We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narina Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge to your Saves list
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paul Kruger Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Tinga Private Game Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
morwell
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Narina Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in Narina Lodge, what an amazing place. Hippopotamus soaking in the river just on our door step. 5 Safaris with Isaac and Johan, 3 in the afternoon and 2 in the morning (early starts) but well worth it. Saw the "Big 5". Amazing close up with a lion family with 6 cubs. Loved "Sundowners" drinks in the bush. Both our guides very knowledgable, always in radio contact with other guides as to the whereabouts of the animals and our safety in the open jeep a priority. Food at the lodge was exceptional, served on the deck overlooking the river. Elephants came down for a drink in the river. Our private room was romantic and private, just as well as we used the outdoor shower "a natural". The private plunge pool on the deck was very welcome for relaxing in the hot afternoons before our PM safari. King size bed fully enclosed in mosquito netting. Free standing bath, inside shower with a normal shower head and a rainfall shower head. Fridge and air-con as well as over bed fan. Safe for valuables (ours wouldn't open and had all our passports, wallets, mobile phones and money in it) but Sven pulled out all stops to get it open for us..well done. Great staff, free Internet. Loved the last night dinner under the stars, and our names written on our bed in leaves. Thanks to everyone involved for a very memorable stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
106
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Narina Lodge in Lion Sands Game Reserve and we regret not having stayed longer. The Lodge underwent major renovation about a year ago and the premises are nicely decorated, well kept and very cozy. The suites are beautiful, spacious, with a private deck and a plunge pool overlooking the Sabie River. It is tranquil and secluded. You can even see some animals passing by the river while relaxing in the pool. It’s quite an experience!
Upon arrival, we noticed that the air conditioning in our room was not functioning properly. Grant – the manager – solved the problem quickly.
We had great safari rides with our ranger Raymond and tracker George. They are both very knowledgeable and do a very good job spotting the animals. Unfortunately we only got to see four out of the big five (couldn’t find the lion... it is nature after all). Tip: do NOT forget your binoculars!
The staff were always friendly and the chef is exceptional.
I only noticed one point for improvement: a fitness center would be a good addition to the lodge.
We had a great experience and would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The staff was always in sight of us (I didn't see them until I had a question), and came forward to answer our questions. In the morning, (every day) they gave us (wife and I) a wake up call. We came from 7 time zones away, and they made the transition from our zone to their zone totally non-existant, no body/sleep issues. Perhaps, because the bar was open, and when I got to my room, I was ready to sleep. What-ever our personal reasons for (possibly not) getting to the AM safarie, the staff got us there, in very kind ways, I have to commemnt that, not a single person in my/our comlained about getting out of bed to early. In contrast, we paid additional for an evening/night safarie. One of the best ever!

Room Tip: A good travel agent that's been there, done that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

What an amazing weekend spent at Tinga Narina Lodge. From the moment we were collected from the airstrip we were so well looked after. Our Ranger Raymond and Tracker George were excellent and highly recommended. Their knowledge on the fauna and flora was unbelievable.
The Lodge itself was breathtaking, the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was out of this world with a lovely variety to choose from.
Our suite was tastefully appointed and couldnt be more well located.
Cannot wait to come back again and have more wonderful experiences.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located so no need to choose a certain room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Place is fantastic! Food was top notch and the accommodations were incredible. Saw Elephants and hippos from my plunge pool. Request Joe and Jabu as your game driver and tracker and they will show you tons of animals! Came within feet of lions, elephants, and leopards, saw all of the Big 5, and even witnessed the tail end of a cape buffalo kill. Wish we were able to spend more time there, every day was exciting! Make sure you bring a good camera and binoculars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

From the pick up in the Land rovers to the incredibly appointed rooms with private deck and plunge pool, you feel as if you are royalty. The staff is extremely pleasant and eager to please. The rooms look out on an area of bush lands sloping down to a river. We saw Cape Buffalo, Hippos, baboons, monkeys, and a crocodile from our patio. The 3 meals a day plus tea are individually prepared and excellent. We had 2 game drives each day with expert guides and spotters. We got very close to lions, elephants, rhinos, hippos,leopards, Cape buffalo and many kinds of antelope and birds. Witnessed interactions between different types of animals. The guide offered such incredible knowledge about the animals that I felt like I had taken an enjoyable class in African animals. Could not have been better.

Room Tip: All rooms pretty equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent three wonderful nights here as part of a package tour. This magnificent lodge is like a movie set, and the personnel could not have been more pleasant or accommodating . There was not ONE thing that could be improved upon. The two "hunts" each day on Land Rovers,each with a guide/driver and a spotter did everything possible to be sure you got to see the many varieties of wildlife in this preserve,and we did, including a rare kill of a water buffalo by a pride of Lions. If you EVER think about a safari, I doubt there are any better than this one.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#7 of 13 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 40 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
18.6 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#17 of 40 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#22 of 146 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge

Address: Paul Kruger Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Tinga Private Game Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Sands Tinga Lodge - along the Sabie River within the Kruger National Park - is subtle, sophisticated and serene with grand open spaces. The main areas are double volume, opening onto a wooden deck. With just 9 luxurious suites, each located in an utterly private spot overlooking the river, you are treated to the ultimate African luxury experience. Each of Tinga's suites has a bathroom with in-door and outdoor shower, separate lounge area with minibar, private plunge pool and deck, 24 hour air-conditioning and a range of luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinga Private Game Hotel Skukuza
Tinga Private Game Skukuza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.