We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Wow, Wow, Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Jock Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Protect Rhino & Save
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow, Wow, Wow, Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Jock Lodge main camp for five nights in August, our first experience of a safari and the title says it all. From the outset the staff were very welcoming and friendly and as the game drives were just leaving as we arrived, we were given the option of going straight out with them or being able to unpack and settle into our room. We decided on the latter and high tea was delivered to our lodge within 15 minutes. At dinner we were introduced to our Ranger for the duration of our stay, Jacob. We were later to discover that Jacob had bionic eyesight and could see the slightest animal, even if it was on the horizon and in the dark and had all the knowledge and facts about all the animals and birds we were fortunate enough to see. We saw the big 5 on our very first game drive and loads more besides. Jacob made our game drives fun and informative and he is a true ambassador not only for Jock Lodge, but also for Kruger National Park. We also went on three walking safaris with Rangers Jacob, Tom Cruise lookalike Yan and on one occasion Pete. On each occasion they were really informative and very professional and kept us all safe when we almost bumped into five Rhinos. The other member of staff who really stood out was Attie, the chef. We can honestly say that the food was amongst the best we've ever eaten and was consistently excellent. The lodges were lovely and the outside showers were great, even at 5.00 am in the dark! We were very sad to leave and can't recommend Jock Lodge more highly. An amazing trip and one to repeat as soon as possible.
Hints and tips - take some warm clothing as early morning game drives can be chilly. Take a good camera and plenty of memory cards, we took 2000 photographs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    27
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
155
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. The staff, Mumsie in reception in particular made my son of 11 years feel like a complete VIP. the loving touch of a Safari Pack gift on his bed was much appreciated. Accommodation is outstanding, so private and awesomely relaxing with your own private day bed overlooking the river bed, where a number of animals came wandering through. The food was excellent, best oxtail I have had in ages. Spoilt for choice. Game viewing superb, Jacob took excellent care of us and tried his best to ensure we saw as much as possible. Can highly recommend this lodge to Families, Couples, Groups. Ideal honeymoon destination due to the privacy of the suites and special little touches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here in January '13 and could not wait to return in July! Located on a concession inside Kruger National Park. Wonderful staff, always friendly and professional. The Head Chef, Artie, took time to accommodate my special dietary needs and I ate the best meals ever! Louie, the Manager takes a hands on approach and runs a high class operation.
And then there are the safaris led by Guides who have an unbelievable ability to spot animals as small as chameleons at night. Saw the Big Five and then some! I couldn't recommend more!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at Jock Lodge, main lodge for 3 nights in August, being winter / dry season. On of our best travel experiences ever. Location inside Kruger, southern section and a private concession. Drives and guides were great, informative and thoroughly in the know. Seen it all and more!! Rooms were great, comfortable, outdoor areas were great for relaxing. Outdoor shower / daybed / plunge pool etc. Grounds - upstairs bar, and dining areas are really nice, good views, rustic and much history. Food and services was superb.....staff were friendly and helpful. Totally recommended - a great memory. Would be also great to sea in wet, as rivers are seasonal....

Room Tip: Just go as it is a great place and experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Little Jock so for our family of 7 it was perfect. The staff were excellent and attentive and the meals were very good and we ate outside under the stars one night. One day we went on a whole day drive and they packed a picnic. The game drives were excellent as they also have an area that only they can go on. Interesting to have a shower with a glass wall. Saw so many animals in Kruger and we had the best time ever. Our granddaughters liked the plunge pool and we watched the movie Jock of the Bushveld while there. Coffee and tea were always available and more food in a day than we could hold. It was really excellent. We visited an area with lots of people and it felt like we were at Disneyland so Jock's location was just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Jock for 3 nights, in mid July with our 2 teen boys. It was our first safari experience and we had a fabulous time! The rooms are just as pictured on their website, a mix of rustic and luxury. I like that the toilet was separate from the sinks and tub. The only drawback was the outdoor shower, which is different but being that it's winter time, we all timed our showers in the afternoon when the sun was shining! Not a big deal... we managed. The best part of our stay was the genuine service, always with a smile, as soon as we come in the front door! We were so fortunate to spot the BIG FIVE over the course of 3 days, which made each and every game drive exciting and unexpected. (Some guests saw the big five all on their first day.) Our guide Jacob was humble and knowledgeable- we appreciated his time with us!
Food was good and plentiful! One afternoon, from our decks- rooms 7 & 8- there was a zoo of kudus, wilderbeests, impalas, waterbucks, and 2 rhinos. Amazing location!!!
All in all we loved our stay at Jock!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 - near the common areas and great view from the decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had the most fabulous safari experience at Little Jock. We spent 4 nights at Fitzpatrick Lodge, which is also called Little Jock. I would suggest at least 2 nights but 4 nights made it feel like vacation. We greatly enjoyed every bit of the 4 days. Little Jock accommodates only 8 people and is a more intimate experience than Big Jock. Little Jock did not have internet so we visited the Main Lodge a few times. We are a family of 4 with kids (11 and 13 years of age). The facilities are beautiful and peaceful and seems authentic with the thatch roofing. The more intimate setting at Little Lodge lead to more interaction with the other guests. We greatly enjoyed meeting the other families who also had kids. We had great dinner conversations with people from different countries and cultures. We spent a lot of time with the other families on the game rides too. We also had the most amazing game seeing experience. We had a fantastic Game Ranger, Sorita, who had an unbelievable ability to spot animals in the dark. She was very knowledgeable and great at off roading on rough, steep terrain. Jock Safari had about 4 gaming vehicles out at one time and the Rangers worked together which generally resulted in amazing sightings almost every time we went out. We saw a leopard in a tree with its impala kill, a group of hyena's eating a kudu kill, elephants playing in the lake, hyena pups playing together, a lion pride sleeping in the sandy bed of a river, and a lion crossing the road. We couldn't believe the density of animals within the park and the Rangers are skilled at sighting and tracking them. We also must rave about the most amazing meals. The food was on par to the best restaurants in the world. The chefs fixed great game meat (kudu, springbok, élan, and impala). We had a braai (grill out) and ate outside twice which was a lot of fun. Lastly, the service was outstanding by the many ladies who tended to us. The kids loved the hot chocolate which was presented to them as they walked into the lodge after a game drive in the cold. There was such a wonderful sense of hospitality at the camp. I have had safari experience before and was completely blown away by the frequency and the quality of game sighting at Jock Safari. Lastly, this time of year is the winter season in South Africa which is a great time of year to see animals. The game rides which are early and late tended to get very cold so you should bring warm clothes (ski jackets, windbreakers, many layers, gloves, scarves, hats, etc). And don't forget your binoculars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 141 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jock Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.