We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lukimbi is a fantastic venue to view game” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lukimbi Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Save
You added Lukimbi Safari Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   North Cliff, Kruger National Park 2115, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lukimbi is a fantastic venue to view game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

This incredible setting provides the perfect venue to view game and relax. The game rangers were very knowledgable and we saw most of the big five very close up. The meals were very good and provided by very friendly staff. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
77
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Lukimbi provides the perfect setting for a relaxing bush holiday and, although we were only there for a week-end, we came home refreshed and reinvigorated!

The rooms are stunning with views over the river and the park beyond. As the camp is unfenced, it is possible to watch the animals coming to drink while you sit in the bath or enjoy the outdoor shower. The same is true of the inviting pool which gives welcomed relief after a game drive/ walk on a hot summer’s day.

The rangers, too, are amazing. We visited the park during one of the greenest times of the year and the dense bush made animal spotting difficult. However, the vast knowledge of the rangers and trackers turned every game drive and walk into an experience - we learned about some of the smaller animals and birds in the area, the traditional uses of the various medicinal plants, the meaning of the tracks and signs left behind by the animals, etc.

There are ample opportunities for game viewing with morning and evening game drives and guided bush walks. During our time there we experienced some of the best encounters with elephants I have ever had and, except for the leopard, managed to see all of the big 5.

I would love to return to Lukimbi and would definitely recommend to all of my friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

My husband and I visited Lukimbi Safari Lodge and had an absolute fabulous time! The game drives were wonderful with the rangers and trackers imparting their immense knowledge on the inhabitants of the Kruger National Park as they tracked lions and pointed out animals. The sundowners in the bush were magnificent and very well organised. Our highlight was walking through the bush with two extremely experienced rangers - seeing animals on foot is a very humbling experience. The accommodation was luxurious, the food delicious and the staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient. Thank you Lukimbi for an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

My parents and I had a fantastic stay at Lukimbi....a true paradise tucked away in a lovely concession of Kruger.

To summarise my review in a few words I would say that - the property is absolutely lovely, the individual lodges beautifully maintained, the staff superb, the chef should be given a Michelin Star and the rangers and trackers are possibly the most diligent, experienced and super informative individuals you would come across....and most importantly - they make you feel safe!!

We were lucky enough to see the Big 5 about 3 times...which is pretty amazing and all thanks to our wonderful tracker and rangers. Our ranger Richard and tracker Reul deserve particular mention. They were very helpful and full of information on the wildlife and extremely patient. On our second day, they managed to track 6 lionesses with 6 suckling cubs - the experience was mind blowing and the best thing was that Richard and Reul were patient enough to let us spend about an hour with them. Thanks Richard and Reul for some super memories.

We would also like to mention Dillon who took us on one drive - he too was excellent and we managed to see the big 5 (including 2 roaring lions and a leopard that walked across the path) thanks to Dillon's experience and patience.

We also learnt that other game lodges (or those in the same concession) send out about 15 jeeps at a time so although it is easier to know the location of a particular animal (each jeep communicates by radio with the other), one is not able to spend too much time at the particular sighting in order to give way for the next vehicle. Lukimbi is the only lodge in its concession so we hardly ever heard the crackle of the radio and actually spent quality time observing the particular animal.

The staff at Lukimbi were super nice. In particular we would like to mention Jane (who was a pleasure to greet every morning) and Sam (who always assisted us to our rooms at night with his torch). The food was super and the chef extremely accommodating. The chef organised a baraai for us even though there was only one other family occupying the lodge. We really appreciated this gesture.

I felt December was a great time to visit Kruger as it is the season of babies - so it was lovely to see impala fawns, lion cubs, hyena cubs, a 2 week old elephant baby etc....The weather was pretty hot in the day and cool at night. Although some people mentioned that winter is usually the best time to visit Kruger particularly for sightings, we were more than satisfied with all our sightings - giraffes, elephants (including some male elephants on heat), zebras, impalas, water bucks, lions, lionesses, hyenas, rhinos, leopard, African Buffalos (sometimes in a herd of 200), a puff adder etc.....

To sum up this review, we would definitely recommend Lukimbi to anyone who would like to have a great holiday and safari experience in the wilderness and we cant wait to return to Kruger and Lukimbi.

Thank you.

  • Liked — The staff, the food, the cleanliness and the layout of the private lodges with their open air showers
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

All I can say is if you want to see the Big Five everyday and have real up close and personal encounters with the wild go to Lukimbi.

We have just returned from 6 of the best nights holiday we have ever had - not to mention it was our honeymoon. We were always greeted with friendly smiles and faces and made to feel like we were a part of the Lukimbi family from the moment we arrived.
The rooms are stunning with gorgeous views from everywhere - including the oval granite bath - of the watering hole. The food is something made in heaven but get ready to eat 3 meals every 4 hours of which each are mouth watering and cant be skipped. The lodge also has no game fencing which makes the whole safari experience all that more amazing.

Then there are the Game drives. As Lukimbi is situated on a large concession you can drive right up to almost anything they can find. This makes the game watching experience something you cant compete with. Our 2 Leopard sitings with Impala kills were most definitely our highlight. Our Ranger Paul and Tracker K-K (with eyes like a hawk) were an incredible team and didnt miss a thing.

I would recommend Lukimbi to anyone wanting a stunning luxurious safari but with the added bonus that you will actually see lots of game.

  • Liked — The most comfortable beds and gorgeous baths and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We have traveled extensively, always first class, and Lukimbi impressed us. It was decadently elegant and luxurious. the food was outstanding and the wines were lovely.

The staff made us feel like family . They could not have done more for us. I should mention that I have MS and use a wheelchair.
We saw the big 5 and more.
Can't wait to go back!

Olga and Les R.

  • Liked — Luxury and comfort plus view.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

we stayed at the lodge for three days i thought that the rooms were very nice i really liked the outdoor showers and the bathing tubs .The breakfast was very nice however the dinner and lunches lacked variety and after the first day one got a bit bored with the food. Our ranger natasha and tracker jacob were very competent at their jobs and we were lucky too see lions on each day we went in the bush however they didnot volunteer any information and had to be constantly asked questions i feel that they should be more informative about the flora and fauna.

The staff who served us were excellent especially gillean who was exceptional.
All said and done it was a memorable experience and i would definately reccomend a stay here

  • Liked — the safari rides in the morning and afternoons
  • Disliked — the lack of variety of food and lack of information about the animals and the flora and fauna
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Address: North Cliff, Kruger National Park 2115, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lukimbi Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.