We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elandela Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mostly enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We did enjoy our stay at Elandela. We had room number 1 with the four poster bed which was
very pretty. However, it was very dark and gloomy inside (although I am told they are going to rectify this with new lights). The waiting and cleaning staff were excellent and all very friendly.
However, we felt the owners were aloof and not very caring. My husband fell into the swimming pool on the first night because he could not see it and thought it was grass as the area is badly lit and when we spoke about it next morning the owner did not seem concerned and she walked away! A simple white painted line on the steps and around the pool would probably solve the problem.
Carina is a Jewel in the Crown a wonderful young woman, very knowledgable and helpful in all aspects of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she made our stay. .Thank you Carina. The food was good although several of the meat dishes had tough meat, maybe we were just unlucky! We were never hungry. The lodge is in a wonderful spot and we were fortunate to see the lovely animals including leopard and, of course, the white lions. With just a little more effort from the owners they could have an excellent rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

In November we flew to Cape Town for a 4 night stay (a repeat visit to the water front) and this was followed by a 3 night stay at Elandela Private Game reserve and Luxury Lodge. I have "done" the game experience before but it was a first for my husband and I was extremely anxious that he enjoyed the experience as I intend to return time and time again. What an experience it was - an amazing singing welcome from all the staff coupled with a very warm introduction to the Lodge from the owner Rocco Gioia. Starting with a very important part of any holiday for us - food! Wow, wow, wow. From an amazing 4 course breakfast to fabulous evening dining with every dish described in detail by the lovely chef. The final eveing was a B-B-Q in the Boma - a magical experience that I find hard to adequately describe. Accommodation was lovely I will never forget the first morning opening the door to be greeted by 3 Zebra grazing on the lawn. The rooms are very elegant and comfortable. The game drives were brilliant with Carina our guide an absolute joy. So patient with some very silly questions and nothing was too much trouble. Her wealth of knowledge made the game drives an absolute pleasure. Her flexible approach to what the guests wanted from the drive was most refreshing. Elandela is home to White Lions and we were very lucky to see 2 young boys but there is such a variety of animals to see you cannot be disappointed with anything. One highlight was going with Carina to the feeding of Rocky the baby orphaned Rhino. His is such a story and can be found online as he made headlines with his eye operations. Away from the animals the atmosphere is one of sheer relaxation with nothing being too much troublr for any of the staff. Our only criticism of the whole experience is that is wasn't long enough. We are hoping to go back soon, yes we, thanks to all at Elandela my husband can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nobody can visit South Afrifica without visiting The Kruger National Park. A huge protected area where wild african animals live free. If you want to have this unique experience in life better have your relax moments in a wonderful Lodge. Elandela! It's a typical colonial lodge with a few numbers of rooms for customers who wanna try the old and typical atmosphere when pioneers started to live in Africa. The compund in composed by a main body with reception, restaurant and a relax room. Outside a little pool complete the opera. Close to this part of the lodge there are six/eigth (not more) rooms and all the hotel smell of colonial atmosfhere. In front of there's a small lake where animals came day and night for drinking. Precious woods and care in the particulars give you the most beautiful sensations of Africa. All around the lodge there's a private game reserve where live a lots of wild anilmals that you can see during the daily Safari tours organized by the property. On board of powerfull off roads drived by experts rangers you visit the beautiful places of the reserve, watching and taking pictures of rinos, hippos, monkeys, Impala, waterbacks, birds, trees and more. Special mention about the area dedicated to the White Lions, very hard to find away or the huge 2000's years Baobab resting in a corner of the reserve. The Restaurant Chef and his staff prepare for the guests a different and superb thematic dinner each day, waiting for the night of the......Brai!! The typical African BBQ. Superb also the list of wins and fine spirits. Many care in choosing them. Nothing of common or ordinary. I spent three days there and all was perfect and wonderful. Great experience. Not to be missed!!!!
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Elandela is hardly busy to preserve particularly Rinos wich in this moment are the main targets of illegal hunting. We thank the property and all the staff for their daily work. Rino's belong to all of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We visited Elandela private game reserve last week! Awesome, superb,luxurious, i can go on and on. Lat week my in laws had a second honeymoon and we went with! They were so impressed they have decided to go back every year! Our guide Arno was amazing.We had a close and personal encounter with their white lions! what an experience! We got to feed the baby rhinos with their "bottle". The food we ate was 1st class!!!! Really i would say if you have not been to this lodge, you will have missed the opportunity of a lifetime!!!Everything is in my opinion 5 star quality, the rooms, the staff, the game drive, and of course Rocco and Yvonne!!! Thank you guys, you are awesome, and your establishment is the best i have ever been to! My highlight was the pic-nics in the bush!!!! awesome!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is suitable, all rooms are surrounded by the tranquil sounds of nature!! No noise of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having recently returned from a 3 night stay at Elandela Lodge, we have had the most amazing time. This place is absolute perfection. The moment we arrived Yvonne made us both feel so welcome. Rocco took us to meet the beautiful Rocky and Clover baby Rhino's and that was us both hooked! The accommodation pure luxury. The staff are fantastic, the guides are so knowledgeable about the animals; Karina, thankyou for everything. We can not think of a bad word to say about this place. The only down side to this trip was that it didnt last longer.
Yvonne & Rocco thankyou for the most fantastic time - Kerry & Rachel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to South Africa which included a 3 night stay at Elendela Lodge.
We were greeted by Rocco the owner and driven to the lodge where these African smiles burst into song and a welcoming drink. The lodge is amazing and the rooms are definitely luxurious. The food is outstanding so well done to the chef. They are dedicated to their animals especially the Rhino and White Lion which are doing really well. Their driving staff are so passionate and we had such good drives with them. We have so many photos and memories but one thing my husband said on the day we left "this lodge is quality rather than quantity" and the owners Yvonne & Rocco were speechless. Thank you to you both and your amazing staff for such a wonderful time and we wish you all the best for the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneGioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for putting your summary of your Elandela Experience into words! We appreciate your positive appraisal of your safari with us but the tears in your eyes upon your departure were really what made your visit special to us! We will pass your well wishes on to everybody here - also your promise to return for a repeat Elandela Experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a magical place with the most wonderful staff.
The lodge is atmospheric and comfortable overlooking its own watering hole and there is the warmest welcome from the staff on arrival. We felt relaxed and regenerated at the end of our time here and will dream of it for a long time to come. We would go back tomorrow if we could.
Wonderful variety of animals to see on the twice daily game drives and don't miss the night drive for a different view (the night sounds are wonderful). The passion for the animals and their surroundings shone through and great efforts were made to help us see "the big 5" and plenty more beside! We are home with hundreds of marvellous photos - make sure you take a camera with a decent zoom for really good photos.
We fully intend to return in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely opening onto a verandah looking over the lawn to the watering hole. Beds comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel
Address: Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 137 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed 4-star Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park. We are perfectly located, on the bank of the Klaserie River, to appreciate the spectacular sunset views of the Blyderiver Canyon and Drakensberg mountains! This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wildlife and birdlife from as close as you care to go during your Game Drives and Walking Safaris on our reserve! The Elandela Private Reserve iniatiatives to reintroduce White Lions back into the area from whence all White Lions originate, as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allows our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. These opportunities to approach wild animals, the purpose designed rooms and huge lawns confirm our child friendly reputation! Our guests become our friends and feel at home because of the intimate and warm ambiance Elandela is famous for! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elandela Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elandela Private Game Reserve to your Saves list