We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Safari Lodge in the African bush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Save Saved
You added Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxury Safari Lodge in the African bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Supreme luxury! When we arrived , we were greeted by singing staff, warmly welcomed with a scented cloth to wipe the dust and homemade ice tea.
The tented camp has only six tents, and is located on a busy river bed. You could do game viewing without leaving your chair.
The service is great, attention to detail excellent and the overall luxury makes this one of the best places to stay in Kruger.
The game drives are twice a day and the ranger takes special care to show you the big and the small animals of the bush.

Truely fantastic! We will go again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    9
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
64
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. This is an amazing luxury safari. The room rate includes two safari rides each day (one morning ride and one evening ride) along with meals (breakfast, lunch dinner, afternoon tea and snacks). The safari guide is very knowledge and knows how to track animals. This camp is very small with approximately 8 tents. You are pampered the entire time you are there and feel like you want to stay for ever. The staff is there to carter to your every request. Due to the small size of the camp they pay attention to each guest. The camp also has a pool. The rooms are individual tents. The tents have indoor and outdoor showers. There is nothing like taking a hot shower in the wild under the stars. The beds are huge. They are larger than a standard king size beds. Two nights is probably enough time.
The camp was recently renovated due to a flood so everything is new.
The only draw back to this place is the price. It was $850 USD per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A stay at Hamilton's is a truly memorable experience, from the beautiful decor to the attentive service. We had a wonderful ranger, Joe who was extremely knowledgeable and made every game drive an event. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. I would recommmend a stay at Hamilton's for a once in a lifetime experience

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Arriving at Hamilton's was a truly magical experience. I had booked for my Mothers 60th Birthday and it exceeded my expectations in every way. From the beautiful colonial decor, to the impromptu Zulu Birthday song and cake the attention to detail and quality of service ensured that we had the best possible time. Intimate, middle of nowhere magic that has to be experienced first hand. I cannot recommend this place more strongly!

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms. and they were all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was amazed in every respect. What an incredible experience. The management and staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was memorable. From bush lunches to dinner in the room. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone. We loved it.
Ask for Joe as a game ranger/guide. He turns every game drive into an open air class room. Best we have had.
Sean Roelofsz

Room Tip: Book either Room number one or two for the best views of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

After reading several reviews about the great service with tired decor I wasn't expecting much. However, when we arrived and were shown our tent, our expectations were exceeded. The rooms were clean, up to date, and quite unique. We did find out the camp was flooded and closed for 2 months in January 2012. It reopened in March 2012. This may be why everything seemed to be new and up to date.

Our safari guide, Joe, was a pleasure to have showing us everything there was to see. Unfortunately, we didn't see any leopards, but we saw enough lions and other wildlife to last a lifetime. The camp is quite a drive from Open Gate but well worth the experience.

If I traveled back to Kruger I would not hesitate to stay at Hamilton Lodge.

Room Tip: When booking at Hamilton ask to stay in Tent 1. You will have a great view of the hippo. He is mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daveyton, South Africa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

stayed for 3nights in january 2012. friendly staff ben,harold,ludrick and the best chef abel..food delicious & if you have a big appetite then hamilton tented camp will sure satisfy it..rooms are spacious although tents 5 & 6 are quiet a walk from the reception but plenty of game around those rooms, if you want privacy & just want to hear the sound of the bush get tent 4-6 as for room 1-2 offer best the best view,you will be kept awake by the cars and people talking from the dining area. we heard some noise(roars) one night around 10:30 pm..,in the morning our butler asked if heard or saw the two leopards that were next to our tent>its only then that we knew what was outside as we thought of lions,hyena or leopard and the baboons giving an alarm call the whole night..we were blessed to have denis as our guide/ ranger and wow the man knows and loves his job..we saw 3 lionesses killing an impala in one of the sunset drives less than a kilometre from the camp,in 8 minutes there was nothing left of it(shame impala) ..truly this camp has the best of game.. it never disappoint. we saw leopard in both morning & sunset drives..
WANT TO BE ADVENTOUROUS AND GET CLOSE TO NATURE> DO THE BUSH WALK & NO FAINTING..ENJOY THE BEST OF KRUGER!!

Room Tip: for privacy,tent 4,5 & 6..for best view of the dam and dry riverbed try tent 1 & 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 138 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.