We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebs must feel like this....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singita Lebombo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Singita Lebombo Lodge to your Saves list
Singita Lebombo Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Private Concession | Eastern South Central, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Celebs must feel like this....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Feel like being spoiled for the rest of your life? Don't look any further, because you've just found the place and you know: we've been there!

Don't forget to close your mouth once in a while when you walk around gasping at the mix of 7star luxury mixed with nature at it's best. Sometimes you have to even pitch yourself that it's all true.

Professional staff make it all possible and builders have been making a architect and designers wish come true at a place where normally only trees grow.

Food is great and 'no' at special requests is hardly impossible. The winelist is 4 armlengths long and the Sommelier (French for professional alcoholic addicted on wine) one of the better onces we've met in the world.
All staff have humor, if you present yourself as a non plastic loud mouthed American. You don't want the pesonal attachment and a professsional butler distance, more fitting with your US 'I'm important' attitude? Also no problem.

Be sure that all of them go the extra mile to give you a 'once in a lifetime' experience that you probably want again and again after that.......
This goes from guide, tracker to all the service people.

No points of critisism this time then?
Eeeeuh after deep thinking: the huts show the high traffic throughout the season and need some remodelling, plus repairs. Further it's good to also go to the Tswalu Resort in the Kalahari and then try to draw a comparisson. We still have an ungoing discussion, but might come to the conclusion that Tswalu feels less 'slick & smooth'.

But as said, we still have the discussion and 6 stars are appropriately in place!

And oh yeah: please do visit the School of Cooking in the neighbouring staff village and maybe contribute....

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
99
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have no words to describe this experience at Singita Lebombo! All of the rooms are the same category: so much confortable, private and charming. If you want to stay closer the animals like the hipos and monkeys, you should ask for the rooms next to the river. If you dont want to walk and prefer to stay near the reception and public areas, you can also request it. The staff is so friendly and efficient! They can help you with everything!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We visited Singita Lebombo after three stops at camps in Botswana. The food, common areas and rooms here were top of the line, and the spa was incredible. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that after Botswana, the game drives felt very manufactured. There is clearly a lot of coordination between drivers and trackers sent out on their own to ensure that guests get to see lots of game in unique situations. That may be a good thing for many, but after so many long, tough tracking experiences in Botswana, what we missed here was the thrill of the hunt.

Everything we asked to see was basically handed to us on a silver platter, and in short order. When we asked for lions, we drove right to a pride of 27 (!), then to two males, then the next day to a male following a female in estrus. All of those sightings were exhilarating and superior to any lion sightings we had elsewhere, but again the fact that we didn't have to work for it somehow cheapened the experience for me.

It is a bit unfair to Singita to focus on this one aspect, because everything else was 5 stars. Because of the luxurious setting, food, and spa, I'd suggest making this the final stop on a safari trip.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This lodge was incredible. Contemporary in style in the middle of Kruger National Park. The service was top notch. We don't eat meat, but do eat fish and each night they prepared a separate menu for us with a number of fish and vegetable choices. The food was comparable to a 5* Michelin rated NY restaurant. They choose perfect South African wines to complement each meal. I asked if they had chocolate martinis and they didn't but they went on the internet and found out how to make them and each night after our game drive greeted us with one.

The rooms or villas were amazing. The deck had a mosquito draped bed for afternoon (or in the summer, evening) rests. We used it each afternoon after the morning drive to relax overlooking the river.

The staff was there to meet our every need. It was a truly luxury safari experience. One night on the game drive they brought us to a cliff at sunset overlooking the valley next to Mozambique and had the chef and 2 staff serve us cocktails and hors d'oervres.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Really can't get better than this lodge. The gorgeous accommodations, the excellent food and wine, the impeccable service, the game drives, the great guides and trackers. Prepare to spend a lot, but it's really a once in a lifetime experience that shoulnd't be missed.

One thing to be careful of is going to South Africa for a safari in the early summer / rainy season (November) - there are many, many bugs at night. I have heard that Feb / March is better during the warmer months.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Amazing experience. Not detail overlooked. Staff was warm and personable. Lianke, who served as our hostess/anchor, was incredibly personable and approachable. Ronny, our waiter, always served with a smile and a sense of humor. Marlon and Solomon were smart and experienced guides/trackers and made game drives at the crack of dawn fun and entertaining. Wish I could return yearly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

To be honest - I am still in a state of amazement after staying in Singita Lebombo,
From the first minute you step in - you are in the best place on Earth.
Literally everything is just terrific...
Staff there are the most wonderful people I have ever met - so friendly, smiley, cheerful... just simply great people!
Outdoor shower, huge balcony overlooking Kruger National Park, cool bathroom area... WOW.
Safari guys are so experienced and making every minute of your game reserve experience being absolutely unforgettable.
Honestly - I cant wait to go back. My heart belongs to Singita.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singita Lebombo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Lebombo Lodge

Address: Private Concession | Eastern South Central, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Lebombo Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kruger National Park, north-east of Johannesburg, boasts a truly unique lodge. Guests stay in scarcely visible lofts perched like eagle nests on stilts built into the top of basalt cliffs. The rooms with floor-to-ceiling glass walls look onto breathtaking scenery and a setting renowned for its concentration of game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Singita Lebombo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Lebombo Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singita Lebombo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.