We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst restcamps in kruger” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Save
You added Satara Rest Camp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“One of the worst restcamps in kruger”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Poor service at the reception desk. Squallid rooms with dirty and stained blankets. Activities (we had the night drive) managed by lazy guide, providing very poor indications and instructions. Overall handy location, but there are much better rest camps in the park, e.g. Olifants (amazing views) or Mopani (cosy, less crowded and more efficient)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    147
    101
    32
    15
See reviews for
90
172
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in one of the self catering huts on the perimeter. The hut was a good size with cooking facilities outdoors. As I cooked dinner each time I turned around another animal was passing by our fence, elephant, zebras, giraffes, buffalo, hyena. It was like someone was presenting a slideshow just for me.
Sundown on the verandah with a glass of wine, food cooking on the braai and animals walking by it was pretty great.
The huts were of adequate cleanliness. Satara is well located for touring Kruger. We did a night drive which was a bit of a disappointment perhaps because it was so cold.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Satara restcamp. The bungalow (2 pers.) was basic and needed a update. There were no utensils (there is a fridge), but the bed and shower were comfortable. Don't try the restaurant, the staff is friendly but the food is quite bad. Bring your own and use the bbq (communal kitchens have only two electric cooking plates, boiled water and no utensils). The shop has a lot of souvenirs but not so much food (so buy your food before entering Kruger).
The good news about Satara is that the surroundings are great! We saw a lot of animals by daylight (and not so much cars) and really enjoyed the sunset drive and night drive (big 5 in an hour and the guides were very friendly, funny and told a lot about the wildlife)! We did see lions, hyena's and a leopard close to the camp.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was the first of two camps we visited at Kruger NP. Satara was better than Pretoriuskop. The overall atmosphere was better. Rondavel was fairly clean but it needs an update (as does Pretoriuskop). Satara has a nicer pool. The restaurant isn't much, so it's probably better to take your own supplies from outside the park. We also saw way more animals around Satara.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in the 2 bed bungalows facing the perimeter.

Satara is one of those places that grow on you. There is an abundance of wildlife to be found in the vicinity and especially predators. We saw lions on 5 occasions while staying here.

The accommodation is very comfortable and i love the atmosphere in this camp.

There is no better place in the world as the huge veranda in front of the restaurant to sit and enjoy the view and the vibe.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is tough to rate because the location can’t be beat. Within minutes of doing our first morning self-drive, we encountered cheetahs and leopards. It really seems to be the prime spot for seeing big cats (as well as many other animals). Unfortunately, the chalets are rather mediocre and are definitely showing their age –we were in a BG3 unit with 3 beds and outdoor kitchen. Most of the chalets are set-up in large circular compounds looking into round, grassy, common areas. It’s not terribly scenic or private (however, noise was never a problem). The perimeter cottages certainly look to be more private, but the scenery is nothing spectacular (save your money and efforts for scoring a perimeter cottage at Olifants). If you are self catering, please be aware that beyond basic cooking vessels, dishes and utensils, nothing is supplied - no little packets of coffee, tea, or sugar, nothing in the salt and pepper shakers. You really do need to bring or buy absolutely everything. We never tried the restaurant but it usually looked quite empty. If you want affordable accomodations, and come with the expectation that this is simply a place to hang your hat at night while enjoying some stupendous game viewing, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Booked 2 chalets for myself and 3 sons. Had a great time, watched the rugby world cup under 20 and the spirit very festive. Stunning Scops owl in parking area, units clean and functional. Congratulations to the management and staff. Fantastic sightings including lion, leopard, wild dog, hyena, plus rets of big 5 and much more. Staff at garage especially Esau very helpful with my flat tire, All round an excellent experience,

Room Tip: Note that some units do not have cutlery or washing up facilities of you wish to braai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Satara Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satara Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.