We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skukuza Restcamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Restcamp
Save
You added Skukuza Restcamp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I concur with all that reviewer Tal27 has to say. We have been visiting the KNP frequently since 1969 when we lived in Jo'burg and less frequently after moving back to the UK in 1977. This trip my wife and I were accompanied by my daughter (born in RSA), her husband, 14 year granddaughter who had visited as 2 year old and my grandson who was a "KNP Virgin". We stayed for 4 nights in the Nyathi Guesthouse, which is a substantial complex of 4 bedrooms/bathrooms in a separate building to the lounge kitchen that overlooks the Sabie River and has its own private garden and braai area. Excellent location.

Like Tal27 we bought our supplies in PickandPay in Hazyview although the wine and beer in the Park is a comparable price but the meat for the braai is much cheaper in P&P (4 x ½-inch T-bones for ZAR74 in P &P v ZAR62 for 2 similar T-bones in Skukuza.

One night we ate in the Selati restaurant, a poor choice!. The food was indifferently served and of mediocre quality which is a pity given the historical setting in the station. The menu did not reflect any of the natural wild produce that could come from the parks unlike it was several years ago when water buffalo, impala and ostrich were on the restaurant menus.

The overall impression is that the quality of the maintenance of the accommodation is gradually deteriorating. My son-in-law, who is a builder, sent 2 hours showing 2 local maintenance men how to hang a door correctly that was not fitting correctly, installing locks and correct door bolts(he was even offered a job by the supervisor who came to see what his men were doing)

The swimming pool on the camp was not good, green algae and leaves were in the water. Looked poorly maintained

The game viewing as usual was first class.

If you want the riverside accommodation you must book early as the tour companies snap them up when the are released.

Room Tip: Book early as soon as the room are released
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    204
    153
    36
    12
See reviews for
116
213
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I grew up coming to the KNP every year, and it was lovely to see things are mostly the same today. We stayed 3 nights in a riverside rondawel with views over the Sabie and had a fabulous time.
The negative reviews on this site are more to do with expectation management. The camps operated by Sanparks in the Kruger do not sell themselves as a luxury destination - if you want that, go to one of the private camps within the Kruger or just outside. This is honest, down to earth self catering accommodation, fully equipped with all plates, cups, frying pans, tongs etc etc with a fridge, kettle, toaster, hob, large braai area. It is serviced daily to a high standard. There are two pools onsite, walking areas along the river, two restaurants, shops, a service station and so on.
I am not claiming it is perfect, eg we had some items stolen from our fridge by someone during the day, and there were some issues with the restaurant food the one night we stayed there (the chicken was raw), but these issues were addressed quickly. Complaining about the prices in the restaurant is ridiculous. That food has come a long way to get to that restaurant in some cases, and they are not aiming for Michelin stars! The prices in the shop for basic food (I buy my meat at Hazyview Pick n Pay before driving into the park) and beer/wine are very reasonable.
For those with problems checking in or with reservations, please refer to the Sanparks website, it tells you clearly to bring all documentation proving your booking with you, and sets out all costs clearly. I saw one family having a huge fight with reception because they wanted a double bed in one room of the rondawel when the one they had booked was clearly described as two twin rooms. And they were furious that in high season this could not be amended with no cost to them?! This is not a 5* hotel, it is a camp in a stunning National Park that you are fortunate to visit.
I do not usually get so "het-up" with reviews, but really, do your research, manage your expectations, book the style of accommodation you want, take your booking records and count yourself lucky to be allowed to go here. If you want 5* luxury, memory foam mattresses and American-standard service, don't go to a government run national park in Africa, leave it to those of us that love it for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Being the oldest rest camp the huts and campsite areas are pretty run down. Not sure whether they are currently only selling their name. Staff not really helpful or friendly. Think the National Parks in Swaziland are better managed. And also heard people along my travels complaining. Try and give people campsite numbers- to avoid over booking.
Being Kruger National Park the place to be it was rather embarrassing for my guests. Please see this as constructive critism to better standards cause other smaller camps around Kruger are better managed.

Room Tip: Mopani, Pretoriuskop and Bergdal are nicer rest camps to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family of 5 from Australia spent a month in Nov\Dec 2012 in South Africa and our Kruger Park bookings were done through the Internet.

One week was spent in the Kruger Park with 3 days at Skukuza. The accommodation was a complete disappointment; nothing like the Internet had shown. We paid R2,100.00 per night for each of the 6 nights but received very poor accommodation.

The bungalow (2 bedrooms for 5 adults) was generally run down inside, needing repair. The double beds had springs pushing through the mattress, making it impossible for two people to sleep in the double bed – so my partner slept on the ground. We also had to ‘pad’ the bed for just one person to sleep in! There were masses of mouse droppings from the roof of one bedroom (which was removed daily by the cleaner); some light fittings were dodgy and kept shorting the electrical circuit; both toilets leaked (my partner fixed one of them); mould growing on the shower curtain; kitchen utensils kept breaking; rusty windows; black furnishings... all of which contributed to a gloomy, unwelcoming atmosphere.

On requesting a better, more functional bungalow, the management was very unhelpful in providing a satisfactory alternative. This was before the South African school holidays and the camp was still half empty - this was very disappointing.

However, Skukuza did have a very nice restaurant with an outdoor verandah overlooking the river, with tasty meals and good service.

The Park itself is fantastic and the animal viewing was a wonderful experience ....... a wake-up call is needed for the management. The infrastructure is there - it just needs to be maintained and repaired – and not when clients are in the bungalow! Charges should reflect the standard of accommodation provided and not be a rip-off!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Kruger Park is always a pleasure!! The friendliness of the staff surpasses, any other holiday destination. The chalets are great and always a pleasure. The rondawels (huts) are self-catering and have crockery and cutlery, with braai facilities and a stove and fridge.
The rondawels (hut) are clean and very comfortable. A great and wonderful holiday destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The bungalow is small but sufficient. There is a place to park your car right outside. The patio has a fridge and a sink. There is a table for 2 to sit outside as well. The biggest thing lacking in this room was a wall socket for power. There was only one in the entire room which was used for Aircon which was high up on the wall so hard to charge phones. The restaurant at the camp site was expensive for the choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 3 bed bungalow with our two toddler children. Was perfect size and the 2 children shared a bed. We had an enclosed veranda which was perfect at night time to sit and have a drink without the worry of mosquitos. The park in general is good with a great gift shop, 2 good pools and nice restaurant on the river. A downside to our stay here was the staff at check in. They could not find my reservation (even though I had booked and paid in my home country before arriving). They offered no help and told me I had to call the booking company to sort it out. They finally found me on their system and there was no apology. Found them quite rude. They could certainly do a course customer service.

The only other downside was that the only power point in the bungalow is for the fridge, which makes it quite hard to charge all the electronics after a day out driving and there is no electric kettle which means you have to boil water on the BBQ after buying all the equipment to start the thing. Makes it a long process to make a cup of tea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skukuza Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Restcamp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Restcamp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The myriad of birds and wild game in the area is easily spotted by going on bush walks and game drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skukuza Restcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.