We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for wildlife, not accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Save
You added Satara Rest Camp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go for wildlife, not accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I use satara at least once a year for the last 10 years. The quality has steadily declined. Rooms and kitchen are seldom cleaned to decent standards, rooms are absolute rubbish, and it has become severely over-priced. Staff assistance is non-existent. They do have good facilities (shop,pool, petrol station, game-drive vehicles, restaurant)- the restaurant is not really worth eating at though. The only real reason to stay at satara is the quality of the wildlife in the surrounding areas. Very few areas in the park offer the same quality for game viewing- particularly for big cats and hyena. The traffic at sightings in the surrounding areas though can often ruin the occasion. Some major improvements are needed in order for this camp to be considered satisfiable. Don't let the "you are in the bush" be an excuse for a lack of basic quality and services!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    125
    87
    27
    13
See reviews for
75
151
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Satara with a friend as part of a Photographic Safari. We had 4 nights at Satara, which had some good facilities - small shop that had food, beverages, souvenirs, a restaurant / pub (I think - didnt use it), petrol station, pool etc.

There are camp grounds there which you could use a tent or camp trailers or bungalows.

We had a bungalow that i shared with my friend. The rooms are basic and as other reviewers have said 'could do with a revamp' but it was clean, tidy, good facilities and it had the best animal sightings. We traveled one day up to Olifants which didnt seem to have nearly the amount of animal sightings as we had almost out the front gate of Satara.

The camp gates closed at 5:30pm sharp which is dusk anyway. I noticed a number of tourist who abused this and came in shortly after, you may get a fine if you do come in late.

So if you go to Kruger I would suggest you ask yourself "are you going for luxury or going to see the most amazing animals in their habitat?"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Satara rest camp is very large, with circles (A-D) of rooms facing the middle. Each room has single bed, a bathroom and an outdoor kitchen. The amenities are basic, but very neat and clean. The restaurant is quite large and has a variety of dishes, which are quite pricey but also basic. Don't expect any gourmet meals here. It has got a very pleasant view and is quite pretty. The shop is very large, and you will find whatever you need there, although the prices are also quite steep. I would suggest taking your own food and preparing it at your room rather. I must commend the game ranger who took us on a game drive, however. Yolanda was very knowledgeable about the game, and gave us insight into the whys and hows. She even spotted a leopard who was trying to catch a few winks. I highly recommend the morning game drive!

Room Tip: We stayed in circle C, which is close enough to the shop and pool to walk, but far away enough from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aisaac
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

the employees are great, the accommodations could use an upgrade. Our bungalow was clean, but really basic for the price. Loved the outdoor kitchen - - - as did the birds who joined me in cooking breakfast. Was a fun experience.
I do NOT recommend the night game drive. Poor at best. Just a driver who doubled as a guide. Guests had to be spotters! If the 2 lions we saw hadn't been lying in the road I doubt that we would have seen them! Don't waste your money!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location bungalow could do with a revamp but fridge worked and room comfortable, great location for game drives and wonderful experience being able to drive yourself around the park.
The room was comfortable but hot plates needed knobs fixing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This camp is in need of an overhaul.

The huts are old and basic. I don't mind that so much but there is only 1 power outlet in the rooms, and it is the air-con socket near the top of the wall, which means there is no socket for laptops etc.

Also the cooking area is outside. Most huts had 2 external lights but ours only had one - this made it impossible to cook at night cos it was too dark to see the stove.

The quaity of the dining in the camp restaurant was also very lousy. It was apparently like school dinner food, but far from school dinner prices! My travel partner told me this; I was unable to eat there since they do not have any non-lacto vegetarian food. Very poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been lucky enough to visit Kruger Park since 1995 and Satara is by far my favourite rest camp.

You are far enough from Skukuza that seeing other cars on the roads is less frequent.

There is a greater variety of game to see at Satara and excellent and reasonably priced morning and night drives.

The accommodation has seen better days but is clean and comfortable.

Food is reasonably priced, especially breakfast but over the last 18 months the evening menu has deteriorated - I'm told because of waiting to change contractors...

All in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Satara Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satara Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.