We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skukuza Restcamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Restcamp
Save Saved
You added Skukuza Restcamp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The chalets was very nice big rooms and kitchen where u can enjoy ur own food. The only thing is when we checked in there was an air con which was on when we tried to switch it off it was not switching off we have to switch off the main plug than we got refreshed and was trying to switch on the TV but again it failed to switched on when i went at reception to complain about it they said the technical guy will come to sort it out we waited for 1 hour but there was nobody.

Then i went again to see them and the people at reception gave me the same answer that they will send somebody to sort it out but again till 8pm nobody came and then we gave up thats where we got disappointed with it.

But had a nice sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    183
    141
    31
    11
See reviews for
105
192
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpfull, although letting you wait is a national sport in Africa. The accomodation was very clean and all needed was available. Large bed, good shower, and small kitchen. Restaurant facilities in the whole of kruger park are the same, so meals are the same everywhere what is a negative point as your better prepare a braai/bbq yourself.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
548 reviews 548 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 256 cities Reviews in 256 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Efficient units adequately sized in park for easy access to game drives and food services. Adequate bathroom, fridge, etc. a good way to explore Kruger, but vehicles must stay on roadways unlike private reserves.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Right in the middle of the park, we stayed here for 2 nights with Themba tours. The rooms were a decent size and I was impressed by the lack of creepy crawlies. The service in the restaurant next to the shop was pretty bad but the converted rail station restaurant is superb. Our tour guide Kylie was brilliant and so enthusiastic. A trip never to be forgotten!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you are planning on staying inside the park, Skukuza Camp is a very good economical launching point for self-guided and formal safaris.
We rented one of the "semi-luxury bungalows" which had a riverside view, private bath, and private (although outdoor) kitchen and refrigerator; we would recommend this choice of accommodation. The view from the patio was excellent, and we saw two of the Big Five just standing outside our room (elephants and buffalo) as well as having a herd of hippos parked in the river the whole time we stayed.
The bed was a bit on the hard side, and if bugs really bother you at night, having a mosquito net to hang over the bed might be a help. The room and bathroom were clean, but the giant sliding glass door will tend to let in the bugs no matter how fast you try to open and close the door. (That might be considered a downside of being right on the river.)
The restaurant wasn't great, but it wasn't bad. The food was good but we weren't expecting gourmet dining during our stay at the Rest Camp. The central store in the Camp is well stocked and you can also easily cook for yourself (there is a wide array of animal steaks to choose from). However, we would recommend stopping in Hazyview before entering the park and buying food and other provisions on the outside as the prices are lower.
As everyone warns, make sure you don't leave loose items or food around as the baboons sweep through in the morning and a monkey troop sweeps through in the afternoons. Being American tourists, we of course took a lot of pictures as the critters tore through other patrons' garbage cans and open kitchens but the victims were far less thrilled by these close encounters!
All in all, we greatly enjoyed our stay and will stay here again the next time we are staying in the lower Kruger area.

Room Tip: The semi-luxury Bungalows seemed to all be along the river frontage on the edge of the camp; this pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We made certain to include Skukuza Restcamp as part of our week-long tour of Kruger Park having only had a rest stop here 4 years previously. The setting is magnificent with the fine view over the Sabie River, and even the abandoned railway bridge to the east enhances the atmosphere. Animals by the waterside were scarce while we were there but of course they abound just beyond the gates. Birdlife however is prolific and the comings and goings in the fig tree above the restaurant patio provide and endless pageant when the figs are ripe. Not far from the entrance gate lies Lake Panic overlooked by a very popular bird-hide. Staying at the restcamp ensures the possibility of an early visit to the bird hide, although the light for viewing is better at the end of the day with the sun in the west. The restaurant can get crowded at times, and service slows down, particularly if you arrive just after a large tour group has settled in. The rondavels are comfortable and clean, and fine for some limited self-catering.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Kruger is amazing, we saw 'big five' in only two outings. Magnificent! But evening card game completely spoiled our great impresion. We've been alone in restaurant at 9p.m., when five giant rats came. The have been running all over the place, in the kitchen, eating remains of careals (yes, cereals are on display 24h/day), over the plates (yes, the plates are also on display overnight). Disgusting! We've examined the restaurant closely and found out that it's simply dirty; remains of old food everywere, not to mention corners. We didn't eat the breakfast next day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skukuza Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Restcamp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Restcamp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The myriad of birds and wild game in the area is easily spotted by going on bush walks and game drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skukuza Restcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.