We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaspers prime rib” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks

Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks
42 Smoketree Ave S, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403-6703
928-846-4742
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lakeville, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jaspers prime rib”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were seated and then forgotten. Only about four other tables in the place occupied. Dad ordered the prime rib (he had prime rib from here last year and it was the best he ever had) however, this time the prime rib was full on grizzle and very tough to chew. Green beans were good along with the corn bread. I had the pulled pork sandwich, which was good. Waiter asked what we should do about dinner. We said at least half off, which is what we got. This prime rib dinner was inedible and the dinner should have been comped. Just left a bad taste of what little was eaten.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

37% Recommend
    4
    5
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“wanted to rate it higher”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here last year for breakfast, and liked it. Went for lunch this year, our waitress was friendly, the service was very good. Liked the iced tea and good tasting Coca Cola served in a big glass jar. I tried the tri-tip sandwich with cole slaw, the tri tip was excellent, cole slaw was just OK. Thought the price was a tad high at $11.95, we know that everyone is having trouble dealing with the cost of food these days. Hubby tried the fish fry with french fries. He found the cod to be tough, fries were fine. Think the price was $8.95, seemed resonable. Back to the tri tip, wish my plate had one more item on it for $11.95, maybe a few beans, or small salad or something.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, poor quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First let me say we arrived around 5:00pm on a Thursday evening, the restraurant was not busy and we were seated quickly, were given beverages fairly fast, the corn bread was great, and the waitress was very attentive but that's about where it ended. The food came out quickly, but we were not impressed with the flavor or quality of the food. The mixed vegetables were soggy and had obviousely been sitting around for a while. I ordered Baby backs and brisket . Not sure what it was, but I doubt that it brisket, It appeared to have been previously frozen, because it was tough, and very watery, and void of any flavor. I could not even improve the flavor by adding the container of sauce provided. The baby backs were dry, dry, dry.
Sorry to say we have eaten in many restaurants both in Havasu and all across the United States, and this is one place we will definately not be returning to. There are just too many other great places to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
1 review
“'Front-of-house' needs work...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Christmas dinner, 2012: My advice, never settle for a seat near the front doors (so cold it was uncomfortable), always ask for a towel to put under your plate (food got cold in less than 3 minutes), always thank the server, it's poor management that should take the heat for our poor customer experience. The food was Great (until it got cold). The 'back-of-the-house' REALLY knows how to cook!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank You for visiting Jaspers were glad you came. We are sorry that you were seated in an area that was cold. We were experencing a problem with our make up air handler and it was causing cold air be be sucked in to the dining room causing a couple of cold spots we have since repaired the unit and that problem does not exist any longer. I would like to here from you I am concerned. Did you ask to be moved to another table and we did not accomidate you ?. Oh and by the way It was myself and my staff cooking in the kitchen. Please call the restaurant and ask for me so we can discuss your review. Once again Thank You for Visiting Jaspers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Today as we were taking a break from finishing up making Christmas presents we went to Jaspers for lunch. Tri tip and fresh green beans. The tri tip was so tender and seasoned perfectly and delicious, The green beans were so delicious and very freshm bacon and onions we just the perfect accent and the salad was fresh, full of all the good stuff.. Ate the whole thing. And what can I say, Allen was so much fun as our bartender and server. Dave is a great owner and great interaction. Kudos to the rest of the staff today as they were not to busy to say 'Hi and converse" We have some great holiday memories and we all had a great time.
What a chef they have. She is faboulous and just waiting for her home made noodles and chicken soup..
Yes we are going back..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.