We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view @ Olifants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
Save
You added Olifants Rest Camp to your Saves list
83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning view @ Olifants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been visiting the Kruger National Park for many years. Olifants is still my favorate camp. The scenery is stunning @ the staff quite helpfull. The accomodation is so so & the on site restaurant sub standard. If you are traveling from abroad this camp should be on your list! (Due to the scenery)

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although I have been to Kruger national Park many times before. This was a first to stay at Olifants Rest Camp. The lady at reception on check in was very polite and most informative. We stayed in chalet 18, with two bedrooms each with two single beds. The bathroom was a seperate unit between the bedrooms with a seperate toilet, which we did appreciate!! The kitchen area was outside on the balcony with plenty of space to sit and relax. The view of the Olifants River was magnificent and the birdlife was great. We will definately go back and enjoy this piece of paradise

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally312633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Can you imagine: having diner viewing the most mysterious river running through the Kruger Park? Very nice staff, clean lodge. We took the Night Game Drive and saw Hippo's and Hyiena's fighting for a peace of Impala.

Room Tip: Please check whether your airco is working. We needed to change lodge because ours didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in three camps in Kruger and this was our favourite. The views are amazing and the accomodation is more than adequate. Sitting on the veranda on very comfy sofa watching the views and listening to the sounds of Africa was brilliant. Beds amazingly comfortable and our ranger Patrick was the most knowlegable ranger we have ever had on out 6 trips to the African continent. And seeing Bushbaby whilst having dinner was an experience. if you are self catering be warned the facilities are quite basic but the restaurant is ok. Kitchen on the veranda was a novel experience.

Room Tip: Try and get accomodation overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

So many places to choose from! It's difficult to choose a camp in Kruger - there are so many choices! First I would say make a list of what is important to you. For us, that list would include: less people, beautiful natural landscapes readily viewable, clean accomodation, remote but not TOO remote.

Olifants met the criteria! Some people knock it as being too far or lackluster in terms of nearby animals but I thought it was great. It's up on a hill over the Olifants river so you don't have to worry about flooding (which WAS an issue for other nearby camps). It's a bit further north in Kruger so not as many people are up there which is a plus for us. Past Satara the traffic and people significantly decrease which we appreciated.

The hut itself was awesome! We got a perimeter hut (this is a must!) which means it had a view of the river AND the rushing waters of the river soothed us to sleep at night. The huts have air conditioning (modern ones too) which is great, kitchenette with just enough to get you by, great new shower/bathroom etc. The only complaint is that there are few knicks here and there that could be touched up quite easily. Just some more routing maintenance would make this a 4 star accomodation.

We loved sitting on our little patio for dinner or in the morning, watching the river, and relaxing.

As for wildlife - just 1.5 km from the entrance to Olifants we saw a pack of 5 Lions!!! Twice! And they were just walking on the road! And then we saw a small herd of elephants - about 10 of them including a juvenile and a baby who was nursing. All within 1.5 km of where we were sleeping. And the road up to Olifants from Satara has a ton of diversity - crocodiles by the bridge, we saw a rhino, hippos, hyenas, etc. No shortage of animals. (We spent 2 nights here and saw EVERYTHING in that span of time).

We did not eat at the restaurant but opted to bring in our own food. The marketplace at Olifants is a bit smaller than Satara or Skukuza but still has a good variety. if you really want to stock up and have more to choose from I recommend stopping at Skukuza or Satara on your way up to Olifants.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a perimeter view bungalow. If you go onto the SAN Parks website and search for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdhdfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

NIce Camp in the middle of Kruger Park. We had a big hut with nive view over the river. Hut was fully equiped with kitchen and barbecue. The room was clean. The best of the hotel was the view from the restaurant over the river. The sunset was magical with hippos fighting, elefants crossing the river, girafs drinking... Amazing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Olifants was better than the two previous camps we stayed in (visited Jan 2013), the hut had a stunning view over the river (number 8, but 9 &12 are very good and if you are sharing 14). The hut like all of the parks is old fashioned and could do with a makeover, but it's adequate, AC worked, shower worked, clean, bed linen clean better stocked china, glass and cutlery than Skukuza and Pretoriaskop, but that's not saying much. Food in the restaurant was very unimaginative like all the other camps, but it was well cooked at least and the service was fine. We didn't see very much wildlife but that's the chance you take and we didn't take any tours as we were driving our own car around. This camp doesn't have a pool which is a shame but the shop was tidy and and good display of merchandise but almost exactly the same as all the other shops in the park - a bit boring. The temperature was over 40 degrees but there was no AC on in the restaurant only the fans and no food on the carvery or salad bar, they didn't appear to be used anymore. Like all the camps in the Krugar, they are not managed or maintained properly and are going downhill. A shame as in all other respects staying in the park is a unique and wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Huts 8,9,12 &14 are all very good and have a superb view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjksurrey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
68.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
94.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#78 of 155 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#80 of 155 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
42.1 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#84 of 155 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amukela Game Lodge
Amukela Game Lodge
#9 of 16 in Balule Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing