We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elandela Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Save
You added Elandela Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at Elandela Lodge in mid December.Our stay was fantastic in every way.Rocco and Yvonne picked us up and our guides Jaques and Juan were great.The staff at Elandela made us feel completely at home.Thank you Rocco and Yvonne for your hospitality.Reval and Cristina

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    19
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
83
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Unfortunately the time we sepent at Elandela was far too short. I have spent three days as Elandela. Fortunately my sister, one of my best freinds and me were the only guests at the Lodge and that was something absolutely special. Elandela is a privately owned Game Reserve just outside Kruger National Park and it was the best experince I have ever made. The staff ist extremely friendly and the knowledge of the Rangers was impressive. I would always prefer a private game reserve as we got to discover the African Wildlife a different way. Getting to know the owners and being so close to Roccy (a little rhino whos mother was shot because of her horn) and the rare white lions was so special to us. Over all it was an extremely awsome time we had and we would like to go back. There is not enough space to describe everything just go and see it yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We chose the small game reserve in order to enjoy nature in a private and comfortable setting. We were treated to both. Our rooms were in the superior section, and they were large and comfortable, overlooking a beautiful gorge. There were never more than 9 people on our drives. The guides and staff were extremely vigilant about our safety around dangerous animals. We got to enjoy the company of Rocky, the baby rhino, who was cared for by one of the staff. They were careful to watch him but allowed us to get close. We went on 2 drives a day. Since we were there for 5 days,we saw many birds, animals (including the illusive leopard) and plants that one might not have seen on a shorter stay. Jacques planned our drives so that we could learn something new each day. There are no elephants at Elandela so they include a half-day at Kruger. Since 5 days were maybe one day too many at one reserve, we took a full day tour of the Panoramic Route. Even though I thought it was too expensive, the scenery was breathtaking, and I am glad that we got to do that. We loved our safari guide, Coleman. He did great interpretations of bird sounds, and he was warm, funny and knowledgeable. The staff, especialy Sipwe, Precious and Luckie, could not do enough, and they always had warm smiles. If I have one complaint, it is that they charge for all drinks, except coffee and tea. The wines were extremely expensive. I would have been much more comfortable with the cost of water, juice and sodas built into the price rather then be charged for each drink. Their explanation of their cost didn't make sense when we could buy the same beverages for much much less in town and good South African wines are very inexpensive. Other than that, we were extremely happy campers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

When considering a safari vacation, the best advice I can give is to chose a small resort. The less people the more personal the experience. We were fortunate to be the only guests at Elandela Private Game Reserve, which only accommodates up to 16 or 20 guests, when we visited. We were treated like friends and afforded rare experiences that would never be possible at a large resort. We were invited to go on a giraffe capture and visit with their baby rino "Rocky", who had just returned from the rehabilitation center after enduring the poaching of his mother. The owners, Yvonne and Rocco, were beyond cordial and accommodating. The staff were fabulous and the resort was great. The field guides, Jacques and Cameron, were extremely knowledgeable and genuinely friendly. We were lucky to have them to ourselves during our stay to go on the safari excursions. The animals, of course, were magnificent and we had the rare opportunity to see the white lions after a kill. The owners truly respect and care for the animals. There are no TVs in the rooms (only in the lounge area) so bring something to read, but your days are quite full with the safaris. This is a great choice for a safari at Kruger National Park. Thanks to everyone there for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

A wonderful lodge led by wonderful people situated in a picturesque nature! Throughout our complete stay in this beautiful lodge we enjoyed every single moment and felt more like friends than guests! From our arrival on, the complete staff was more than friendly, polite and attentive and made us feel like home and comfortable. The rooms as well as the complete environment of the lodge are appointed lovingly and personally surrounded by a fascinating and unique nature! All game drives were guided by professional and capable rangers, who made us learn and love this beautiful country with all its variety - both nature and wild live. The best way to experience South Africa! Absolutely loved this place and need to come back! Special thanks to Licky, Coleman and Jacques!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

From the moment we met our guide Jacques at the airport, we were made feel special. Jacques and the rest of the staff at the lodge made sure our visit was memorable. Great game drives with a chance to see the "Big 5", delicious food and drink. Nothing better than to hear the dawn chorus of the Guinea Fowl or the roar of the white lion as we set upon our morning game drive. Have become quite partial to Amarello now which we were greeted with upon our return from the afternoon game drive. Only wish we had more time to enjoy the peacefulness of the lodge so next time- one week!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We loved all days spent in South Africa in April 2011, especially the safaris. On the second day, we could see white lions's family, two cheetahs and a hiena, besides the elephants, gifaras and buffalos. It was really fantastic!!! And in Elandela Lodge, people are very attentious and hospitable!!! At last day, We had a romantic dinner around a campfire. All wonderful!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Address: Elandela Private Game Lodge, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elandela Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed, 4-star graded, Private Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park.This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wild life and bird life from as close as you care to go during your Game Drives and Walking Safaris on our huge reserve! Very Private Elandela Game Reserve has no incursions from other game drive vehicles and this makes for undisturbed game viewing! The Elandela free roaming White Lion prides - in the area from whence all White Lions originate - as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allow our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. Elandela is fast becoming famous for incredibly relaxed Leopard sightings! Elandela Lodge is sculptured on the game rich banks of the Klaserie River and offers spectacular sunset views of the nearby Blyde River Canyon! Our 20 different rooms cater for all different tastes, demands and pockets. The purpose designed River View Family Rooms and huge lawns confirm our child friendly reputation! For the discerning visitor Elandela Lodge offers immaculate and luxurious Presidential Suites with five star quality and comfort. The Deluxe suites are priced in between but all rooms receive the same warm, friendly, Elandela service! The mouthwatering fine dining cuisine and traditional Boma barbecues are prepared from the freshest local in-season produce! Included in your stay of two days or longer is one free afternoon visit to adjacent world famous Kruger National Park. Elandela Lodge is the right choice for those visitors who have game viewing and a love for nature as deciding importance - and then of course there is our drive to offer a better service in superior surroundings at a most competitive price! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elandela Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.