We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice rest camp accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skukuza Restcamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Restcamp
Save
You added Skukuza Restcamp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Avon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Pretty nice rest camp accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the Skukuza Restcamp in October 2012 as part of a tour through Kruger NP and was here for one day/night before moving on. I can say off the bat that I've stayed at many different national parks around the world, and while Skukuza wasn't the best, it was far from the worst, and pretty nice accommodations overall.

The Pros:

- Air Conditioning - and yeah, it worked well, I love it cold
- Ceiling fan - gives you the option of both aircon or the fan or both
- Clean, well-kept room
- I liked how the housing resembled traditional rondavels, a nice touch when visiting a new country
- The bathroom, while dated, was very clean and in good order, no mold, damaged tiling, staining, nothing
- An in-room safe - not what I expected in the middle of Kruger NP
- Nice outside area - a table, chairs, refrigerator, sink, and cooking dishware ready to use

The Cons:

- As mentioned, the rooms are a bit dated, but that stuff doesn't really bother me, figured I should mention it, though
- Beds were a bit stiff and the sheets/covers were a bit thin
- The interior lighting was a bit spotty, leading to a shadowy room at night, but not a real big deal

Again, overall, this was a stop for the night for me - if I was staying for a week, I might want a little more room or a little nicer accommodations, but as others have said, you can't beat the location. I'd definitely recommend it to others, particularly families, seems very well-suited for them.

Thanks for reading, just let me know if you have any questions, I'd be happy to help!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    230
    174
    38
    13
See reviews for
132
232
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We only stayed for one night, and found this more than sufficient... It is well situated within the park but what we did not like about Skukuza was:
- cooking facilities mostly communal, even hot water (even fridge outside which makes one ponder what not to store there)
- small hut, tiny bathroom
- very poorly lit paths

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The chalets was very nice big rooms and kitchen where u can enjoy ur own food. The only thing is when we checked in there was an air con which was on when we tried to switch it off it was not switching off we have to switch off the main plug than we got refreshed and was trying to switch on the TV but again it failed to switched on when i went at reception to complain about it they said the technical guy will come to sort it out we waited for 1 hour but there was nobody.

Then i went again to see them and the people at reception gave me the same answer that they will send somebody to sort it out but again till 8pm nobody came and then we gave up thats where we got disappointed with it.

But had a nice sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpfull, although letting you wait is a national sport in Africa. The accomodation was very clean and all needed was available. Large bed, good shower, and small kitchen. Restaurant facilities in the whole of kruger park are the same, so meals are the same everywhere what is a negative point as your better prepare a braai/bbq yourself.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
688 reviews 688 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 316 cities Reviews in 316 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Efficient units adequately sized in park for easy access to game drives and food services. Adequate bathroom, fridge, etc. a good way to explore Kruger, but vehicles must stay on roadways unlike private reserves.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Right in the middle of the park, we stayed here for 2 nights with Themba tours. The rooms were a decent size and I was impressed by the lack of creepy crawlies. The service in the restaurant next to the shop was pretty bad but the converted rail station restaurant is superb. Our tour guide Kylie was brilliant and so enthusiastic. A trip never to be forgotten!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you are planning on staying inside the park, Skukuza Camp is a very good economical launching point for self-guided and formal safaris.
We rented one of the "semi-luxury bungalows" which had a riverside view, private bath, and private (although outdoor) kitchen and refrigerator; we would recommend this choice of accommodation. The view from the patio was excellent, and we saw two of the Big Five just standing outside our room (elephants and buffalo) as well as having a herd of hippos parked in the river the whole time we stayed.
The bed was a bit on the hard side, and if bugs really bother you at night, having a mosquito net to hang over the bed might be a help. The room and bathroom were clean, but the giant sliding glass door will tend to let in the bugs no matter how fast you try to open and close the door. (That might be considered a downside of being right on the river.)
The restaurant wasn't great, but it wasn't bad. The food was good but we weren't expecting gourmet dining during our stay at the Rest Camp. The central store in the Camp is well stocked and you can also easily cook for yourself (there is a wide array of animal steaks to choose from). However, we would recommend stopping in Hazyview before entering the park and buying food and other provisions on the outside as the prices are lower.
As everyone warns, make sure you don't leave loose items or food around as the baboons sweep through in the morning and a monkey troop sweeps through in the afternoons. Being American tourists, we of course took a lot of pictures as the critters tore through other patrons' garbage cans and open kitchens but the victims were far less thrilled by these close encounters!
All in all, we greatly enjoyed our stay and will stay here again the next time we are staying in the lower Kruger area.

Room Tip: The semi-luxury Bungalows seemed to all be along the river frontage on the edge of the camp; this pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skukuza Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Restcamp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Restcamp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The myriad of birds and wild game in the area is easily spotted by going on bush walks and game drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skukuza Restcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.