We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Malewane-MORE & BETTER than 1 could hope for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Malewane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Malewane
Save
You added Royal Malewane to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Avoca Road, Thornybush Reserve, Limpopo | Limpopo Province, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Royal Malewane-MORE & BETTER than 1 could hope for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

In absolutely every way the Royal Malewane Hotel & Safari Camp exceeded our expectations & our fondest hope. The staff & management were exceptional, facilities absolutely beautiful & the food & service were absolutely impeccable. We visited with Jane Lee & Larry Winters on their 2013 Town & Country Travel Tour which was completely beyond belief.

Room Tip: All are absolutely GREAT. We enjoyed 1 A & B don't think any of the couples in our group fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not my first visit, but a really very nice one !
I booked the double villa, for families with kids great !
The chat/feeling with the cooking-staff could have been better...was cool !
Nik (ranger of the year 2013) and tracker Soli are fantastic guys, who showed me 2 kills...
A leopard...and believe it or not, a hyena-kill in front of our villa ! UNBELIEVABLE....
Free choice what to eat, very good wildlife, fantastic villa, really great !
The lady of the shop could smile and be helpfull once...but actually, that's it !
Fantastic stay again....

Room Tip: The double villa for families is great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My recent visit to Royal Malewane will be a highlight of my travels for a very long time. The service, accommodations, food and game viewing were sensational and beyond words. Our guide and tracker, Ryan and Terrance, made our wildlife experience something one can only imagine. The staff fulfilled every need, even anticipating them in advance. Raw nature augmented by complete luxury and exemplary service, a fabulous combination.

henry n

Room Tip: Request Ryan and Terrance for your game drives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Royal Malewane is simply spectacular! The lodge is first class; we stayed in the Royal Suite and it was so comfortable and beautiful. But what makes Malewane one of the best hotels in the world is the staff; every single person -- chefs, butlers, housekeepers, managers and the safari rangers and trackers- is invariably nice, knowledgeable and made our stay memorable!!
We WILL return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, but if you can stay in the Royal Suite, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Royal Malewane. We were there 2 years ago and upon our return, we were not disappointed. The lodge was just as beautiful. The rooms are so inviting and beautifully done. The staff was exceptional and every need was fulfilled. The game drives exceeded our expectations and the sundowners were the perfect way to end the day. The food and wine is outstanding and service 5 star. Then there is the spa. It was voted #1 in Africa and we can attest to that. It is a soothing, beautiful place and the services offered did not disappoint. The staff overall is very knowledgable and well trained. It was worth the trip to get there. It was relaxing and the perfect vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. If you are traveling with a couple or kids, one of the two bedroom sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Royal Malewane is probably one of the best "hotels" anywhere. I put hotels in quotes because it is as close to being at home when you're away as possible. The staff is excellent and the food truly gourmet. We stayed in the Royal Malewane suite and had our own butler and chef. They were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about everything from what wines we should try for dinner to what animals we saw on safari that day. The spa staff and services were top notch. The ranger we had was extremely knowledgeable and skilled. We enjoyed two gourmet dinners outside under the stars - including one in the bush. What an unbelievable experience!
The Royal Malewane does it right - everything is first class without compromise.

Room Tip: The Royal Malewane suite is perfectly appointed, elegant and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

OMG... if you want to feel like a member of the Royal Family or a princess while simultaneously viewing game in South Africa, this is the lodge for you!

Where do I start? We had the pleasure of staying with family (including kids from 10 - 17) at Africa House, a 6 bedroom luxury home near the main lodge. To say it was luxurious is an understatement: It was simply 6 stars. Each suite was decorated individually with massive space and huge bathrooms. The attention to detail was extraordinary from the bedding to the food, no effort was spared in creating the ideal environment for the guest.

Our wonderful chef, Michael, went to extraordinary efforts to care for our every need while we were blessed to be guided by Craig and Patrick. To say that Craig is a world class guide is no exaggerating. His passion and knowledge for the environment and it's plentiful wildlife is simply humbling. We loved asking him questions while receiving rich information only a seasoned wildlife expert can impart. But Craig also sensed that we were there to have fun and he accepted that our requirements were a balance of learning and giggling and he happily accommodated us!

If you are looking for a six star safari experience and want to spoil yourself rotten then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Malewane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Malewane

Address: Avoca Road, Thornybush Reserve, Limpopo | Limpopo Province, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Malewane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Malewane Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Malewane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.