We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours

Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours
Kruger National Park, South Africa
+27 72 787 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join one of our South African Open Vehicle Safaris into the World renowned Kruger National Park on either an overnight safari experience or even a Kruger Park day safari, which will enable you if staying on the perimeter of the Kruger Park the opportunity of seeing the Big 5 and experiencing the natural wonders of this magnificent game reserve.All our overnight Open Vehicle Game Viewing Safaris, from a Two Day to a Nine Day are conducted in our own safari vehicles and include all transfers, accommodation, dinner and breakfast, entrance fees and daily game drives. These safaris are not open to children under the age of ten years old. Please be advised that our safaris depart daily with a minimum of two guests traveling together. Many Have Copied,..... But none have mastered.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We booked a week long safari with the company in March 2014. Verity promptly picked us up at our Johannesburg hotel then we drove to Pretoria , the capital, to get a commercial shuttle to Nelspruit. A very interesting ride seeing the beautiful country. The shuttle was late arriving and someone had gotten sick on the floor rendering the van very rancid smelling even after the owners washed and cleaned .....Upon arriving in Nelspruit our safari guide deftly picked us up and our luggage to the safari touring vehicle. The 2 hrs drive was really AWFULL and uncomfortable, because the safari vehicle is open and not designed for high speed. My long hair flying everywhere in knots. Mark , our driver and guide didn't have a clue about this, because he was protected by the windscreen. Cannot remember if we had seat belts. We chose this way to get to Kruger because we wanted to see more of the beautiful country we visit every year. Flying is definitely much better and easier, but again if it's your first trip there, suck it up, lots to see and appreciate.
The company is very professional. Great respect for the animals and the environment. We gained knowledge and a great education only a guide can provide. Very patient and caring, wanting us to have great photos/films. Indeed we do recommend Nhongo . They may have acquired a sedan for that trip from Nelspruit to Kruger !!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nhongo Kruger park safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

My family visited Kruger Park and went on a 4 day Safari tour hosted by Nhongo Safari tours. Our guide was Robbie Williams and he performed perfectly. Robbie took us into all the nooks and crannies in our area to see as many species as possible. He succeeded. We saw the Big 5 and Magnificent 7 and just about ever other kind of animal, bird, reptile and flora. Thanks for the memories. John S.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Oregon
1 review
“Best safari ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Robbie was our guide. He was fantastic! Lots of sightings including rhino, african wild dogs and cheetah as well as the Big 5. Caught elephants taking a mud bath and saw lots of babies. November proved to be a great time for safari.

Visited November 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We were in Johannesburg on business and booked a weekend Safari. Verity picked us up from our location on the Friday and after a long drive we arrived in the Kruger Park. We stayed at Nkambeni Lodge and it was great. Food and drink good and the best tent I've seen. We set off at 6am on Saturday with Mark and he was great. We had a long day returning to camp at 7:30pm but we got to see the big 5 and many other animals. We had a bush walk on Sunday morning before the long drive back to Johannesburg. But wow I can't recommend it enough. If I'm ever in SA again I would do it again, but for longer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best 4 days at Kruger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We did the 4 day 3 night luxury tented lodge with Nhongo. Booking was easy and as planned Verity picked us up on the agreed day at our hotel. Our journey began by using the Lime shuttle from Joberge to Nelspruit, which took us about 3 hours. Upon arrival there we were greeted by Curtis, our guide for the next 4 days.
Curtis was wonderful! Very easy going and always helpful and attentive. He assisted with our check in at the lodge and had dinner with us every evening so we could discuss the plan for the next day. We had game drives galore and a bush walk. My favorite was a full day game drive, we even saw lions matting!!
At the end Curtis drove us back to Nelspruit at the end of our safari and I have to say we won't forget him! Hanging out with a guide can be a bit tiring but he knew when to chat and when to just let us enjoy the experience. We would highly recommend Nhongo and especially Curtis for your next Kruger safari.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on Safari with us to the Kruger National Park

The Nhongo Safari Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

 
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park
 

Been to Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.