's hat'. Without paying a penny more guests can sleep well knowing that Madi a Thavha is Fair Trade certified and respect human rights, cultures and environment with and on behalf of our guests. To see at the lodge: • our top notch Art & Culture centre displays the colourful history of the region • the finest art of Northern Limpopo to be seen in our Dancing Fish gallery. • Pop in to see what we are up to in our Textile & Design studio or workshops at the lodge • our CraftArt shop is stocked with unique products of the region To do here: Madi a Thavha offers a variety of guided cultural and lifestyle village tours. Fun activities for adults and children, hiking, cycling and birding can be done practically from your room or suite's doorstep too. Our pool is solar heated even if our winters are really mild. Where to find us: Madi a Thavha sits in a quiet valley of the Soutpansberg 10km west of Makhado/Louis Trichardt. It is only 5 hours' drive away from Johannesburg and our excellent location in the centre of the region's vibrant cultures and game reserves makes it a perfect base from which to explore the Soutpansberg and Limpopo valley, the legendary northern frontiers of South Africa. Madi a Thavha is a popular 'culture-stop-over' for guests travelling to the Kruger National Park, the world heritage site of Mapungubwe or the game lodges of the Thuli block in Botswana, the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe or even for adventurous travelers tackling the off-roads to Mozambique. What rural life in Limpopo really looks like: We offer guests the opportunity to engage with 'real' people, artists and crafters in their own studios or homesteads. Our deep involvement with social development and education in the north allow us to offer tailor made tours catering for various interests from art, craft and heritage to rural architecture and birding in these beautiful, unknown parts of Limpopo - an opportunity that international travellers and especially photographers, love to snatch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.