We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing visit to Waterbuck lodge.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornybush Game Reserve

Thornybush Game Reserve
R40, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another amazing visit to Waterbuck lodge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

This was our second visit to Waterbuck lodge in Thorny Bush reserve and we hope it's not our last. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable whilst still maintains that African bush feel. The food is quite traditional and good with most being made things being made on sight but the thing that will always keep us coming back would definitely be the game drives. Both Hannes the Ranger and Lodrick the tracker are fantastic at what they do and makes each and ever drive genuine and exciting. It took us almost a week to find an adult Leopard but the fun we had trying to find him was definitely a highlight. A big thank you to Anita as well who played medic to my poor Husband that came down with a bug, she had a Doctor organised and then a trip into Hoedspruit for medication within hours, once again, thank you Anita. It certainly puts you at ease knowing that even though your out in the bush, help is at hand.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shumbalala Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

If you want to view game up close and personal, this is a great place. Not only did we see the Big 5, but we saw a lioness with a cub and also a leopard with two cubs, one of which was perched on a small tree. Spectacular!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waterside a hotel in the bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

This is haven at the end of a dirt road.

We spent 5 days here and it was a wonderful experience, the ranger and tracker could not do enough and we saw everything that we wanted and more. If the game was in the bush then we were also.
The food was superb, the rooms, well.

Would return here anytime and take family and friends as well


Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, Suffolk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stayed in 2012 - not impressed by rangers that needed radio collars to fing the animals.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

My group spent one night here in Oct 2012. Very posh, but it is really like a wildlife park in the UK. Rangers depended on radio collars to find the lions and then wanted a tip for so doing!!!! Why????.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely safari great reserve ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Great reserve and good safari all around. Not crowded and saw a wide range of animals. It is very "bush" and not savannah, which means a lot of driving and searching and peering under bushes and trees. But well worth it. Unique viewings included a honey badger and baby (!!) and a huge Eagle owl.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornybush Game Reserve also viewed

 
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 

Been to Thornybush Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornybush Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.