We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Heaven"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elandela Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Heaven"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to South Africa which included a 3 night stay at Elendela Lodge.
We were greeted by Rocco the owner and driven to the lodge where these African smiles burst into song and a welcoming drink. The lodge is amazing and the rooms are definitely luxurious. The food is outstanding so well done to the chef. They are dedicated to their animals especially the Rhino and White Lion which are doing really well. Their driving staff are so passionate and we had such good drives with them. We have so many photos and memories but one thing my husband said on the day we left "this lodge is quality rather than quantity" and the owners Yvonne & Rocco were speechless. Thank you to you both and your amazing staff for such a wonderful time and we wish you all the best for the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneGioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for putting your summary of your Elandela Experience into words! We appreciate your positive appraisal of your safari with us but the tears in your eyes upon your departure were really what made your visit special to us! We will pass your well wishes on to everybody here - also your promise to return for a repeat Elandela Experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a magical place with the most wonderful staff.
The lodge is atmospheric and comfortable overlooking its own watering hole and there is the warmest welcome from the staff on arrival. We felt relaxed and regenerated at the end of our time here and will dream of it for a long time to come. We would go back tomorrow if we could.
Wonderful variety of animals to see on the twice daily game drives and don't miss the night drive for a different view (the night sounds are wonderful). The passion for the animals and their surroundings shone through and great efforts were made to help us see "the big 5" and plenty more beside! We are home with hundreds of marvellous photos - make sure you take a camera with a decent zoom for really good photos.
We fully intend to return in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely opening onto a verandah looking over the lawn to the watering hole. Beds comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Overall excellent. Service very good staff, sweet and eager to please great chef and Karina the relatively new guide was very good and will go from strength to strength as will this lovely resort. Karina did her best to ensure we saw as many animals and we achieved the big five.
They have a project on white lions who were amazing to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came by Elandela fortuitously booking a late package to RSA, so had no real expectation.
From arrival Elandela more than impressed.
The setting was breathtaking the rooms well appointed and as described - luxurious.
The service was friendly and impeccable - the classic African smiles met every request.
i'm not sure how Andrew managed to create such gourmet dishes quite so far from 'civilisation' but they kept coming!
If this is 4 star I am not quite sure what the 5th one could be for...
Then there was the reason for going - the game!
5000 Hectares of bush and just one open sided vehicle roaming through it.
We were lucky and saw the White lions, a leopard and a Secretary Bird (twice); but the breathtaking beauty was just being in the bush, especially the walking safari!
I can't imagine how this could be bettered, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Where do I start, from being picked up by Coleman our guide at the airport in an open jeep. To entering the lodge & driving straight into Zebras, Giraffes,Rhinos,Impalas saying hello to the hippos & crocs in the lake & many other wildlife. We were gob smacked. Greeted by all the staff & owner with drum playing & singing & welcome shooters. The personalized attention we had here was the best by miles to all the other places we stayed in South Africa & Africa on our travels. Our guides Coleman & Corina were fantastic nothing was to much & so knowledgeable on all the animals & wildlife they truly went out of their way to make sure we were safe but had a fantastic & memorable experience. All the staff at the lodge & owners were awesome & very very friendly & accommodating they could not of done more for us. The food was out of this world it was the very best in dinning we ever had on our whole holiday. The one on one attention was great. We were lucky to have the whole lodge to ourselves for 3 out of the 5days we stayed & were always spoiled rotten. They don't have elephants but we had a free half day tour to Kruger Park & was very lucky to see them there, but Kruger we found boring compared to Elandela Lodge. At the lodge you get really close to all the animals so our pictures are like national geographic ones. The baby rhinos are beautiful & the white lions are truly breath taking. Going to sleep & waking up listening to the lions was so-real.Words cant describe how incredible this place is you just have to go. As far as some comments on the drinks being to expensive we found it to be very affordable & we had a family of 5. Getting your laundry done I found a little expensive but with the water being so scares I didn't mind paying the prices it is understandable. On a whole our stay at Elandela was the highlight of our whole trip, our kids will never forget it & neither will we. It is rated as a 4 Star Lodge I think they truley deserve to be rated as 5 Star. Thanking to all the staff & owners of Elandale for making or holiday a memorable experience one we will cherish for ever & if we are lucky enough to come back to South Africa we will definitely stay at Elandela.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneGioia, Manager at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Our Passion here at Elandela is to share our amazing african sights and sounds with our Visitors and it is uplifting to all the Elandela Staff when they hear this goal of having our Guests enjoying themselves here with us is being achieved! Thanks, we enjoyed your visit as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place is beautiful!! I went there last january 2012 with my boyfriend and we had a great experience!
The hosts, Rocco and Yvonne were very very nice!
Also Coleman the safari man, very experienced and friendly!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

As a South African proud of the many game lodges I have visited, I am so ashamed at the cheap delivery experienced at Elandela Private Game Lodge. To start with the architecture and interior decoration are dark and frankly depressing.The public areas are dark and gloomy rather than sexily subdued.
The focus is on presentation, which, because of the cheap approach, misses its target. We were four either vegetarians or semi-vegetarians eating fish or chicken. Although the chef was honest enough to admit he did not know how to cook for us he made no effort to find out. He served the cheapest hake fish, dry, with dry vegetables. The bean soup was a bowl filled to the brim with beans and no soup ... UG! A tomato sauce was a tin of onion and tomatoes - could he not have made it from scratch? He kept saying. "Its very difficult and we are so far from everywhere." The Lodge is a 25 - 30 min drive from a major super market in the town of Hoedspruit. NO EFFORT WAS MADE. The rooms were not serviced properly. One couple were almost out of toilet paper, which was not replaced. A gentleman kept asking for shampoo, which never arrived. No face cloth was available. My bed was not made. The night chocolate left on the dresser was replaced on the bed. I arrived after a 6.5 hr journey and was not offered a piece of fruit or thirst quenching drink, only told that lunch would be served 1.5 hrs later. Because I was alone the proprietress tried to persuade me not to take the evening game drive for which I had paid. The lodge does not deserve the 4 star rating it currently enjoys. Game spotting is always a gamble - it was ok. The staff were well trained and performed like robots. Management staff were reasonable. Rating for this lodge 0. I am ashamed that visitors to SA leave unsuspecting that they have been flinched.

Room Tip: There is no privacy, atmosphere or bush feel about these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel
Address: Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 137 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed 4-star Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park. We are perfectly located, on the bank of the Klaserie River, to appreciate the spectacular sunset views of the Blyderiver Canyon and Drakensberg mountains! This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wildlife and birdlife from as close as you care to go during your Game Drives and Walking Safaris on our reserve! The Elandela Private Reserve iniatiatives to reintroduce White Lions back into the area from whence all White Lions originate, as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allows our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. These opportunities to approach wild animals, the purpose designed rooms and huge lawns confirm our child friendly reputation! Our guests become our friends and feel at home because of the intimate and warm ambiance Elandela is famous for! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elandela Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elandela Private Game Reserve to your Saves list