We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUXURY IN THE HEART OF THE BUSH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elandela Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Save
You added Elandela Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LUXURY IN THE HEART OF THE BUSH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

What an amazing place! You are treated like royalty!! The owners, the staff, all top notch! The game drive is exceptional, the animals we saw were amazing! The highlight for me was being able to touch and bottle feed the baby rhino!!! The room we had was tastefully decorated, it was surreal lying in bed, listening to the lions roar, it felt like they were outside the bedroom! We awoke to the sounds of baboons barking, we watched them playing in the trees from our patio! What more could you ask for! We saw the white lion lying about 5 metres away from the car! I wish i could've stayed longer!!! Thanks to Rocco and Yvonne for the experience of a lifetime, it was unforgettable and we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was ideal as we had 2 children with us had a good view of the morning babo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    17
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
77
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have visited a half dozen game reserves throughout Southern Africa and Elandela is the best in terms of comfort and service. The staff were very friendly and informative, especially Jacques and Coleman. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the grounds are immaculate and tasteful. The only drawback was small lunches. I burn a lot of calories in the heat, so I would like bigger meals.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Elandela in November 2011 and were treated as though we were special, all of the staff, bar none, were determined to make our stay there pleasant and enjoyable. During our stay my husband was feeling ill and genuine concern was shown to us both so that we did not feel as though we were a nuisance. Although our stay was short we will remember it forever.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at Elandela Lodge in mid December.Our stay was fantastic in every way.Rocco and Yvonne picked us up and our guides Jaques and Juan were great.The staff at Elandela made us feel completely at home.Thank you Rocco and Yvonne for your hospitality.Reval and Cristina

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Unfortunately the time we sepent at Elandela was far too short. I have spent three days as Elandela. Fortunately my sister, one of my best freinds and me were the only guests at the Lodge and that was something absolutely special. Elandela is a privately owned Game Reserve just outside Kruger National Park and it was the best experince I have ever made. The staff ist extremely friendly and the knowledge of the Rangers was impressive. I would always prefer a private game reserve as we got to discover the African Wildlife a different way. Getting to know the owners and being so close to Roccy (a little rhino whos mother was shot because of her horn) and the rare white lions was so special to us. Over all it was an extremely awsome time we had and we would like to go back. There is not enough space to describe everything just go and see it yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We chose the small game reserve in order to enjoy nature in a private and comfortable setting. We were treated to both. Our rooms were in the superior section, and they were large and comfortable, overlooking a beautiful gorge. There were never more than 9 people on our drives. The guides and staff were extremely vigilant about our safety around dangerous animals. We got to enjoy the company of Rocky, the baby rhino, who was cared for by one of the staff. They were careful to watch him but allowed us to get close. We went on 2 drives a day. Since we were there for 5 days,we saw many birds, animals (including the illusive leopard) and plants that one might not have seen on a shorter stay. Jacques planned our drives so that we could learn something new each day. There are no elephants at Elandela so they include a half-day at Kruger. Since 5 days were maybe one day too many at one reserve, we took a full day tour of the Panoramic Route. Even though I thought it was too expensive, the scenery was breathtaking, and I am glad that we got to do that. We loved our safari guide, Coleman. He did great interpretations of bird sounds, and he was warm, funny and knowledgeable. The staff, especialy Sipwe, Precious and Luckie, could not do enough, and they always had warm smiles. If I have one complaint, it is that they charge for all drinks, except coffee and tea. The wines were extremely expensive. I would have been much more comfortable with the cost of water, juice and sodas built into the price rather then be charged for each drink. Their explanation of their cost didn't make sense when we could buy the same beverages for much much less in town and good South African wines are very inexpensive. Other than that, we were extremely happy campers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

When considering a safari vacation, the best advice I can give is to chose a small resort. The less people the more personal the experience. We were fortunate to be the only guests at Elandela Private Game Reserve, which only accommodates up to 16 or 20 guests, when we visited. We were treated like friends and afforded rare experiences that would never be possible at a large resort. We were invited to go on a giraffe capture and visit with their baby rino "Rocky", who had just returned from the rehabilitation center after enduring the poaching of his mother. The owners, Yvonne and Rocco, were beyond cordial and accommodating. The staff were fabulous and the resort was great. The field guides, Jacques and Cameron, were extremely knowledgeable and genuinely friendly. We were lucky to have them to ourselves during our stay to go on the safari excursions. The animals, of course, were magnificent and we had the rare opportunity to see the white lions after a kill. The owners truly respect and care for the animals. There are no TVs in the rooms (only in the lounge area) so bring something to read, but your days are quite full with the safaris. This is a great choice for a safari at Kruger National Park. Thanks to everyone there for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Address: Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elandela Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed 4-star Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park. We are perfectly located, on the bank of the Klaserie River, to appreciate the spectacular sunset views of the Blyderiver Canyon and Drakensberg mountains! This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wildlife and birdlife from as close as you care to go during your Game Drives and Walking Safaris on our reserve! The Elandela Private Reserve iniatiatives to reintroduce White Lions back into the area from whence all White Lions originate, as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allows our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. These opportunities to approach wild animals, the purpose designed rooms and huge lawns confirm our child friendly reputation! Our guests become our friends and feel at home because of the intimate and warm ambiance Elandela is famous for! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elandela Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.