We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havasu Dunes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Havasu Dunes to your Saves list
Havasu Dunes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Lake Havasu Ave. South, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86406   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Lake Havasu City
Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed with a family of 4. Kids aged 2 & 4. They loved the pool! We stayed very close to the pool. Had a suite where we could make our own food. BBQ'd by the pool! Was quiet, clean & affordable. We would definetly stay again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Havasu Dunes. We were very impressed with the employees, always friendly & going out of their way to help. They had a Saturday a.m. breakfast get together to give us some information about the resort & things to do in the area. Lake Havasu is a big boating area. So if you're into boating, that's the place to be. We were there the weekend after Thanksgiving & it was busy, but then it died down. The snowbirds start coming back after the 1st of the year.
The resort is located just a few minutes drive from the London Bridge & major hub of the city. We found plenty of places to shop to get things we needed. I even had to go to the Emergency room on Sunday & the health facility there is very new. I received excellent care. The resort is about an hour drive from some things to see: Parker Dam & casino in Parker, Oatman, an old mining town with shops & live burros roaming the streets. I loved the old west atmosphere just about everywhere we went. We would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: We were rather lucky to have a corner unit right behind the office. It was very convenient. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newalla
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a week here beginning Labor Day weekend and had a great time. The units were clean and comfortable, the staff friendly. We had a unit in the back and had no problem with noise, even on a holiday weekend. The one bedroom units were a little small but perfectly okay for a couple. The pools were small, but at least while we were there, not at all crowded. Most of the time it was just us. Nice, clean grills were available by the pool. The only thing I would like to see change is not having to go to the office to check out a baking sheet. Some items I can understand having in the office but I would think that a baking sheet would be used enough to justify keeping them in the units. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I found this resort very comfortable and clean. I really enjoyed the Kitchenet and living room area. I would highly recommend staying here. It is far enough from the busy areas to be quiet, yet close enough to drive to anywhere in lake havasu within minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We traded our points at our home timeshare in Kissimmee Florida with this timeshare. We had never been to the southwest and flew into Vegas. After four days in Vegas, we drove past the Hoover Dam and onto Lake Havasu. We loved it the minute we got there. We had read the reviews and knew not to get the units closest to the road. The units are one story, w/covered parking underneath, southwest style apartment style versus a villa or hotel type accomodation. You did have to walk up one small flight of 8 steps. Not sure if there were ground units. We had two bedrooms, full kitchen and a patio w/2 chairs and a small table. The back of the unit opened up to the backside of the other row of units and the mountains in the background. We have included a few pictures of the scenery. The pool area had a jaccuzi, grill and a covered picnic area, which we used one evening to grill steaks out by the pool. There is also a small office area with a snack machine and acutally a sauna. We used it, it was nice. There was only one other couple there the same week we were, it was very quiet and relaxing. We took several day trips, found fun little bars and junk shops; and took an overnight trip to the Grand Canyon, through Route 66 and Oatman. Absolutely wonderful trip. We found the locals to be friendly and accomodating. It was a great trip. We are going back this year and staying at a TimeShare in Vegas. But I would stay here again for sure. We loved it.

Room Tip: If you stay in the units closest to the highway, you could find the traffic distrubing because on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A little back-story--we wanted to not have to fly this year to exchange our timeshare. We wanted heat and water. The available inventory with Interval International leaves a lot to be desired. We exchanged a high season (January) rental from Avon, Colorado--a nice new Sheraton resort with tile/marble, etc. in kitchen and bath and new appliances. We wanted to upgrade from 1BR to 2BR--were told they were sold out. After we were there a few days, it was apparent that they were at about 20% capacity, max. We saw few cars, had no neighbors luckily, and generally had free reign of the pools/bbq, or one other family at most.

Well, this place was the same size (had a king and a fold out double couch for the kids). But, the kitchen/ bath and general appearance were circa 1980s--not even a close comparison to the Sheraton vacation rentals we've seen. Functional but definitely desiring a remodel. The room didn't have a great clean, they came to redo the vacuuming, my wife did a good scrub on the counters before daring to use. One TV was new, one was old. The pools were small but clean and usable, hot tub was clean and nice. The BBQs were easy to use and cleaned for us after our repeated use. Staff were extremely courteous/helpful. Laundry room was clean and easy to use. Fitness center? Not on site--they have an agreement with a club a couple miles away.

Lake Havasu city is best described as a red-neck riviera. They have heat (116 degrees when we where there) and the lake, but kind of a rough crowd. The waterfront by the London bridge was closed by 5pm or out of business altogether. No evening activity for the family around town. We hit all of the beaches, would recommend paying $10 for Windsor Beach. Most like an ocean front, except for the rocks in the water (might recommend water type shoes).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been going to Havasu Dunes for around 5 years now and have always been pleased with my visits. This last trip (June 22-24) was awesome! The beds were exceptionally soft and comfortable. We slept like babies after being on the lake all day. The kitchens had EVERYTHING and the rooms even had ceiling fans which is good for when the a/c can be too much. We always tell friends about Havasu Dunes; having lodged at several Lake Havasu area hotels I realize they have the best hotel around!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Havasu Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havasu Dunes

Address: 620 Lake Havasu Ave. South, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Lake Havasu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Havasu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Havasu Dunes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Havasu Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havasu Dunes Hotel Lake Havasu City
Havasu Dunes Lake City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havasu Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.