We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation very good,food terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skukuza Restcamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Restcamp
Save Saved
You added Skukuza Restcamp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
dublin ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Accomodation very good,food terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed at Skukuza for 3 nights in a semi luxury riverside bungalow which was clean and spacious and had a great aspect overlooking the river which had plenty of Hippos and Crocodiles on view.Bungalow was very good value for money in comparison to private camps.
However,as other guests have commented the restaurant was awful,both food and service.After a dreadful dinner experience we avoided the 150R plus breakfast.
Braii and cooking facilities at the bungalow are excellent and I would strongly suggest that is where guests should dine.With a little imagination by new management Skukuza camps could be a superb experience.

Room Tip: Bungalows facing the river are private and well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    183
    140
    31
    11
See reviews for
105
191
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Skukuza was exactly what we expected for a restcamp and the room was clean and acceptable.
The restaurant met our expectation and the service was faultless. We much preferred Skukuza to Letaba and found the staff here much more helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The chalet had two bathrooms and an outside covered area next to the Braii. We made our own way around on the good standard of roads and saw plenty of game. The next day we went on an organised tour and saw less game, but did mange to see a pride of lions in front of our vehicle upon returning back to camp!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Skukuza is called the capital of Kruger Park and it is pretty big, maybe even huge.
But this does not only applies to the number of guests - it also applies to the size of the property. We stayed there in low season and in high season, both times in a riverside semi-luxury bungalow (not cheap) and it never felt crowded.
The bungalows are of pretty high standard, making it a quite comfortable stay.
Concerning wildlife around Skukuza - from our experience it is one of the top places, we visited (only the Satara region gave us more encounters). Highlight was a bunch of Wild Dogs just outside Skukuza in the late afternoon, on hunt, chasing some Impalas completely unimpressed by the couple of cars around them.

Room Tip: The semi-luxury riverside bungalows are expensive, but spacious and do not have the crowded feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed in Skukuza camp for two nights. We didn't have much expectation as we only paid a trivial cost comparing the private camp. It's a reasonable place to spend nights because sleeping is the least wanted thing you want to do in the park.

My only complain is that, the room is TOO DARK

p.s. we stayed in "semi-luxury" bungalow...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whipsnade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The SanPark lodges in the Kruger National Park are a great value way of being in the bush and seeing great game both on and off-road at reasonable prices. By and large private bush camps and game lodges in most African countries charge silly prices for the privilege of being pampered. These, in my humble opinion, are rarely worth it unless it's in an exceptionally remote area or run by highly knowledgeable rangers. Skukuza is big, the rooms are clean and it's a good place to start your tour if you're coming in through the Nguni gate. We stayed in a chalet on the river which was great, peaceful. Cooking facilities are fine. Reception staff (sadly) seem indifferent, unsmiling with a hint of arrogance. Perhaps because it's the SanPark headquarters. Food, like most SanPark lodges, is poor. They really need to get their act together. Perhaps offer the catering franchise to a private contractor. We did our own catering.
There's no pool and it's a bit municipal. Other SanPark lodges ( Oliphants/Sirheini/Shimawini) are much nicer, more spectacular and remote but Skukuza is a decent enough first stop

Room Tip: Get a chalet on the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a perfect place to start when you want to go to the Kruger Park. The small houses were clean and nice arranged. There is really no need to go to one of the higher-level-hotels outside the Kruger. Here you get everything you may need (except a flatscreen tv and a pool).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skukuza Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Restcamp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Restcamp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The myriad of birds and wild game in the area is easily spotted by going on bush walks and game drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skukuza Restcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.