We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my new favorites in Kruger National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Nuevo, CA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of my new favorites in Kruger National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been to Kruger many times but this was my 1st time at Olifants. It is one of the most peaceful camps in the park. The bird life in camp was great, and the view looking out over the Olifants river cannot be beat. We stayed two nights here as a group of 8. Some of the party stayed in bungalow 18 which has a large balcony over looking the river. We self catered and did not try the restaurant. We did book a bush braai and I have to say it was one of the highlights of our trip.

If you are planning a stay in the central part of Kruger then Olifants is a must!

Room Tip: Book a bungalow with a view of the river. It is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    104
    64
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
155
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed one night in Olifant, we had booked a night drive and a morning mountain bike tour.
When we arrived, we got told that the mountain bike tour had been cancelled, the reception gave me someone on the phone that made up a suspicious explanation : he said the bikes were not in good condition, we could see the bikes, they looked fine, anyway, this could have been said earlier.

As you know, everything has to be booked early in Kruger park and we had done so. The Mopani camp had warned us early enough that one of the activities we had booked might be cancelled, and we were able to re-shuffle our trip.
Olifants just told us on the day, and there was no replacement available, which was not cool.
Also they didn't want to refund us by cash, but only by bank transfer, which gets charged when your credit card is not from South Africa.

So in the end we had to argue a lot and lost quite some time... but in the end we got a voucher and the staff was extremely nice to us afterwards.

Appart from that the camp is beautiful, the view is absolutely stunning and we had a great sleep in one of the bungalows. I do recommend a stop over in Olifants, but I don't recommend the mountain bike!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've just returned from a couple of weeks in South Africa. We've visited Kruger before and as well as staying in a couple of safari lodges we wanted to try the rest camps.

We spent one night in Olifants Rest Camp with our grown-up son and took a bungalow with 3 beds.

It was cramped with only a bedroom and shower room - maybe we should have selected a larger cottage. The bungalow was really in need of a bit of TC to put right wear-and-tear - but the beds were OK and linen clean. As we were only staying one night and moving on it was bearable - but I'd take more care about selecting a a larger cottage with a kitchen if they are available - otherwise I wouldnt stay at Olifants.

The view across the roiver gorge is spectacular - but we didn't see much in the way of animals in the hour or two we spent watching . But perhaps if we'd been there for longer something would have turned up - and maybe some of the cottages have a better view.

The food in the camp restaurant was not very good and quite overpriced and it didn't feel welcoming. We drove to Letaba Rest Camp for breakfast - this had a completely different feeling and I'd explore that in preference to Olifants.

Beware if you are self-catering that perhaps you need to take your own milk - the milk purchased from the shop was off and theres not an alternative source once you're there!

If you were self-catering and in a larger cottage maybe the camp would feel better but we would probably not return to this rest camp.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The view from the terrace overlooking the river is spectacular. The rooms are ok - nothing special; more or less clean but ok for one night. The view is worth the stay.
The restaurant is ok - we only had breakfast there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Olifants is a great little camp to stay for a night or two. The bungalows with booking code BG3U or BBD2V have spectacular views of the river.

If you want something really special, book the Nshawu Guest House. Brilliant views and lots of privacy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was rotten. The place was in a terrible state, dirty and just plain run down. The food was soooo expensive and due to the weather we had to eat in the restuarant. Dont know if we will be back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rondavel was nice, better than in the other restcamps. But as usual in Kruger, when you get a self-catering cabin, the kitchen facilities are really bad. They should really do something about that!
The view over the olifants river is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 140 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olifants Rest Camp 2*
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olifants Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olifants Rest Camp to your Saves list