We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average camp, but no remarks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pretoriuskop Restcamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pretoriuskop Restcamp
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Average camp, but no remarks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for only one night. The chalets are quite small, we could barely fit our bags in between the beds haha. Showers and bathrooms are nice enough (tip: shower during the night, you'll have a lot of entertainment from the geckos trying to catch moths) :D The restaurant was ok and the shop as well. Nothing wow but had a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    42
    52
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Pretoriuskop campsite. It is one of the first camps in Kruger, conveniently situated near the Numbi gate.
The chalets there were nice but a bit more worn down than in Lower Sabie or Satara. But as we used the different camps in Kruger just for sleeping - left the camp after the sunrise and arrived back just before the sunset - it really did not matter. The chalet had a bed, bathroom and a terrace and this was plenty.
The restaurant in Pretoriuskop was ok but the food was really good. We ordered some grilled meat and it was really well done (although it was medium-cooked :)). The meat was tender and very well spiced, the service was impeccable.
The only thing that made me rate the camp as average is the location. We were coming from Lower Sabie and having driven around that camp and on different roads from Lower Sabie to Skukuza, the game near Pretoriuskop is not as impressing. Large areas of the bush near the camp have been recently burned (in september 2013) and that probably has had its effects. We saw some interesting birds there but not many animals.
So I would probably not stay there again and go to Lower Sabie or Skukuza instead but from the lodging point of view there is really not much to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our first experience of San Parks. The rondavell was ok, pretty much what we expected. The staff were friendly and the food ok. (This was the start of our south to north journey through Kruger, so at this stage we were unaware of the limitations of the same menu practically everywhere). Our room had a view across grass, down to the pool. It seemed very popular with families. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our drives, seeing leopard and lots of black rhinos. We found this a good starting point for Kruger after an overnight flight from UK to Joburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our 2 days in Pretoriuskop weren’t planned, it just happened that way. We were actually camping in Pilgrims Rest and unfortunately had a whole lot of our gear nicked, so in a bit of a huff, we pulled out the map and had a quick look at what was close by and settled on 2 days in the Kruger. And I have to say that you can’t do a whole lot better as far as value goes, for ZAR200 (about USD20 or EUR17 at the time of writing this) we got a campsite for 2 of us for 2 nights, including electricity. When we checked in the staff were friendly and helpful, the campsite was clean, and as a bonus we got a spot next to the fence. The ablutions were also close by and in very good condition, and there was always hot water. As for the rest of the camp, they have a very nice pool, cleverly built incorporating a natural rock feature, with a lovely area around it to tan or read or just sit in the shade. The shop was well stocked and we ate in the restaurant one night, and though the service wasn’t fantastic, the food was good and the pricing was very reasonable. I can’t speak for the chalets as I didn’t stay in one, but I have no trouble recommending Pretoriuskop as a camp in the Kruger Park and I’ll definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in a family cottage which was a good size with plenty of room. The accommodation is fairly basic but does the job for a couple of nights. We ate in the restaurant which offers basic & pretty un-interesting food. I believe it’s the same as on offer in the other camps. At the end of the day the reason you stay here is to see Kruger and it’s a good location on the edge of the Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pretoriuskop was the first camp in the park, so it gives the person who enjoys the simpler things in life like camping and perhaps sharing ablutions, this camp gives that exciting bush experience. If you're looking for 5 star luxury, this camp perhaps is not for you. But if you can deal with the basics and deal with the less commercial aspect of the park like at Skukuza, then you're guaranteed to have a good experience.

Room Tip: Be careful, some of the basic huts do not have any utensils, so be prepared to bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We camped in our tent at this camp (which is 9km from the Numbi Gate) for 8 nights (with a power point) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The ablutions were clean, good toilet facilities and warm showers. The hot water on-tap in the communal kitchen areas were so convenient especially early morning and late evenings for that cup of tea or coffee. The campsite was kept clean and tidy, Theft and security was never an issue although we did lock our trailer when we weren't in camp - the biggest perpetrators were the vervet monkies! Some of our time was spent solely within the camp which was bliss. The birdlife is prolific and the pool area is fabulous - lots of trees which offer great shade and the pool (built within and around a huge rock) was beautiful - clean and also has plenty of toilet facilities. It is quite a large camp and we enjoyed strolling along the boundary of the camp early morning and late evening. The camp shop has most commodities and also a good range of gifts, books and dvds - bit pricey but to be expected. We did not make use of the restaurant facilities as we bought most of our food with us. Although this camp has no viewing deck over a dam/river or any view at all really, it is still a picturesque camp with a wonderful array of majestic and interesting trees. There are plenty of areas to sit on a bench, read a book and to observe the birds and insects and time to catch your breathe and to savour the silence! An interesting and different camp with excellent camping facilities. Real value for money as far as camping goes. Please note driving up from Nelspruit the sign to Numbi Gate is missing - so make sure you know exactly where the turnoff is - we didn't and had to get help from the locals - twice! and no don't ask.....we didn't use our gps.....

Room Tip: Camping close to the fence always more exciting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pretoriuskop Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pretoriuskop Restcamp

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 138 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Pretoriuskop Restcamp 2*
Also Known As:
Pretoriuskop Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pretoriuskop Restcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pretoriuskop Restcamp to your Saves list