We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bushman Wilderness Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berg-en-Dal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berg-en-Dal
Save
You added Berg-en-Dal to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Malelane Gate | Southern Kruger, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bushman Wilderness Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Can highly recommend the Bushman Wilderness Trail starting from the Berg-en-Dal rest camp.
Fantastic hiking experience, knowledgable guidance from the rangers, comfortable and pleasant accomodation and last but not least good food. A must do!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    89
    52
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was my first return to Kruger in 14 years. I have undertaken contract work in Southern Africa for twenty five years and my wife has so much wanted to go out on safari. So we went! Flew into Jo'Burg and drove, unlikely to do it again, forgot I was getting old. The trip is fine, 420 kilometres, stop at Milly's for eats - see other review, call at Woolworths in Nielsprut for essentials and then onwards with sixty kls to go and the road dug up for twenty kilometres. Took two hours to get to the gate, arrived two minutes late, but thankfully, having rung ahead, they allowed us to go in. In the dark did not have much of an impression, torch in suitcase - stupid me. Shop well stocked, reception great in and out in minutes. Found the accommodation with no problem and in. Clean, clean bathroom, kitchen utensils OK but an odd assortment. However, having been before, I made sure we had what was essential. So, the following morning we had a look around. Berg en Dal is the most recently built camp in the Kruger. The cottages are brick built and unlike much of the rest camps in the Kruger are not round. The kitchen's are inside and the Braai is outside. As we came to Braai for the first part of the trip, we did not use the restaurant, so cannot really comment - Kruger is updating its restaurant outlets, Mugg and Bean are brilliant - see other reviews. The camp is 15kls from Melanane gate. There is a major population of game in the south, including lots of Rhino. The Big Five are there plus Wild Dogs and the usual predators - Jackal and Hyena. This is a good place to start a trip, but please remember this is Africa, it is a National Park - probably the best in the world - and you are a welcomed visitor. It is not Five Star accommodation supported by Michelin Starred Food that is the deal, remember that, and you will enjoy - this from someone who has slept in the open air under a mosquito net in the bush in Southern Zimbabwe - so actually, for me Kruger accommodation is splendid. So two nights in Berg en Dal and then onto Letaba - see review.

Room Tip: Perimeter rooms are good. Choose one with a kitchen and not shared cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed the one night. Came in by Malelane gate, reception was great, very good shop, did not use restaurant.
We stayed in 3 bed bungalow with kitchen a view of river. Nice enough but dark and a nice shower with glass door.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and my parents spend one night at berg en dal.

The chalets is as old as the kruger park itself. Poor decor. Poor equiped kitchen. Dirty showers and uncomfy beds.

The chalet is for 4 people but yet the cutlery and glasses in the chalet is not even enough for 2 people.

A real let down keeping in mind we paid R1800 for one night for that piece of rubbish chalet.

And the restaurant at the camp!! A total rip off and let down. I ordered a tomato cocktail instead the waiter brings me a bottle of tomato sauce!!

Breakfast were expensive and small.

I will not return to Berg en Dal even if they paid me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in a Family Unit (4 adults). The rooms were clean, as can be expected from SanParks. The shop isn't a supermarket, but you can get the bare essentials from them (meat, charcoal etc). The restaurant had very good food, and many options to choose from, however service wasn't entirely fast. The game drives were very good and informative with our guide Solly who is passionate and hard-working.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Family Unit on the perimiter, which was very good. I am unsure of the other lodging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Only stayed one night at Berg En Dal restcamp in FA6 family Cottage which was much better than expected. It was very clean, spacious , open plan living area with everything you require for self catering holiday. The outside Courtyard was excellent with BBQ and lots of seating. The swimming pool is excellent although very busy, all age groups having a great time.
Surpised how much wildlife there we actually saw here so near to the gate. Stunning sunset.
As we only stayed one night didn't really do it justice but had a great time and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

on the very southern side of the park. This lodge is ideal for late arrival, only 15 minutes away from the gate. Rooms are ok and spacey (with dishes for Braai/barbecue) , no great views into the park. Game drives well organized. All in all ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berg-en-Dal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg-en-Dal

Address: Malelane Gate | Southern Kruger, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berg-en-Dal 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Berg-En-Dal Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berg-en-Dal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.