We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Save
You added Satara Rest Camp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, KZN, SA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Satara is a great base from which to travel in different directions. Many Many game viewing opportunities and a lot of activities available. Units were clean and comfortable. We were fortunate enough to have a unit on the perimeter so we were able to watch many game spieces retiring for the night, as well as hyena which circle the campsite (outside the fence) in search of scraps of food.

Room Tip: Ask for a Perimeter Unit. You will have to book ages in advance to secure one of these sought after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    147
    101
    32
    15
See reviews for
90
172
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Keeping in mind that most rest camp huts in the Kruger National park caters for basic facilities only, it really is value for money. Satara's self catering units a built in a circular shape which allows for privacy and a bush-feel. This review purely caters from a Kruger camp point of view... The camp is neat and clean. When you return from a morning game drive you can bargain on your bungalow being sqeeky clean and the room made up. Better game viewing in the Kruger will be hard to find. Satara is typically known for seeing cats, so while you are almost guaranteed to see lion other cats will also be on the viewing menu. Great camp, return often and thank you to all the staff contributing to making it an enjoyable stay every time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Same bungalows in hut form as at Skukaza, but a much nicer camp. Saw more animals than at Skukaza as well (elephants, rhino, lions, hippos, no leopards). Restaurant very basic but food edible. Staff friendly. Price good. Would go again. Didn't try the commercial tours guided by the ranger, but they are allowed to leave the roads. We were not. So we assume they saw more.

Room Tip: get one next to the open area. It gives a much better feel. Barbecueing seems to be a favorite passt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our 2 night stay was very enjoyable. This was the last stop of a 6 day total safari through the Kruger. For us this was the pick out of 2 larger camps we stayed at. Our "semi-luxury" bungalow was quite basic but clean, comfortable & serviced daily. We are also getting the idea that these bush / rest camps are not about "luxury" as such, but more about what facilities you prefer close at hand. What is most important to us is cleanliness and ease of access to that which we may need to use. This we were more than happy with. We preferred the layout both inside and out of the bungalows at Satara. They were also grouped in a far more thoughtful way that allowed better view / privacy. That is each one looking into the centre which consisted of a very large grassy treed area, and not into each other. This part of the Kruger park is also where we saw the big five. And we enjoyed the more open savannah landscape that was not so evident down south. We loved the evening film they put on in the open amphitheater, brought back memories of the old Drive-In. The shop has everything you need, but I would not rely on the restaurant for good food. My lunch was ok, but buffet dinner was very poor. Best option is to take own food or get from shop and use kitchen / Brai facilities. Each bungalow has a simple outdoor Brai. If you wish / expect to have more luxury and great restaurant food (nothing wrong with that either) then one should consider the more expensive lodges. Myself I actually enjoy the simple rustic experience that these rest camps offer, and importantly at an affordable price. It's where the locals go. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ensure you look closely at what each level of bungalow offers, and choose the right one for you. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Skukuza Restcamp, then 3 nights in Satara Restcamp.
Satara's bungalows are much nicer and better equipped (with locks on the fridge to keep the monkeys away), staff more friendly, and the service much better.
And we had excellent game sightings.

Room Tip: There are bungalows for handicapped, bungalows for families, etc. We were in Circle A which was near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you want to see the Big Five, Satara is the place to stay. Due to this, it remains the most popular (or let's say most booked) Rest Camp inside the Kruger. I suggest you book for at least 2 consecutive nights, to allow yourself to unpack and enjoy and investigate area properly. If you book for only one night, you cannot check in before 2pm and then have to leave the camp by 10am the next morning.
Lots have been said about the Kruger park accommodation, and Satara falls in line with the rest. If you read the reviews and know what to expect, there will be no surprises or disappointments. I have been to the Kruger often since childhood and nothing has changed, thus the cottages (rondavels) are old yes, but well maintained. The interiors are basic but the matrasses are comfortable, the blankets warm, the aircon and small fridge in working order. It looks like no "revamping" has been done over the years, rather just a replacement of items if and when needed. But who cares? You are here to experience wealth of wildlife and birds, you not paying for, or on, a 5 star visit.
We flew to Johannesburg, where we rented a small air conditioned car for our visit to the Kruger Park. Prior to entering the Park we purchased, at a supermarket along the way, some plastic plates, cheap cutlery, mugs, a sharp knife and a cheap kettle as well as basic breakfast and snack items (the latter you can buy at the camp shop). This enabled us to enjoy a good breakfast on the veranda of the rondavel. You can also consider buying or bringing along a cooler bag and thermos flask for coffee. Our main meals we took at the restaurants of the Rest Camps where we stayed - nothing to write home about but we found the "special of the day" often to be surprisingly good.
After much indecision, we decided to do the "sunset safari" offered at Satara after having seen just about nothing on our afternoon drive. It was money well spent and the leopard was the only one of the big five not showing up. Half of the time was spend in daylight and about an hour and half in the dark. Much better than the night drive which is all in the dark.
For booking I suggest you phone the Sanparks number, its far more efficient than the website which is continuously out of order. The ladies are extremely friendly and can tell you within seconds which accommodation is available to you on your preferred dates, you can book immediately and they then email you the booking and payment info and you have quite a while before payment is due.
Go with the right frame of mind and you will have an enjoyable time at Sarata.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next campsite or staff quaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We used this camp as a stop-over to our dream destination: Biyamiti bush camp. We like Satara's location because of the superb game viewing in the surrounding open savannah. Because of this reason we stayed here many times over the last 40 years. the camp itself is not in a good condition. We stayed in a bungalow. I feel it is overpriced for the overall low quality standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Satara Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satara Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.