We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let poor reviews put you off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't let poor reviews put you off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the game viewing was amazing with the big 5 seen in one game drive, we have seen the big 5 before but never in one drive. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units and whilst dated it was clean and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and very good aircon. Whilst the view from the veranda was not fantastic we found it to be quiet and the night sounds of Africa the same. Our rangers on the drives were very good with the exception of one who really wasn't interested in anything other than finding lion (which he didn:t!). The others however were really good and a credit to SAN parks.

We had a buffet meal at the restaurant and it was really rather good. People need to remember this is a restcamp and as such is maintained at an affordable level giving people the opportunity to experience Kruger without the price tag.

Room Tip: Go for a bigger unit if you can afford to
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    82
    76
    24
    9
See reviews for
49
116
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Satara after a disappointing stay at poorly maintained Letaba rest camp. So, Satara came off looking good by comparison. It was cleaner, and much better maintained. This was clear at a glance when we got to our hut/chalet. Satara lacks the glorious siting of some of the other restcamps (ie. is not alongside a river, or on top of a hill), but it is in the middle of some of the the best game viewing in the KNP, and it is a big camp, offering the opportunity to walk around and visit various parts of the camp on foot to look out of the perimeter fence. The ranger who took us on a morning and a night drive was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, and good at finding animals. Satara's main deficiency is a very grim reception and dining block that, with its red tiled roof, is incongruous with the thatched buildings of the rest of the camp. This part of the camp is in dire need of a total re-do. The restaurant here, as with all the restcamps in the KNP, is a tragic abomination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Satara was less frustrating than Lower Sabie (see separate review).
The maintenance issue here is as visible. You don’t want to touch and open the windows in the shower, because they may fall apart for rust. Flip-flops for your shower may make you feel more comfortable.
The bathroom/toilet area is VERY small, the basin is in the room, the bungalows are VERY basic with just one bedside table, the aircon extremely noisy that you find yourself switching it on and off during the night. You have to either live with the noise or stay awake because it was very hot (January).
The cleaning also here left lots to be desired. Nevertheless, it was the better camp in comparison to Lower Sabie. Friendly staff, well stocked shop and the overall appearance seems more “looked after” than Lower Sabie. The fridge had been defrosted recently and did cool quite well, the stove with 2 hotplates was working well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went for breakfast at The Tree restaurant at Satara camp. Waited 15 minutes to be acknowledged and only then when we called loud enough. The "supervisor" took our order we waited again and eventually had to go into the drinks area ourselves and get our drinks and then waited again for our breakfast which did not materialize, we then noticed a large group that arrived after us, getting their food before us. when we inquired as to why , we discovered that our order had not been placed. When raised with the manager he gave us weak excuses and tried to brush us off instead of doing something about it, his "wife" or the manageress just stood there as people complained all around us. and we eventually ate an hour and a half later. and to top it ff they tried charging us for food we did not have. if this is an example of South Africa's top tourist site, then it fails miserably.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As others have said Satara is getting very dilapidated but it is the best camp for game viewing by far. As long as your expectations are not high and you know what the accommodations are like you will be fine. The units are older and in need of updating. We found the service and the cleanliness to be fair, and we were really only in the bungalows to eat and sleep. The majority of the time should be spent searching for animals.... after all you are in a game reserve.

The family cottages are spacious and are a good way to go if you have a group. It works out to be a bit cheaper than getting separate bungalows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We found the park itself not so interesting, and less taken care off then the other parks. It looked more like a wilderness then anything else. also the rooms/lodges were of a lesser quality. There is need for management to take a close look and follow up on this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It is unfortunate that I feel the need to give Satara a poor rating, since this restcamp is actually ideally situated for game-viewing. On the evening of our arrival, during a sunset game-drive (with ranger) we came across a lion devouring a recently killed buffalo - right on the roadside - whilst another exhausted male recovered nearby. The following morning, during our sunrise drive, we saw several hyena at the kill-site, another lion pride at a different site also close to the road, followed by yet another lion further off in the distance - all on the loop drive around Satara Camp.

First stayed at Satara with my wife in November 2002 and we found the location to be good but the camp infrastructure a bit dated. Clearly there has been no renovation during the intervening nine years. Our unit was pretty dilapidated, the mosquito window-screens were rusted and did not open or close properly. The airconditioner was old and very noisy and was barely able to combat the high ambient temperatures. The smell of the bed-linen gave us to suspect that the sheets had not been changed since the previous occupant had checked out. Either that, or the pillows etc were in urgent need of laundering. Not sure that they clean the units properly or regularly - an unpleasant odour and small droppings in the bathroom suggested that a family of rodents had taken up residence - although we never saw any of the little critters. Satara is in a great location and has a lot of potential, but is in urgent need of a make-over. Should note that we expressed our dissatisfaction when they emailed us a customer's satisfaction survey, but we never received a reply....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park
Address: 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 137 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Satara Rest Camp 2*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satara Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Satara Rest Camp to your Saves list