We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star With Some Reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
Save
You added Olifants Rest Camp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,991 reviews 1,991 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
815 helpful votes 815 helpful votes
“Four Star With Some Reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We first visited Kruger in 1998 thus it had been 15 years sine our last visit. The upkeep of the park has deteriorated, the food has just about reached rock bottom, however there have been significant increases in the estimated population of some of the animals. This in spite of the fact that poachers continue to enter the park and kill animals. This is an area that the government is keen on and we saw several rangers on their way to areas to check on poachers. There are also rewards posted throughout the park for apprehensions.

The cabins at Olifant are about the same as we found at the other park locations were we went or stayed. Upkeep is not all that good and some things did not work very well. For example the air conditioning struggles in many of the cabins and proceed only minimal air conditioning. Towels are about worn out and need to be replaced. I don't think we had a single cabin where there wasn't a leaking water faucet, pipe or commode. In several of the cabins the windows would not close as the catches were broken or just completely missing.

Go to the park with a feeling that you are camping and don't expect modern consciences and you will be just fine. Check in is sometimes a challenge as the clerks are real bureaucrats and want every line and box checked and they take their very slow time to check in each customer even though one has previously prepaid.

The real excitement though is in the animal sightings and around Olifant we saw it all from a Leopard kill to Lions and Hyenas sleeping in the road.This camp does not have near the traffic issues that one will encounter in the south and north of this camp the traffic is even better. Many of the day safaris come in at one of the south entrances and don't go a great distance as they must leave the park by closing time. Thus traffic is always an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    157
    87
    17
    8
See reviews for
86
211
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our Chevy Cruz rental was more than adequate for Kruger paved and dirt roads. The animals are wonderful, of course. Don't miss the huge Baobab. Our favourite camp was Oliphant, where we had a rondavel overlooking the river. From our outside kitchen, we watched an elephant, a hippo, and several antelope cross this magnificent river as the sun dipped toward the horizon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The perimeter cottages have an amazing view of the river, but you are exposed and high up. The wind really got up overnight so didnt get much rest as I thought the roof was going to take off. A less modern restcamp than Skukuza but still adequate. Restaurant had a good variety of mealy and a sofa area. Godd central location in the park. We were self driving in the park

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo, CA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been to Kruger many times but this was my 1st time at Olifants. It is one of the most peaceful camps in the park. The bird life in camp was great, and the view looking out over the Olifants river cannot be beat. We stayed two nights here as a group of 8. Some of the party stayed in bungalow 18 which has a large balcony over looking the river. We self catered and did not try the restaurant. We did book a bush braai and I have to say it was one of the highlights of our trip.

If you are planning a stay in the central part of Kruger then Olifants is a must!

Room Tip: Book a bungalow with a view of the river. It is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed one night in Olifant, we had booked a night drive and a morning mountain bike tour.
When we arrived, we got told that the mountain bike tour had been cancelled, the reception gave me someone on the phone that made up a suspicious explanation : he said the bikes were not in good condition, we could see the bikes, they looked fine, anyway, this could have been said earlier.

As you know, everything has to be booked early in Kruger park and we had done so. The Mopani camp had warned us early enough that one of the activities we had booked might be cancelled, and we were able to re-shuffle our trip.
Olifants just told us on the day, and there was no replacement available, which was not cool.
Also they didn't want to refund us by cash, but only by bank transfer, which gets charged when your credit card is not from South Africa.

So in the end we had to argue a lot and lost quite some time... but in the end we got a voucher and the staff was extremely nice to us afterwards.

Appart from that the camp is beautiful, the view is absolutely stunning and we had a great sleep in one of the bungalows. I do recommend a stop over in Olifants, but I don't recommend the mountain bike!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've just returned from a couple of weeks in South Africa. We've visited Kruger before and as well as staying in a couple of safari lodges we wanted to try the rest camps.

We spent one night in Olifants Rest Camp with our grown-up son and took a bungalow with 3 beds.

It was cramped with only a bedroom and shower room - maybe we should have selected a larger cottage. The bungalow was really in need of a bit of TC to put right wear-and-tear - but the beds were OK and linen clean. As we were only staying one night and moving on it was bearable - but I'd take more care about selecting a a larger cottage with a kitchen if they are available - otherwise I wouldnt stay at Olifants.

The view across the roiver gorge is spectacular - but we didn't see much in the way of animals in the hour or two we spent watching . But perhaps if we'd been there for longer something would have turned up - and maybe some of the cottages have a better view.

The food in the camp restaurant was not very good and quite overpriced and it didn't feel welcoming. We drove to Letaba Rest Camp for breakfast - this had a completely different feeling and I'd explore that in preference to Olifants.

Beware if you are self-catering that perhaps you need to take your own milk - the milk purchased from the shop was off and theres not an alternative source once you're there!

If you were self-catering and in a larger cottage maybe the camp would feel better but we would probably not return to this rest camp.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The view from the terrace overlooking the river is spectacular. The rooms are ok - nothing special; more or less clean but ok for one night. The view is worth the stay.
The restaurant is ok - we only had breakfast there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olifants Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olifants Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.